We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
58
255
214
92
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
255
214
92
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lapad bay sea view the bus old town park view cleaning staff three star bit dated hotel beach breakfast and dinner reception area beautiful country restaurant staff yogurt babin kuk few steps amazing views
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Having read reviews before we arrived we were worried. However, Hotel was clean and staff were helpful and friendly. Room was spacious and the bed was comfy.
Buffet breakfast was ok as there was a good choice.
Overall we were pleased with the hotel for the cost.
The hotel does have a lot of steps so may not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alimu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpasoB1, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madam/Sir,Thank You for writing this nice review about your stay. We are very pleased you had a great holidays with us and we are glad to be a part of your nice memories. Looking forward to see you in the near future. Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Lovely view of the sea from our room! The hotel was a little outdated and could do with some refurbishment - but it was very clean and rooms were comfortable. Being right on the beach it was great to come back to after a day in the old town of Dubrovnik sightseeing! You could have a swim and sunbathe. Very close to bars and restaurants. The bus stop to the old town was right outside the hotel (no 4). We were half board but only had breakfast - which was adequate and always found something we liked. Would stay there again if we came back to Dubrovnik!

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and found it very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suehillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpasoB1, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madam/Sir,
Thank you for booking hotel Vis and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we have earned your trust to stay with us again at hotel Vis.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Stayed here for 5 nights in September. Wasn't expecting much from reading earlier reviews and probably got what we expected.

Location: The area has a stunning view of the bay and some lovely but expensive restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is located right on a small beach which is perfect for a swim. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which brings you to and from the Old Town for 15 Kuna each way. The bus takes about 15 minutes max. The area surrounding the hotel has some great bars and I would highly recommend the cave bar just a short walk around the bay.

Rooms: Very out dated and we asked for a double bed and got two singles pushed together. The shower was in the bath tub which was OK for us been in our mid twenties. Rooms were cleaned every day. Rooms do need to be updated tho.

Food: We only ever had breakfast. Wasn't much choice and when it was gone it was gone. The fruit looked like it was laying there for a while and not to fresh. There was also cats out in the eating area which I didn't mind but my girlfriend hates cats :)

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall the hotel is set back in the 90s and needs to be refurbished. No complaints about anything during the stay. Would stay somewhere else if I was to return to Dubrovnik but overall it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gallagher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpasoB1, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We also appreciate you bringing to our attention some of your observations and experiences you encountered during you stay.
Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful . Dining room staff especially helpful . Accommodation was lovely . Bedroom was spacious . Limited toiletries in bathroom though , really too basic, sachets of shower gel etc. this could be improved . Lovely sea view from bedroom as we had our own verandah . Meals really good. as there was a good choice for dinner and breakfast, with loads of fresh fruit etc . Accomodation needs a bit of a face lift and freshened up . Daily cleaning service in place , towels replenished daily etc . Bus stop outside the door to visit The Old Town . There is a nice walkway from back of hotel which leads onto the beach around the perimeter .

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view that is not shared with an adjoining room .
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank snowball2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpasoB1, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madam/Sir,
Thank you for booking hotel Vis and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we have earned your trust to stay with us again at hotel Vis.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

I have just come back from a three night stay with friends at the Hotel Vis and honestly we couldn't speak highly enough about the hotel.

All of the staff we met were cheerful and friendly. Yes the hotel is a bit dated, but it is clean, comfortable and safe as well as being right on the beach, within close distance of great bars and restaurants, as well as within easy reach of Dubrovnik. So for us, it was absolutely ideal.

Housekeeping was very very good, rooms were often already cleaned by the time we had finished breakfast. Our sea view room (3rd floor) had amazing views across the bay and was worth the small extra price. Rooms are air conditioned and the bathroom was more than adequate (shower was lovely). Reception staff were very helpful and friendly too.

The only suggestions I would have would be:
- add one more coffee machine in the breakfast room (on our final morning it was very busy at breakfast and there was quite a queue for coffee)
- add safe deposit boxes in the rooms
- perhaps offer a discount to hotel guests on the cost of the sunloungers

We used the hotel transfer for the airport and it was very comfortable and quick, would highly recommend doing this if travelling in a group as it might work out more reasonable than using an airport taxi or the bus.

We also took taxis when we visited the old town, again for convenience and it also worked out more economical than the bus as there were four of us travelling together.

All of us agreed that if we were to come back to Dubrovnik for another weekend together, that we would happily stay in the Hotel Vis again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Our sea view room on the third floor had amazing views across the bay
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiptreeCornflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpasoB1, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Madam/Sir,Thank You for writing this nice review about your stay. We are very pleased you had a great holidays with us and we are glad to be a part of your nice memories. Looking forward to see you in the near future. Kind regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews