We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I visited the museums and ruins - marvelous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

So I did not stay here, but the grounds are superb and a wonderous place to explore. They have several museum and beautiful ruins that will give you hours of interesting fun. The best, though, is their restaurant on Cerro Santo Domingo. The outdoor art is PHENOMENAL! Do yourself a favor and take the free shuttle up there and you will be blown away by the variety of outdoor art. The restaurant has yummy food and a spectacular view, too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
1  Thank Unbeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 623 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Built on the ruins of an old monastery, this hotel is beautiful and unique. It evokes the colonial period of Spain's occupation of Guatemala. The hotel is safe and the grounds are exquisite. Everything about the service is first-rate. In my three-day stay I only managed one complaint: they charge for Internet wi-fi service. When I am paying $200 a night for the room, I think they can provide free wi-fi. But honestly, this is a fantastic place to stay. If you are going to Antigua you need to spend some time at this hotel. Other reviews here extoll its virtues, and they are correct. It is a beautiful hotel, beautifully operated. Stay here and be enchanted!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosfrijoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Although it was a business trip, my 4 days at Hotel Casa SAnto Domingo where just amazing. There is nothing that would really describe the uniqueness of the place until you are there. Great rooms, huge bathrooms, and just an overall experience.
During the nights is when the real magic comes into place, all the candlelights around the hotel, the nature comes together with the hotel areas.
Coming from a caribbean place, having the chimney in the restaurant running during the nights, with the great "asados" (beef mainly grill style but with their special flavor)... it was great.
Walk around the hotel, visit the museums and definitely if you are considering a wedding... ahhh!!! it should really be a lovely place to get married!

Room Tip: ASk for the back rooms, the ones in front can be a little noisy from the all the traffic in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I'm happy to add my voice to the chorus of positive reviews for the Casa Santo Domingo. It is a magical place in a magical town. I had eaten at the restaurant on previous trips but this was the first time I stayed at the hotel and I was not at all disappointed. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a fireplace and tasteful decorations. Just outside the door were candles and statuary. The grounds are museum-like and the tubs of water with rose petals are a luxurious touch. There was a wedding taking place on the property while we were there so there were hundreds of candles lit for the occasion--beautiful. Be sure to do the Sunday brunch if possible. The price for the hotel is more than reasonable by US standards.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I travel frequently for work and find myself in all sorts of hotels of varying quality and construction.

Casa Santo Domingo might be my all time favourite.

Built on the ruins of a monestary, the hotel evokes the colonial capital that Antigua was. The museums on site add to the magic.

The rooms are simple, big and clean.

The food is good.

And the staff is wonderful.

I hope I have a chance to get back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank magpie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
927 reviews
1.1 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
430 reviews
1.6 km away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#13 of 75 in Antigua
539 reviews
2.4 km away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: ₹ 6,306 - ₹ 87,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing