We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael
Ranked #26 of 133 Antigua B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find...”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is the second hostel we have stayed in in Antigua (the other being El Hostal). While both are good Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael is the better of the two. The service is excellent and we feel very well looked after by the Guatemalan family who run it. The rooms are spotless, the beds comfy and they have lovely furniture and at £15 a night with breakfast for 2 it is an absolute bargain.

There is free wifi, a laundry service and a kitchen if you need.

This is not the place to party the night away but if you are looking for a first rate local family run hostel we can't recommend Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael more highly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stingray76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
21
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA / EU / CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Don Ismael is great, so is his staff. A cute, basic, home style hotel on a quite (dead-end) street so it is not noisy from the street. Nice breakfast and coffee included in our rate. They picked up us at the airport for an extra fee, highly suggested if it's your first time going to GUA.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Uncommon-Path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Found the previous comments right here at this web site and upon arrival in Antigua Guatemala, spoke directly with Don Ismael.
The Hotel is part of the whole experience. It is right next to everything and just a short walk out the door takes you back five or six hundred years in time.
The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the sorroundings are quiet and maintained in such a way as to make you feel like you are staying over at your favorite uncles' house.
Don Ismael himself will cater to your every need and a perpetual and sincere smile always goes with the man.
Would you like to have some breakfast? It is provided for you.
Would you like your clothes washed? He will arrange it for you as well ( I myself, just went upstairs to the terrace, and used a "pila", just like my grandmother used to do, and did it myself with the provided soap and available clotheslines ).
Want to have a quiet relaxing time? Just stay in your room, go upstairs to the terrace and take in the amazing view of town as well as the Agua Volcano ( chairs and tables are always neatly arranged there ).
Want to stay "in touch"? A computer with internet access is at your fingertips ( I however do not recommend this; you are after all, in colonial times here and on vacation ).
STAY HERE AND YOU RUN THE RISK OF FALLING IN LOVE WITH THE HOTEL, THE TOWN AND THE PEOPLE.
A warm hug is only a blink of an eye away.
Many happy returns fellow traveler.
I will see you here in November.

  • Liked — Un servicio increiblemente bueno, limpieza, ubicacion y un precio estupendo.
  • Disliked — No haber tenido mas tiempo para quedarme alli. Todo excelente.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChapinMaryland_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Ok, here is the deal; the rooms are a tad musty, there is a lot of Jesus around in the form of statues, pictures, etc., the price is cheap, beds ok, breakfast just fine, but the real winner here is the Don himself. This man is a bona fide good guy; his eyes just spill good will. He arranged an airport shuttle for me that was due to pick me up at 3am; not only did he wake up at 2:30 am to see me off, he STAYED awake until the shuttle came and actually got me to make sure everything was ok. Sure, there may be prettier hotels in Antigua, but I have yet to stay any place in the world with this much soul!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank aroundtheworld28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

Stayed with a friend in this budget hotel for 2 nights, July 26 and 27th, 2006. Clean, very reasonably priced (paid total of $20US for the room). Shared baths, close to room, never a wait (almost nicer than a private, where I would have waited on my travel partner!). Our room was on the ground floor around a small courtyard, where breakfast (pancakes or eggs/toast)was included/served. Room was dark, but clean. Very small high windows and poorly lit. Nice to sit outside at the courtyard tables to read, though. Hotel is in an easy location to walk to Antigua sites (as most hotels are, since Antigua is very small). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Some English spoken. As two single women traveling, we felt safe at this hotel. It is very dark at night, not really much lighting in the courtyard. Recommend a flashlight to make short walk to/from restroom easier at night. Overall, very good value.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — poor lighting in rooms and in courtyard at night
  • Tips/Secrets — they have online access that you can use...charge/hr comparable to internet cafes
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sfcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
Hotel Palacio Chico 1940
#50 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Los Encuentros
Hotel Los Encuentros
#15 of 133 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Posada Santa Teresita
Hotel Posada Santa Teresita
#30 of 133 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Wicho & Charlies- B&B
Wicho & Charlies- B&B
#12 of 133 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 km away
Ixkanul Antigua Hotel
Ixkanul Antigua Hotel
#16 of 133 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada Juma Ocag
Posada Juma Ocag
#10 of 103 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael

Property: Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael
Address: 3ra. Calle Poniente No. 6, Antigua, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,615 - ₹ 2,325
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel la Casa de Don Ismael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing