We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,840)
Filter reviews
1,840 results
Traveller rating
1,174
486
132
36
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
486
132
36
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bistroromantic roomprivate beachthe buspiano barold townthe hotel shopstar hotelsea viewbeach shoessuperior rooma la carte restaurantoutdoor poollarge terracebuffet dinnerfantastic hotelwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,211 - 1,216 of 1,840 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Are having out last night at this hotel, have har great time! Book romantic room that has a large balcony, Yes bathrooms need upgrade as some has pointed out but was clean and ok. Breakfast is plentyfull, good pancakes :-) have tried both beach bar and elifiti during our stay and both was good - seafood tagliatelle in elifiti was very good!

Staff has been lovely ( for the most part ) - went to wellness spa one day to book appointment but godt message in the door that we could find the towels at the desk and then the older guy dissappared... We did not worry though ( we are on holiday after all :-), used the wellness area that day and came back the next for bookings.

All in all a very good hotel!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank li_ze100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, so I sincerely hope you will come back again.
Sorry about the gentleman not being at the wellness reception when you came in, must have been occupied with other guests in the pool area for a moment. Hope you enjoyed your massage though.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

See this review for a pormenorized review of the Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel.
For a first time in Dubrovnik, this hotel didn´t let us down. The conditions vary from Excellent to Average, but overall this is an hotel that you should consider when spending vacation in Dubrovnik. The location is very good, about 15 minutes away from the Old City of Dubrovnik, by bus, or less if you rent a car. There are a lot of good restaurants in the area of the Old City, so our recomendation is to, at least on the first days of the travel,go by bus or car to it, and eat there. Try one of the high rated restaurants in this site, and visit the various monuments, including the Ancient Walls, the Cathedrals; just the life of the city and the people within.
Now about the hotel´s own restaurant. You can eat in two restaurants of choice, one "A La Carte", and the other "Buffet". We only ate in the "Buffet" one, but the other seemed pretty good too. The "Buffet" has a huge variety of food, both on breakfast ( pancakes, ham, cereals, salads, fruit, bacon -ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh....- eggs; you know, all that good stuff. At dinner, you can have fish, meat, salads, a great variety of vegetables, some very good rice and pastas, some desserts and fruit.
The rooms are quiet ( we didn´t hear nothing when we were sleeping aside some occasional footsteps or voices in the corredor, but nothing that would keep us awake. What really kept us awake was the beds. Not the actual beds, they are quite normal; but the pillows where so soft that they tend to be actually uncomfortable. Nevertheless, we had nice sleep, and the pillows are nothing you should worry much about.
The rooms really are spacious, and there are balconies with sea view in every single one, but the TV is quite old, and the bathrooms really aren´t in their best condition.
Now up to the good stuff.
The sea is crystal clear, and has lots of fishies. The pebble is hard on the feet, but you can buy some special sandals in the market close to the hotel that make swimming and snorkeling a million times easier and less painfull :). The sun beds are very good, and the conditions of the beach itself are wonderful.
Now the staff. All the people in the hotel were extremelly friendly, helping us when we needed, and saluting us every single day ( with the exception of some unfriendly people on the beach bar, which by the way serves food for lunch if you want some good ol fashioned burger :b ).
The conditions of the Wellness center are amazing: the jacuzzi, the sauna, the turkish bath, the back rubs ( although I didn´t try this last ones) were, or seemed at least, of the charts, with green areas close to the jacuzzi, sun beds close to the sauna and turkish bath, and an inside pool that is amazing.
There is also a small souvenir and magazines/newspapers shop; an internet corner, with two computers ( although there is free wifi, a bit slow, but still free ) and a path to the right ( when you´re facing the hotel main entrance in front of you ) that should be tried by all, at about 19:00 to 20:00 o´clock, when the sun is going down in the sea.
And we get to the cherry on top of the cake, the views. In the restaurant, in the beach, in your room or in the panoramic elevator ( that takes forever to go up and down ) the views are privileged, from the deep sea, to the mountains, the isles and, finally, the sunset.
Very good hotel, and extremelly recommended, to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripAdvisingCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,

what a great novel ! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, which I am sure a lot of readers will find very helpful.
I am very grateful for all the tips and suggestions for improvement from your side, they always come in handy.
Of course, a big "thank you " for all the lovely things you wrote about our hotel, it's facilities, the food quality, the wellness, the staff and last but most important the recommendation to all Trip advisor visitors.
It makes me and the staff very happy you enjoyed your holiday so much and we hope to see you again here with us.

All the very best to you and your family!

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Valamar Dubrovnik President was an excellent choice of a hotel. The room was spacious, attractive and clean and the hotel facilities were superb. The beach is beautiful, although the shore is pebble rather than sand. Chairs and umbrellas are provided free and the water is stunningly clear and clean. The "wellness" facilities on the fifth floor provide further relaxation options at no extra charge -- an indoor infinity pool, whirlpool (not particularly hot) and an array of saunas, steam rooms, massage showers and chaise lounges. Breakfasts were plentiful and good. The only down side is that the hotel is located about 15-20 minutes from old town by bus. Although the busses come frequently, they can get crowded and hot. However, the plusses far outweigh that negative and we were very happy with our stay at the President.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Lisa,

thank you very much for the lovely review you wrote and I am extremely glad you found everything satisfactory.
The staff was very happy reading it as well and is looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
The busses in front of the hotel are very convenient and frequent but I know they can get crouded. That is the down side of the peak season in Dubrovnik I'm affraid.

Once again it was great having you here and hope you return again.

All the best,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The standout feature of this hotel is the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff.
The staff are rotated around the hotel very cleverly so when you attend for breakfast on the let's say 10 th consecutive day you do not meet the same staff , thus keeping a freshness in relationships between guests and the staff.
The breakfast and dinner buffets are first class, from the non repetitive music, to the consistent quality of the food and more importantly the freshness the food. It is impressive to see the meat cut, the fish fried, the risotto and pasta made in front of your eyes. The beach was a major positive also and while the staff there had more of an edge, this was to be welcomed as it is a public beach and guests are prioritised for sun beds and umbrellas etc. Free wifi, tap water is drinkable, very few flies
( what kind of insecticide is being used ...), efficient fridge in room to stop chocolate from melting and keeping water cool,
Being at the start of the bus route is very handy as you will always get a seat, bus is every 10 minutes, cardio gym needs better AC and more machines. Pool on 5th floor needs to be cleaned more often. ( gym and pool still very good features currently) Other guests are pleasant and relaxed, which is not always the case in hotels we have stayed in on holidays , credit for this must go to this hotel and the management.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this impressive review and I am glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves here with us. I see you took notice of many details not everyone sees specially considering the organisational part of the hotel and up to the relaxed atmosphere we always try to create.
Of course there's always things that can be better, so that's our daily task.
Once again thank you on behalf of all the staff and hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked a trip on Grand Circle to Croatia and Slovenia and in Dubrovnik, Croatia, we stayed at the Valamar President. It is located right on a pebbly beach with views of the Adriatic from every room. The staff was very nice and the food, especially the breakfast buffet, was excellent. It is close to but not right inside the walled city. Bus #6 takes you right there and departs hourly. We really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Collection Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear guests,

I am glad you had the chance to stay with us during your tour and of course it's nice to hear you enjoyed everything we offered.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and I hope you do so in the future again.

All the very best from President staff !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews