We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, lovely view”
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great room, lovely view”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a triple room overlooking the riva. The room was on the second floor across from the registration desk and was on a corner facing the waterfront so had windows on both sides making it bright and airy. The beds were comfortable and there was always enough hot water for the three of us to shower. Our room had a small sitting area and a bar fridge. The hotel is built into the corner of the palace so everything was only a few steps away - restaurants, bars, shops, markets, etc. Our room was clean and the girls at the desk friendly and helpful. We did find the area to be very busy through the night with people out on the waterfront whooping it up until the wee hours of the morning. Both mornings the phone rang in the office at about 3:00 am and of course there was no one there to answer it! We loved the convenience of being in the middle of everything but probably should have brought ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlc_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    113
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
104
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before our sailing cruise commenced and were happy with our choice, the location was brilliant right on the main esplanade and it was very easy to find. We stayed on the third floor which was a bit of a mission with our luggage (no elevator), the breakfast was very average (would recommend dining out at any of the nearby restaurants) and although the bed was comfortable and hot water ran out the following morning midway through my shower.
The staff were friendly and helpful, everything about the place was clean and tidy and for the location, the price was good value. We would stay here again.
A tip: we planned to catch the shuttle from the airport but missed as spot as we seemed to be amongst the last to collect bags and make it outside, so by the time we got there they had filled all the seats and we were told we would have to wait for the next flight to come in (1.5hrs) before the next shuttle left. We ended up catching a taxi, but if you're in a group of more than 1 person I would suggest having a member race out to nab your spots on the shuttle!

Room Tip: Those not keen on lugging their gear up stairs should ask for a room on the lower floors, although n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012. Its a really friendly hotel in a great location within the Palace in Split.
The rooms are simple but with everything you need - safe, TV, en-suite bathroom, air-con, etc.
Service was also really friendly and helpful.
We did not eat breakfast here so I can't comment on the quality.
I would definitely recommend this as a good, value-for-money place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Within walking distance of the airport bus stand and ferry departure areas. I arrived solo in Split close to midnight and felt safe walking the 1/3 mile to the hotel. There were still people strolling in the streets. The receptionist greeted this weary traveler at the door. My single room with bath was clean. Other rooms have a fantastic view of the harbor.

The optional Continental breakfast was adequate, convenient, but nothing special. I would recommend skipping the breakfast at the hotel and instead breakfast at outdoor cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Online .com sites (Hotels and Booking) showed this B&B to be fully booked. I emailed the hotel d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thannaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

On arrival in Split there is a bus from the airport to take you into the city - they meet most flights and drop you off at the harbour - price 30kuna (approx £3.50). There is also a bus back to the airport at the same place - just check the day before.
The Hotel was a bit elusive but thanks to good directions from the hotel website we found it fairly easily. Hotel is very central, great position (right in the Diocletian's Palace) for exploring Split. Staff were very friendy and helpful and the rooms were clean and pleasant.
Split is a lovely city with a variety of good restaurants and bars, the Riva is a beautuful place to sit in the sun and people watch and there also some nice restaurants along there that are not too pricey.
There are lots of ferry trips- Jadrolinija Lines- we went to Brac - a lovely Island with very scenic bay but very quiet and not much else to do there without travelling around the Island.
While we were in Split we got a much better rate of exchange than back in UK.
All in all great hotel, lovely city, a relaxing short break.

Room Tip: Our room (No 3) overlooked the square and whilst we were concerned it would be noisy this was not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#10 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.3 km away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#21 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 km away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#11 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.9 km away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
0.5 km away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Property: B&B Kastel 1700
Address: Mihovilova Shirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,880 - ₹ 21,871
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing