We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Madrid

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LynB1
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in Apartment Madrid for three nights in early October 2013 and couldn't fault it for location. A very easy walk from the Pile gate, no steps except to get up to the apartment, and we were met by Slavica who carried our bags upstairs and down again when we left, so no problems there. The apartment is in a street that runs parallel to the main street, Stradun, but we heard no noise at all during our stay. The bed would have to be one of the most comfortable I have slept in too. There are several cafés and restaurants right on the doorstep and we ate locally every night, just stepping outside - lovely! Also during our stay there was a folk concert directly across from the apartment so we had free entertainment one night - very pleasant. We did have problems with the hot water system during our stay and that took a couple of days to resolve, otherwise I would have given five stars - Slavica did her best to sort it out for us and we were given a very nice bottle of wine and some local goodies which were appreciated. We would definitely return to these apartments if we returned to Dubrovnik as it was just so easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Thank you Bozo and Slavica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No steps to get there, lovely restaurants in the street
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelfan...
NY
1 review
“Perfect Location in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I chose Madrid based on the great reviews and location near the Pile gate - which did not disappoint. It is literally a 30 second walk to the Pile gate, which is great for meeting transfers or tours. Also, the rest of the Old City is at your front door - restaurants, pubs, even the walk to the Old Harbour is just a few minutes. I wouldn't spend any time looking at any apartments that mention the steps on the other side of the Old City - Madrid is in the perfect location with no big stone steps! (Just the staircase steps up to the apartment, 1 flight.) Plus, Bozo, the owner, is SO responsive, sometimes we'd get return emails from him in minutes! He set up our transfers and was very easy to work with - overall a great pleasure. As for the actual apartment, it is modern, just the right amount of space for a couple, and has everything you need: a nice kitchen, washer/dryer facilities and the all-important hot water for your shower. Dubrovnik and the Villa Madrid is a lovely vacation that I'd recommend to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A S
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Modern fully equipped apartment in ideal location in old town of Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had most enjoyable stay in studio apartment Madrid last week. Delighted with location ie adjacent to main street without the noise of the crowds and within walking distance of restaurants, shops, bars, buses and old port. Apartment fully fitted out - all the necessary modern appliances in place and sofa bed and main bedroom very comfortable with beautiful bed linen. Wonderful shower. This apartment has advantage over a lot of other properties in town as at is on main street level. Dubrovnik is built into mountain face and several properties have steep steps leading up to them which could be bothersome when carrying suitcases. We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kegs58
Ulverstone, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern, spacious apartment in old town, Dubrovnik. Excellent location.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of a 6 week European holiday. Raul met us at bell tower and directed us to the apartment. He discussed place of interest in Dubrovnik to visit and organised an airport transfer for our departure. The "London" apartment is very modern and spacious and was well equipped for pleasant stay. It even had a toaster which seems very uncommon in Europe! We didn't utilise the apartment's kitchen a lot, as we chose to eat out at the vast range of restaurants. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The only negative was the builders across the lane were a bit noisy. But that was unavoidable, there were simply doing their job. Normally, this would be a fantastic place to stay because it is in a quiet area of old town Dubrovnik.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious apartment in good location.
Liked least: Builders renovating in neighbourhood, causing early morning noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely brilliant apartment in an amazing location”
Reviewed 4 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Bozo was very easy to contact and very friendly - we were going to book another of his apartments when he suggested this one as there are fewer steps and one of us has difficulty walking sometimes.

The apartment was spotless and done to a very high standard - it went far beyond our expectations and the photos don't quite do it justice!

Perfect location in the old town near Pile Gate, very easy to access everything from there. Great atmosphere outside, but not noisy inside.

Anka met us at the apartment and was great - she gave us a map and labelled it, told us the cheapest supermarket to go to, where the locals go to eat and even offered a taxi transfer to the airport if we needed it. Would definitely come back here if I ever return to Dubrovnik! Didn't need directions to the property - all we needed was the address as it's on one of the main streets, at the end near the gate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the apartment and location
Liked least: There was nothing that we disliked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing