We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lovely stay - totally recommended.

A breakfast to murder for!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminBreeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear BenjaminBreeg,

Thank you for a wonderful comment about Hotel Lapad.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    801
    170
    38
    13
See reviews for
240
1,312
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night break (7th to 12th April) staying at this hotel and enjoyed our stay.
The staff are very helpful, pleasant & courteous.
The breakfast buffet was very good and plentiful. We stayed on a half board basis in order to include evening meals as we wanted to have some surety of our costs, and by and large the evening buffet was OK. Although there was a good choice, as with most buffets nothing is ever hot! This was no exception and spoils what could be a very good meal.
Al a carte dinners are also offered, however, I don't think the food was good enough for that.
I noticed that the breakfast cost 75 Kuna (approx £9) and evening buffet is 150 Kuna (approx £18). There is a very good Italian restaurant about 50m away from hotel where we ate 1 night to get away from luke warm buffet!. Food there was good and inexpensive at 40 Kuna (approx £5 for large HOT pizza. There was not too many other restaurants within 10 mins walking distance)
Our room (37) was very good overlooking the sea and the cruise ships. It was a superior double room. (Our hotel was booked through Travel Republic and they wanted £324 = £20 to upgrade our room from standard to Superior. We contacted the hotel direct and they charged 60 euro for the same!)
From the Hotel it takes a 40 minute walk to get to the old town of Dubrovnik. Not too difficult a walk. We generally walked in and got the Number 6 bus back at 10 Kuna. It dropped you right outside the hotel.
Overall a good experience and we were generally pleased with our choice after much research.

Room Tip: Superior sea view rooms are much better. As noted above, speak(email) directly to hotel for best val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johnboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirovohrad, Ukraine
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel in May 2011. We chose it because we read somewhere that this hotel was rated "the most beautiful hotel" in Europe or smth like that, and it turned out very true. The main building is over 100 years old, but nicely renovated. It truly gives the hotel a very special spirit. The staff is helpful and very friendly. Standard rooms are located in modern building behind the main building and are not big, but very nice, everything necessary is there, bathroom remodeling is very modern and done with quality, so I couldn't think of anything to compalin about while staying at Lapad. Every room has a little balcony, and I think most of the room have a side view of the bay. We didn't use the pool at all, but it looks magnificent at night. The restaurant is ok. Breakfasts are great, but dinner is just ok. We ate dinner once, and it was good, but not terrific, plus pretty pricey even by Dubrovnik's standards. There is a restaurant on the pier not far from the hotel, can't remember the name, but it was the best meal we had in Dubrovnik (and not expensive at all). To get there turn left when you exit the gotel, go past the gas station, and behind the gas station take an alley to the right, there walk a little bit and you shouldn't miss it. The hotel is in about 30-minute walk from the old town, but buses come every 5-10 minutes, so it's not an issue.
Overall, I loved Lapad and would definitely recommend it for couples and crowds. Probably it's not the best option for staying solo as it's a quite hotel in a quite place, so it might be hard to meet people and find things to do. I'm not sure why it has only 4 stars (maybe because they don't have beach access), in my mind (as an average traveler) it deserves 5 stars easily. I will definitely try to come back to this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dariya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear DariyaP,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback of your recent visit.
It is so encouraging to receive so kind comments from our guests.
I am delighted you will visit us again in the future.

Kindest regards
Katica
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

As other travelers have mentioned, this is a nice facility. Great selection of buffet breakfasts, modern, clean, well-lit rooms. Courteous staff who have made various reservations for us, the bus from town (only 10 min) drops off right in front. My only complaint is that I paid a hell of a lot extra for a "deluxe sea view" and they keep phoning me up asking me to "close the shutters--it's too windy." So I will attach a picture of the view I have paid at least 50% more for.

Room Tip: You might want to go for a balcony--maybe then they won't ask you to close the shutters all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTeach04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear TravelingTeach04,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Hotel Lapad.
We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the hotel facility in general.
On the other hand we are sorry that your experience did not meet completely your expectations.
During windy nights we usually ask our guests to close the shutters for safety reasons.

Best regards,
Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We (myself, wife and teenage daughter) stayed for 7 nights and found the Lapad a real treat, which offset the disappointing Easter weather. It has an air of quiet elegance and charm - our rooms were well appointed, well lit (how many hotels can claim that?) and very clean. The breakfast and buffet dinners (half board) offered a wide choice, were varied through the week and of excellent quality - even out of season when the hotel was not full. All the staff were polite and friendly and the place was relaxing and quiet. The position was ideal to split your time between the sights of the old town (as already stated by others 5 mins away by a frequent city bus service) the Gruz harbour and the seashore/woodland areas of Lapad & Babin Kuk. If you are looking for a lot of excitement or extra facilities within an hotel this is probably not for you - but is exactly why we liked it. We looked at several others whilst there and felt we had made the best choice for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruckstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
608 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
870 reviews
2.5 km away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,919 reviews
1.7 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,733 reviews
1.9 km away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Property: Hotel Lapad
Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,292 - ₹ 23,551
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing