We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,698)
Filter reviews
1,698 results
Traveller rating
1,243
289
90
32
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,243
289
90
32
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingochocolate factoryhotel museumbeautiful hotelstar hotelgrounds are amazinghotel guestssmall balconybreakfast buffetstandard roommagical placecentral americaguatemala cityan oasisvisiting antiguamonasterycandles
Filter
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 1,698 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Built on the ruins of an old monastery, this hotel is beautiful and unique. It evokes the colonial period of Spain's occupation of Guatemala. The hotel is safe and the grounds are exquisite. Everything about the service is first-rate. In my three-day stay I only managed one complaint: they charge for Internet wi-fi service. When I am paying $200 a night for the room, I think they can provide free wi-fi. But honestly, this is a fantastic place to stay. If you are going to Antigua you need to spend some time at this hotel. Other reviews here extoll its virtues, and they are correct. It is a beautiful hotel, beautifully operated. Stay here and be enchanted!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosfrijoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Although it was a business trip, my 4 days at Hotel Casa SAnto Domingo where just amazing. There is nothing that would really describe the uniqueness of the place until you are there. Great rooms, huge bathrooms, and just an overall experience.
During the nights is when the real magic comes into place, all the candlelights around the hotel, the nature comes together with the hotel areas.
Coming from a caribbean place, having the chimney in the restaurant running during the nights, with the great "asados" (beef mainly grill style but with their special flavor)... it was great.
Walk around the hotel, visit the museums and definitely if you are considering a wedding... ahhh!!! it should really be a lovely place to get married!

Room Tip: ASk for the back rooms, the ones in front can be a little noisy from the all the traffic in the mornings
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I'm happy to add my voice to the chorus of positive reviews for the Casa Santo Domingo. It is a magical place in a magical town. I had eaten at the restaurant on previous trips but this was the first time I stayed at the hotel and I was not at all disappointed. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a fireplace and tasteful decorations. Just outside the door were candles and statuary. The grounds are museum-like and the tubs of water with rose petals are a luxurious touch. There was a wedding taking place on the property while we were there so there were hundreds of candles lit for the occasion--beautiful. Be sure to do the Sunday brunch if possible. The price for the hotel is more than reasonable by US standards.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I travel frequently for work and find myself in all sorts of hotels of varying quality and construction.

Casa Santo Domingo might be my all time favourite.

Built on the ruins of a monestary, the hotel evokes the colonial capital that Antigua was. The museums on site add to the magic.

The rooms are simple, big and clean.

The food is good.

And the staff is wonderful.

I hope I have a chance to get back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank magpie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Been meaning to write this review for a while. On reflection this hotel stands out as a truely unique experience. Taking into account the fact that the hotel is modeled/built around the ruins of monastery the quality and atmosphere achieved is a one off. The rooms are spacious / antique but with the right touch of modernitiy. Features like the flower petals in the old water troughs and other classy touches just added to the experience.
The museum section featuring Mayan artifacts alongside modern glass artworks made for a fascinating couple of hours. If you get the chance to stay in this unique hotel take it with both hands

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gar55_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews