We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crooked River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crooked River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The lodge was clean, pretty, with large rooms. Loved the lobby and patio. Nice central location for that section of "up north" michigan. I'd definetly stay there again. Didn't find the people behind the desk overly friendly, however they weren't rude either.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jnjlacroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    44
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
105
105
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Crooked River Lodge after visiting Trip Advisor. Our room was a King suite and had 2 t.v.s, micro, and fridge. The room was very clean as was the whole facility. has a river view but no access at the property. My wife and I were able to make side trips each day and found the lodge to be central to Petoskey (10 mile)
Harbor Springs (10 miles) Mackinaw Island (30 miles) Tunnel of trees is worth the drive as it winds through a forest on the coast of Lake Michigan. Sturegon river tubing was great and a very fast moving river. State parks at Burt lake and petoskey have nice beaches worth seeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband and I were taking a trip to Makinaw Island and on the way from Joliet, IL
we traveled along the lake side of Michigan.....We took the trip over 2 days and had no
reservations because we were just enjoying each moment of Michigan. We do travel
to Michigan alot because of family and always find so much beauty everywhere!
Anyway, we were driving and came upon the CROOKED RIVER LODGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I said, "pull in"!! It was the most beautiful lodge ever seen! and.....the personal touches
throughout along with the hospitality of the family business!! EVERYONE WAS SO FRIENDLY! Our suite was beautifully
decorated and large. The views are beautiful too! WE LOVED IT ALL!! WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mythreesons1654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistee County, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel is nice and clean. They do have pets and children that live or stay there. They are all friendly though. The owner is on site. It is great to support a local business owner in this economy. They are always accommodating. It has a great location with awesome restaurants in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Suite. They are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc1harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We came up here for a weekend to buy a car, and stayed at the Crooked River Lodge and loved it! The employees were so nice and willing to help whenever you needed. Any questions we had they were happy to answer. Also, we loved the turtle they had! They had a huge cage for him, and they took great care of him. During the day they took him outside and allowed him to walk around. Many people are saying that the dogs were growling at them and were in the breakfast room, but we did not experience that at all. The dogs were very well behaved and calm. The rooms were very nice and the bed was comfortable! We loved the view that we had from the room, and we found it convenient that they had dishes in the room for you to use. Most hotels do not have dishes and when we ordered pizza, we were happy to find dishes. The Wi-Fi worked great and the pool was amazing and clean! We will be staying here in the future! We loved it here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxoitsasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanson
15.7 km away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
18.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
13.8 km away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
12.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
17.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Property: Crooked River Lodge
Address: 6845 S US 31 Hwy, Alanson, MI 49706-9426 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,069 - ₹ 12,633
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crooked River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing