We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair way from The Old Town but a lovely beach break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spend 4 nights for our anniversary in late July. The weather was spectacular, over 30 degrees the whole time.
The set up of the hotel is very good. All rooms face the beach and have the most spectacular sunset views over the ocean. The rooms are very comfortable and suit the price tag. Each room has a private balcony too. The rooms were clean and well air-conditioned so you could decide whether to soak up the hot sun outside or cool down inside. The bed was comfortable, however, I find it VERY aggravating when you find four terrible pillows on the bed next to a pillow menu for extra charge - IF YOU HAVE BETTER PILLOWS, PUT THEM ON THE BED!!!!
The staff were lovely although at times I think it is easy to feel like they are being short with you, this is just a misinterpretation of the eastern European english accent.
The Hotel's facilities are very good and cheap. We each had a massage for 35 euro's. There is a pool and a pebble beach which is not restricted to guests only but we never had a problem getting a couple of sun lounges.
The food and cocktails are unfortunately where the hotel falls down. Though the meals and drinks are cheap, they are also cheap! The cocktails we were informed often come premixed straight from a can and are simply poured into a glass and garnished, which shows. The beach front offers a lovely setting for a romantic meal, but the buffet style food continually lets down the meal. However, walking south along the cost there are a multitude of hotels offering high class food (albeit at much higher prices) so a good meal is not far away. The breakfast offered by the hotel is, on the contrary, spectacular and fits the price tag very well. The choice is unbelievable and you will not be disappointed.
Finally, the trip to the Old Town is a 15 minute bus trip. This is made easy by the fact that the Hotel and the Old Town are literally the last stop in either direction so you can't get lost. We found the old town a little tourist heavy and were interested in a relaxing holiday on the beach so this didn't bother us, but if you were interested in spending a lot of time in the old town you might find this frustrating.

Room Tip: All rooms will face the brilliant sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear guests,

thank you for your long review and all the lovely things you said as well as the details you didn't like to much.
I would just like to correct you about the PILLOW MENU. We have them in each room and the choice is FREE OF CHARGE, so I'm sorry you got the impression they weren't.
I hope this will not turn you off coming back if you get them chance to visit Dubrovnik again.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,026 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Are having out last night at this hotel, have har great time! Book romantic room that has a large balcony, Yes bathrooms need upgrade as some has pointed out but was clean and ok. Breakfast is plentyfull, good pancakes :-) have tried both beach bar and elifiti during our stay and both was good - seafood tagliatelle in elifiti was very good!

Staff has been lovely ( for the most part ) - went to wellness spa one day to book appointment but godt message in the door that we could find the towels at the desk and then the older guy dissappared... We did not worry though ( we are on holiday after all :-), used the wellness area that day and came back the next for bookings.

All in all a very good hotel!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank li_ze100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, so I sincerely hope you will come back again.
Sorry about the gentleman not being at the wellness reception when you came in, must have been occupied with other guests in the pool area for a moment. Hope you enjoyed your massage though.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

See this review for a pormenorized review of the Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel.
For a first time in Dubrovnik, this hotel didn´t let us down. The conditions vary from Excellent to Average, but overall this is an hotel that you should consider when spending vacation in Dubrovnik. The location is very good, about 15 minutes away from the Old City of Dubrovnik, by bus, or less if you rent a car. There are a lot of good restaurants in the area of the Old City, so our recomendation is to, at least on the first days of the travel,go by bus or car to it, and eat there. Try one of the high rated restaurants in this site, and visit the various monuments, including the Ancient Walls, the Cathedrals; just the life of the city and the people within.
Now about the hotel´s own restaurant. You can eat in two restaurants of choice, one "A La Carte", and the other "Buffet". We only ate in the "Buffet" one, but the other seemed pretty good too. The "Buffet" has a huge variety of food, both on breakfast ( pancakes, ham, cereals, salads, fruit, bacon -ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh....- eggs; you know, all that good stuff. At dinner, you can have fish, meat, salads, a great variety of vegetables, some very good rice and pastas, some desserts and fruit.
The rooms are quiet ( we didn´t hear nothing when we were sleeping aside some occasional footsteps or voices in the corredor, but nothing that would keep us awake. What really kept us awake was the beds. Not the actual beds, they are quite normal; but the pillows where so soft that they tend to be actually uncomfortable. Nevertheless, we had nice sleep, and the pillows are nothing you should worry much about.
The rooms really are spacious, and there are balconies with sea view in every single one, but the TV is quite old, and the bathrooms really aren´t in their best condition.
Now up to the good stuff.
The sea is crystal clear, and has lots of fishies. The pebble is hard on the feet, but you can buy some special sandals in the market close to the hotel that make swimming and snorkeling a million times easier and less painfull :). The sun beds are very good, and the conditions of the beach itself are wonderful.
Now the staff. All the people in the hotel were extremelly friendly, helping us when we needed, and saluting us every single day ( with the exception of some unfriendly people on the beach bar, which by the way serves food for lunch if you want some good ol fashioned burger :b ).
The conditions of the Wellness center are amazing: the jacuzzi, the sauna, the turkish bath, the back rubs ( although I didn´t try this last ones) were, or seemed at least, of the charts, with green areas close to the jacuzzi, sun beds close to the sauna and turkish bath, and an inside pool that is amazing.
There is also a small souvenir and magazines/newspapers shop; an internet corner, with two computers ( although there is free wifi, a bit slow, but still free ) and a path to the right ( when you´re facing the hotel main entrance in front of you ) that should be tried by all, at about 19:00 to 20:00 o´clock, when the sun is going down in the sea.
And we get to the cherry on top of the cake, the views. In the restaurant, in the beach, in your room or in the panoramic elevator ( that takes forever to go up and down ) the views are privileged, from the deep sea, to the mountains, the isles and, finally, the sunset.
Very good hotel, and extremelly recommended, to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripAdvisingCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,

what a great novel ! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, which I am sure a lot of readers will find very helpful.
I am very grateful for all the tips and suggestions for improvement from your side, they always come in handy.
Of course, a big "thank you " for all the lovely things you wrote about our hotel, it's facilities, the food quality, the wellness, the staff and last but most important the recommendation to all Trip advisor visitors.
It makes me and the staff very happy you enjoyed your holiday so much and we hope to see you again here with us.

All the very best to you and your family!

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Valamar Dubrovnik President was an excellent choice of a hotel. The room was spacious, attractive and clean and the hotel facilities were superb. The beach is beautiful, although the shore is pebble rather than sand. Chairs and umbrellas are provided free and the water is stunningly clear and clean. The "wellness" facilities on the fifth floor provide further relaxation options at no extra charge -- an indoor infinity pool, whirlpool (not particularly hot) and an array of saunas, steam rooms, massage showers and chaise lounges. Breakfasts were plentiful and good. The only down side is that the hotel is located about 15-20 minutes from old town by bus. Although the busses come frequently, they can get crowded and hot. However, the plusses far outweigh that negative and we were very happy with our stay at the President.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Lisa,

thank you very much for the lovely review you wrote and I am extremely glad you found everything satisfactory.
The staff was very happy reading it as well and is looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
The busses in front of the hotel are very convenient and frequent but I know they can get crouded. That is the down side of the peak season in Dubrovnik I'm affraid.

Once again it was great having you here and hope you return again.

All the best,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The standout feature of this hotel is the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff.
The staff are rotated around the hotel very cleverly so when you attend for breakfast on the let's say 10 th consecutive day you do not meet the same staff , thus keeping a freshness in relationships between guests and the staff.
The breakfast and dinner buffets are first class, from the non repetitive music, to the consistent quality of the food and more importantly the freshness the food. It is impressive to see the meat cut, the fish fried, the risotto and pasta made in front of your eyes. The beach was a major positive also and while the staff there had more of an edge, this was to be welcomed as it is a public beach and guests are prioritised for sun beds and umbrellas etc. Free wifi, tap water is drinkable, very few flies
( what kind of insecticide is being used ...), efficient fridge in room to stop chocolate from melting and keeping water cool,
Being at the start of the bus route is very handy as you will always get a seat, bus is every 10 minutes, cardio gym needs better AC and more machines. Pool on 5th floor needs to be cleaned more often. ( gym and pool still very good features currently) Other guests are pleasant and relaxed, which is not always the case in hotels we have stayed in on holidays , credit for this must go to this hotel and the management.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this impressive review and I am glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves here with us. I see you took notice of many details not everyone sees specially considering the organisational part of the hotel and up to the relaxed atmosphere we always try to create.
Of course there's always things that can be better, so that's our daily task.
Once again thank you on behalf of all the staff and hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,111 reviews
0.3 km away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,912 reviews
0.6 km away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
848 reviews
3.3 km away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,955 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: ₹ 10,355 - ₹ 28,842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing