We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best small hotels in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“One of best small hotels in the world”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights as a group. Initially disappointed with our roon which was ground level and had an internal window. Room change was effortless and new room opened into a garden. This hotel is built in a restored Diminican convent and is not to be missed. From chruch artefacts,scarlet macaws, swimming pool, on ground museum - it is an experience rather than a hotel. High praise to the owner and his excellent staff.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on first floor around the swimming pool. Try to avoid ground floor rooms with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    229
    73
    24
    31
See reviews for
232
417
67
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Best hotel I have ever seen all around the globe. This is my second stay at this hotel in 18 years. It was excelent on my first visit, and it changed only for better on the second one.Setting is great' art and archiology museons are great.Breakfast was vast and delisious and service was very good.The only small problem is that it takes 10 minutes walk to the attractions.

Room Tip: Even the simplest ones are great.Try the newer parts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlanJerusalem_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

For those of you who are ceaselessly in pursuit of the perfect view around Antigua Guatemala, you should definitely take the trip to the Santo Domingo del Cerro. This is the sister site of the celebrated hotel located in the rehabilitated and re-purposed ruins of the lower town's Santo Domingo Church.

The lower church and monastery were completed in the mid 17th century when Antigua Guatemala was the capital of Spanish holdings in this slice of the New World. It was then walloped by earthquakes, abandoned by the good Dominican padres and left to squatters for centuries. About 340 years, later, the eclectic hotel complex that we see today was started.

Early in the 21 century, the Santo Domingo hotel on the hill was established and the view is truly sensational. Yolkobsens recently got on the free shuttle, which goes most days every 15 minutes from the lower hotel location, to make the upward trip for two reasons: the view and the art.

We were warned as we will caution you: eat before you go because the food at the highland restaurant, El Tenedore del Cerro, is expensive and really not very good. Enough said. But by all means have a cocktail there as you devour the view of volcanoes and Antigua Guatemala itself. It's fun trying to identify the city landmarks from a distance, and the birds-eye-view gives tourists and regular inhabitants alike a different perspective on how the town is organized along its Spanish colonial grids.

After taking in the scenery over a cocktail, Yolkobsens recommend a thorough investigation of the grounds. You will be rewarded by the art installations that make up the permanent outdoor offerings. Some startle, some provoke, some amuse, and some are downright weird, but it's all part of the experience. There's even a tropical bird house the size of a suburban back split to stimulate the senses and arouse feelings of kinship with our feathered buddies. Okay, it's just a really neat and unexpected bird house.

Among the more outstanding pieces of art are the mosaics by Guatemala's Efrain Recinos, whose ironic works are displayed here to great effect. The tiled works, dominated by azure blue tones, look innocent at first sight, especially his deceptively doll-like creation, La Guatemalita. Closer inspection reveals a darker vision that seems to transition between late 19th century to present day to a spacey future. Almost all of the murals invoke an embrace or dread of technology, including cars.

Not to be missed is the La Guatemalita sculpture perched on a real Volkswagen relic, which is hoisted at a 60 degree angle on an embankment. La Guatemalita sits on its hood bearing a torch of freedom the way she might hold up a mascara wand. Hard to ignore and intriguing to examine.

Our camera bursting with shots and our imaginations firing away after exploring the outdoor art, both natural and contrived, we happily descended in the wagon that took us back down the hill from the Santo Domingo del Cerro and back to Antigua Guatemala.

Room Tip: For those of you who are ceaselessly in pursuit of the perfect view around Antigua Guatemala, you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antigua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misgav, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have traveled in Guatemala for ~2 weeks, and the 3 nights we spent at the Casa Santo Domingo were the highlight of the tour. It was like living in a dream. The site with the amazing gardens, the beautiful in-doors museums, the archeological ruins, the food, the welcoming staff - don't miss it!
The hotel is a unique combination of history and luxury, never seen before. As one of our friends said "the best non-looking-hotel I've stayed in..."

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We came to Antigua with no expectations. Wow were we surprised, it was a unique beautiful hotel! We have traveled the world over and this was truly a one of a kind hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
858 reviews
1.1 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
304 reviews
1.5 km away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,352 - ₹ 44,050
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing