We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little bar”
Review of Ocelot

Ocelot
Ranked #107 of 370 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner
Description: The Ocelot Bar. Its so close to the Parque Central. 32 Seconds walk actually so its very safe and we know all of the good taxi drivers who won't assault or attack you. We love our 5pm till 8pm happy hour everyday and we have the famous burgers & Wings from Lava Terrace Bar & Burgers upstairs. Live music at least 3 times a week. Cocktails & Microbrew beer. The bar owned by Welshman Shaun always attracts its fair share of Guatemaltecos. Shaun kicked out all the sloppy Gringo drunks that used to frequent the place in the early years and its now a really pleasant place to come and listen to great music and meet great people and have a good drink
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute little bar”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great little bar with character and some good live music.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank latintraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    22
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The BEST BAR in Antigua has gotten even BETTER!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is my second review of my favorite watering hole and speak easy. I thought it necessary because of the new bar menu. Ocelot now has the best eating companion to drinking I have ever experienced. The Rarebit is my favorite but the Pork Bits and Quesa Dillas are both fantastic. Shaun always thinking and looking to improve. You've outdone yourself this time. Great job.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Be there Thursday nights!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Ocelot is a great bar close to parque central with a wide selection of popular drinks. Also, on Thursday nights there's a gentleman playing the Sax, which increases the bar's atmosphere and vibe.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank HortDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocelotjazz, Owner at Ocelot, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thanks for the positive review but If i could correct something which is important. The sax player you refer to, actually plays on Friday at 7PM and not on Thursday.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“When in Antigua, Ocelot's is a must!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

With very little Spanish in my vocabulary, I wandered out of our hotel not having a clue what I would find, or how I would communicate it when I found it. Just 2 doors down from our hotel I walked into Ocelot. I was greeted by a younger looking man working on his computer. Turned out to be Sean the owner, and he spoke English (he's originally from Wales). It wasn't long before the place started filling up with Spanish immersion students and ex-pats from the States. Ocelot's atmosphere is very relaxing, the music is kept soft enough so you can hear it, but no one needs to shout to carry on a conversation. It appears to draw more of a "middle aged" mature crowd. Those in the younger crowd, and those of us who still like to party with the younger crowd, head upstairs to "Lavas" (Ocelot's rooftop bar) where upbeat Techno music fills the air.
Sean and all the "bar staff" (Sophia, Javier, Sierra and Tiffany) are incredibly friendly and make you feel like you've been a regular customer for years. They all were exceptionally helpful in advising my wife and I about what to see and do in Antigua, as well as what to avoid to remain safe. Sean by far has the best happy hour we could find in Antigua and the hamburgers he serves compare to the ones grilled in the backyard at home. If you go to Ocelot's once, you will go back again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Antigua's Best Watering Hole”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you are looking for a great place for a drink and pleasant conservation, the Ocelot is the place to be. This is Antigua's favorite bar for expats to gather for an evening of good food, music and friendly chat. Its 'happy hour' is the best in town and the live music many evenings is great. Its owned by Shaun an Welsh expat who is always looking for ways to make your evening more enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guatemala_Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocelot also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Ocelot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing