We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Croatian wines”

Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox
Ranked #6 of 478 Restaurants in Split
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Paradox is a modern wine bar & lounge, with an amazing rooftop terrace, set in the historic center of Split just dozens of meters from the Riva waterfront.
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Read the reviews so was down for some wine tasting. I must admit I know a lot more about beer than wine so a bit apprehensive as out of my comfort zone. Don’t worry...go! The waiter was extremely knowledgeable and took us on a tour of the countries wines. We had a three varieties mixed cheese plate and a prosciutto plate. With his guidance we honed in on what we liked wine wise. It was so good we went back the next day. We came away knowledgeable and we are now ordering bottles of wine like we know what we are doing. Ozujsko...whatever! Croatian wine from Paradox on...thanks for the education.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Superb for wine knowledge and tapas boar. The wines on offer are great and the ambiance superb. Very nice guy explained al the wines and who the growers were

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Markmstower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We found this place via TripAdvisor and it was awesome! Marco was our server and he was amazing! We asked for a local wine flight and he gave us four great wines. Highly recommend the local cheese and meat plates. This is definitely worth a visit!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JPTrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

My wife and I found this wonderful restaurant close to our Air B&B just outside of Old Town. The weather was perfect for the rooftop seating with great ambiance. The tapas style food we had was delicious. What was also great though was the staff. Our waiter / upstairs bar tender had great love for and deep knowledge of his country's food and wine. Even though the restaurant was relatively busy, he made us feel like houseguests and the only people in the restaurant. It was a learning experience as well as a great dining experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

What a memorable evening. We called and reserved a table sitting on the terrace with a lovely view. The atmosphere there is really lovely and relaxed. We tried some different wines and some meat/cheese boards that the lovely waiters tell you about before you start trying which was a lovely touch. Great place to head before you go for dinner or after!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank JessieMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing