We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveller rating
1,172
486
132
36
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,172
486
132
36
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bistroromantic roomprivate beachthe buspiano barold townthe hotel shopstar hotelsea viewbeach shoessuperior rooma la carte restaurantoutdoor poollarge terracebuffet dinnerfantastic hotelwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Outstanding rooms, excellent service, nice pool, good cocktail bar, spectacular sunsets and a great breakfast with lovely fresh orange juice meant this made the perfect choice for a few relaxing days after staying close to the stunning Old Town for the first 3 nights of our holiday in Dubrovnik.

Although a few miles from the Old Town, transport there is still easy via the No 6 bus, made even easier as it stops at the terminus just outside the hotel. Not unnaturally there are loads of people wanting to go in and so the buses are crowded, with many standing on the bus, at peak times but it does the job.

The Babin Kuk peninsular, on which the hotel is situated, is nice to walk round and there are easy paths round and a pretty promenade, which starts right outside the hotel, that goes to Lapad . Locally there are also a couple of beaches, Coral Beach and Copacabana Beach, in addition to the hotel’s own beach. We were in peak season so they were busy - Coral was nice but Copacabana was tacky and one to miss !

Don’t miss the cave bar at the More Hotel, which is only an easy 15 minutes walk from the hotel round coast via the promenade. The restaurant there is also worth going to – it’s in a pretty spot and excellent for seafood. Unlike most of the hotel, we weren’t on half board and it is a shame that the half boarders, as ever, miss out on the local restaurants. We would highly recommend the Komin Restaurant just a minute’s walk from the hotel – the steaks are absolutely sensational – you might not believe it but truly they are and the blue cheese one is fantastic. Lovely restaurant, very reasonable prices and friendly staff and many thanks to John for looking after us so well.

Hotel evening buffets are not normally for us so we didn’t try, but did have a look and it looked decent enough, as you would perhaps expect given the standard of the breakfast and hotel in general

We did the 3 islands boat trip and it was OK. Sunj beach on Lopud is definitely the highlight. Sudurad on Sipan is nice for a beer by the pretty harbour but I’m afraid Kolocep is disappointing and not really worth stopping at. We went on a trip organised by the hotel but the boat was packed and not very comfortable and the lunch truly awful. Unlike normal boat trips the boat had no atmosphere, not helped by the crew were completely disinterested, and so it was a disappointing trip really although you do feel you have to see those islands !

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andynjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarPresidentD, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay with us.
We are honoured that you chose to stay with us during your trip to Dubrovnik. I have shared your kind words with all of my colleagues.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Amir Tikvesa
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Spend a great week in this amazing hotel.staff very friendly.Franka at reception so helpful and welcoming.Lovely room with amazing views.Pool area lovely.Had lunch and one dinner in the hotel both meals very good. Only slight negative is no tutn down service and had to ask to refil coffee and creamer several times. Overall great place would highly recommend this hotel Deirdre (Ireland)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dee302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarPresidentD, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Guest,
We are truly grateful for your fantastic review.
It is our aim to provide all our guests with a memorable stay and I am so pleased that we did this for you.
I will pass your comments along to everyone and especially to Franka and I hope that you will have a chance to visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Amir Tikvesa
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Very nice 5* hotel. It's located right at a beautiful beach, around 15 min from the center of Dubrovnik. The rooms are quite spacious, most of them have sea view. The food is really good, the staff excellent and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54gosia_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarPresidentD, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review of the Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
We are delighted to hear that you have truly enjoyed our facilities, location, food and also the friendliness and flexibility of our team.
We really look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards.
Amir Tikvesa
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

What makes a good hotel?
Great facilities, friendly and attentive staff, good food and drink, spacious well maintained rooms, lovely location on the Adriatic?
You got it
Downside the beers are a bit pricey. The wine at around £18 per bottle for a house white is very reasonable in a quality hotel. But a pint at nearly £6 is a bit much.
But that really is the only small downside.
The staff are so accommodating going out of their way to help.
Breakfast choice is fantastic and the evening buffet is excellent. Normally,at the end of a week, you start to get fed up with the same restaurant but the choice is so good and varied it's fine.
Breakfast or dinner on the terrace are a delight.
The views from the room are great.
The bus stops outside the hotel for Dubrovnik old town. As its the terminus you are guaranteed a seat.
Buy your tickets in the hotel it's cheaper. Validate the ticket as you enter the bus and you have an hours travel.
If you want to walk to bars and restaurants, including the cave bar, leave the hotel via the beach exit and follow. the path.lots of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes. If you want to stretch out just continue on the same path until you see the post office. There is a mini supermarket and more restaurants.
If you have had enough walking or too much wine from bar hopping you can pick up the number 6 bus just by the post. Tickets from the kiosk next door.to the post.
Lovely hotel as Arnie said I'll be back

Stayed: October 2016
Thank FrankHill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarPresidentD, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay with us.
We are honoured that you chose to stay with us during your trip to Dubrovnik. I have shared your kind words with all of my colleagues.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Amir Tikvesa
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This was our first visit to Croatia. We had an amazing week of weather and site seeing. The President Hotel was probably the nicest we have ever been to. We felt very relaxed and all the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Breakfast buffet is brilliant and we enjoyed a couple of a la carte meals in the piano bar. The sea views from the bedroom, bars and restaurants are stunning, especially the sunsets. Bus trips to the old city were very quick and easy, but we were pleased to be based away from the hustle and bustle at The Valamar President.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PipCSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValamarPresidentD, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review of the Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
We are delighted to hear that you have truly enjoyed our facilities, location, food and also the friendliness and flexibility of our team.
We really look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards.
Amir Tikvesa
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews