We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location. A few management hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio de Dona Leonor
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for New Year's Eve which is one of the best days to visit Antigua. The hotel does not have parking which is unfortunate, however for 10 USD per day they will valet the car.

I made the room reservation in March (yes for December, book early!) and about two weeks prior to my stay there got an email from the hotel saying that 'accounting' said that they needed to charge my credit card in full to secure my room. I was truly outraged by this and replied that this was unacceptable, and hope that this was a lapse in their judgement. They did not reply back. Once I arrived to the hotel they did not give me the room I booked. I was 30 per cent upset by this 70 per cent glad because they gave me the Don Pedro room. It is amazing. Perfect for a romantic weekend.

The front desk didn't seem to know very well what was going on and overall seemed unprofessional. They need to work in that.

Bottom line: luxurious rooms with a 2 star service. Stay but only to sleep there.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Atlacatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2014

Its an old "palace" around a pretty and well-furnished courtyard. It's attractive and stylish, and I'm sure most visits go off pretty well. We stayed twice, separated by a few days, and for the first stay were upgraded to a very large premium room . The hotel seemed very quiet. Only real problem was that the shower sprayed water everywhere and was not easily usable. It was a very obvious fault, easily seen as soon as you turned on the shower. We reported it first morning, were told it would be fixed that day. We were told when we returned that evening that it had been fixed. But it was exactly the same and was the same when we left presumably for the enjoyment of those following us.

When we returned for a second visit, we'd booked and had confirmed a specific room- their website facilitates this. We were simply shown to another room that we didn't much like without explanation. I took it up with the desk staff and got nowhere. They simply refused to give us the room we'd booked and which they had confirmed. It turned out that some other guest wanted that room and they simply gave it to him. I can't consider that this behaviour is acceptable and so my rating should be read as 5* for the hotel, and 1* for some of the people who run it. Some of them are of course very decent- for example Monica who handled our reservation and our transfers to/from the hotel.

You might also want to note that the hotel, albeit very centrally situated, is on the main road out of town and traffic noise in the night in the rooms to the front of the hotel is a fact of life. There are other hotels of a similar style and quality in Antigua, and we'd give one of those a try next time.

Room Tip: See review. If you want a specific room then you need to be very sure that they're going to giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

It used to be a real palace during the colonial period and now they did a great remodeling job to make it a hotel and restaurant. Rooms are so beautiful, each one is different; pretty modern and comfortable and at the same time full of antiques: chandeliers, furniture, statues, lamps and paintings are all around the place... the garden is wonderful and food delicious. The staff is very helpful and efficient. Excellent location, it's only a few steps away from the Cathedral and the Central Park and 2 blocks away from other attractions. I definitively recommend it if you want an elegant, modern and chic hotel in Antigua.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MariaSalaverria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Everything about our stay here was really lovely. The decor has been completed with incredible attention to detail-- the rooms are beautifully painted and the beds and bathrooms are heavenly. We had several meals in the garden area and the food and service was excellent. Everyone on the staff was welcoming and highly professional. The best part is that it is centrally located and even though we were staying during Semana Santa our room was very quiet in the evenings and at night. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and even for families with children.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the street and it was very quiet at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Perfect staging point to explore Antigua. Our visit happened in August, the rainy season. However only our 1st day had rain. Don't be surprised if you've dinned outside and return after 8:00 that the doors will be closed. Knock and the porter will let you in.
Wifi is strongest in the courtyard and there's a 2nd network around the pool.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 km away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#12 of 75 in Antigua
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 75 in Antigua
773 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#16 of 75 in Antigua
263 reviews
0.6 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Dona Leonor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Dona Leonor

Address: 4a Calle Oriente Casa # 8, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: ₹ 11,002 - ₹ 1,41,794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Dona Leonor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel in Antigua Guatemala. Experience the history of Antigua Guatemala in one place. Travel 500 years in the past and enjoy the decor and details of each room, which are named after the characters of the conquest of Guatemala. If you are looking for quality and excellent service, we recommend you this magical hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio de Dona Leonor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Dona Leonor Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing