We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we could have wanted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Everything we could have wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our stay at the Excelsior was delightful from the gracious welcome to the last goodbye. We arrived by car. The hotel has its own parking. The old town is an easy 5 minute stroll. The Excelsior is very modern, but warm and comfortably appointed. Our room was enormous by any standards (European especially) and very comfortable, with wall to wall windows overlooking the old city across the water. The bath was also huge, modern and just about perfect. The hotel has a large patio with the same beautiful view, where we enjoyed a cool drink after walking the walls surrounding the city, before returning to the old city for dinner. Rather than walking into town for dinner our last night (since we had to be at the airport at 05:00), we ate at the restaurant in the hotel. It was absolutely excellent, better and more refined preparations of local dishes for no more that many of the better restaurants in town. My wife and I loved staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city. Some just look out to the beautiful islands immediately off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljljrichco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor.
Thank you once again for choosing hotel Excelsior for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    405
    114
    38
    30
See reviews for
258
792
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is the best of both worlds. Very easy walking distance to the old town but also with its own private access to the sea. Sadly April is a bit early to sample the latter but I was optimistic when I booked it! Rooms are modern with an excellent bathroom and L'Occitane bath products. Breakfast is good with ample choice and also the option to order fresh omelettes, fried eggs, eggs benedict etc. And if you are not recovering from the night before, you can also have champagne at breakfast. The spa pool area is very nice here, with two jacuzzis and a very nice relaxing area with recliners. The Piano Bar with its two iPads for public use is good. We also visited the Hilton during our stay and would stay there also - they have a good range of English newspapers to read! The location is a major plus here, 5 minute walk into the old town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights and it was an excellent choice for us. We like to walk to tour and this location was perfect to walk to the old city. We have a great room overlooking the crashing sea below with incomparable views of the old city and the surrounding sea. Our room is in the oldest part of the hotel, which has three sections. Please select a sea view, it's worth it. However if you like to sleep with the window open it may be noisy with the sound of crashing waves. We happen to like that sound. Our room is big and clean and new since this section was recently remodeled. We had another room that had a better view but was near the reception desk and stairwell which was too noisy. The stairwell is very open and made of granite and sound from all four floors carries. Ask to be far from reception if you want your room to be quiet. The front desk was very accommodating and kind. Breakfast service was wonderful, so many choices and service as very attentive. I can;t imagine staying in a nicer facility. Pool is large, massage was divine. We hired a car to pick us up at the airport since our flight arrived late at night and it was well worth it. Order it through the hotel and it is billed to your room. Made it all that much easier and pleasant. Our room was very spacious and furnished nicely.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle section but didn't like our room so they very kindly switched us to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor.
Thank you once again for choosing hotel Excelsior for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We picked this hotel based on the location and its proximity to the old town, it is only a 5-10 min walk.
As we read the reviews of people complaining about the rooms facing the wall, for a small surcharge we decided to book the superior seaview room just to be on the safe side and it paid off. We had a very spacious room with a large bathroom and more importantly an amazing view of the sea and the old town (the room was on the 5th floor in the modern part of the hotel).

The breakfast was perfectly adequate for a 5* hotel with the choice of buffet and ala card menu. The only thing that bothered us a little was that the hotel seemed to be a preferred accommodation for elderly people, so the atmosphere at the breakfast felt like staying in a sanatorium... We ate out every day, so can't comment on the other restaurants or bars in the hotel.

The indoor swimming pool was very nice and surprisingly large. The only let down was the gym, the only running machine didn't work and the weight station was the "50 in 1 functions", which meant that neither of them worked properly.

The service was professional and friendly, all our requests were promptly met, can't complaint about a thing.

All in all, what a great location and lovely hotel to stay in ( if you have a superior sea view room in the new part).

Room Tip: Book a superior sea view room. It is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teddington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This five star hotel is just 400m south of the Old City, an easy distance to walk even in the rain! [The visit was in April]
The Hotel is situated on the rocks overlooking the sea and equipped to the highest modern standards. All staff very friendly, attentive and helpful. Having a room with a sea view (plus balcony) is recommended!

Food excellent, with an extensive buffet breakfast, although as others have noted meals are a bit pricey. [However, the Old City's numerous restaurants and watering holes are not far away]

Wonderful large indoor swimming pool & jacuzzis (which come with room tariff) provide excellent relaxation at the end of the day.

We shall return to this hotel.

[Dubrovnik is an ideal destination for a 3-4 day break. We found everyone so friendly and helpful and, in general, all amenities in the Old City were to a high standard. The Old City has now largely been fully reconstructed and the walk around the Walls most memorable. The Excelsior is probably the most conveniently located 5 Star hotel for the Old City. The photos on website are representative of the hotel and its location. ].

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive review of hotel Excelsior. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we hope that we will get the chance to welcome you again in near future.
Best regards,
Jasna Durkovic General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#18 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
4.3 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,428 - ₹ 46,794
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing