We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel la Catedral
Nearby Hotels
Chez Daniel(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 78
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Sin Ventura(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$ 59
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Casa Rustica(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$ 44
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Soleil La Antigua(Antigua)
US$ 145
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Doozy Koala(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$ 41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Villa Serena(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 240
US$ 142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 207
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 214
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
208
57
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
57
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarehalf blockcentral parkguatemala citycentral patiolovely boutiqueperfect locationbreakfast was includedfamily homestreet noisestay there againbeautiful courtyardlovely roomi highly recommend this hotelsmall hotelboutique hotelsmall room
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017

When my son and I first arrived in Antigua, the Spanish school we were attending had arranged accommodations at an apartment above a residential garage on the outskirts of town. It was unpleasant, dirty, depressing. Someone told us about La Cathedral, and although it was beyond my budget, we ended up switching and staying there for the last 5 days of our trip - it made all the difference. I *loved* this little hotel - loved everything about it. The location cannot be better - basically right on Antigua's main plaza & near great restaurants. I enjoyed spending late evenings sitting in the plaza watching city life and being just steps away from my room. Or waking up early and going out while the streets around the plaza were still wet and scrubbed clean. The room was clean & modern, but not in a Marriott kind of way; it had character - high ceilings, thick walls, cool windows & shutters. Enjoyed breakfast on the central patio. This hotel has obviously been loved & cared for thru the years and exudes that vibe. A member of the staff told us that it had been a family residence and they still own it, but converted it to a hotel. People were kind - I (a single mom with my teen son) felt protected here. Highly recommend both La Cathedral and Antigua. I hope to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest.

The Hotel La Catedral Team gives thank you for time to rate our services it was a pleasure served you, that's the most important thing for us that you feel like you're at home and the most important feel safe.

Thank you for your comment this help for improve the service.

We hope to see you soon, from here in your house Hotel La Catedral.

See you soon.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel should be a 4 star hotel, but the termite residue droppings on my bed pillow in Room 9 and on the bathroom floor spoiled its attraction. When this was pointed out to the front desk staff, they responded 'oh, that's termites' and had the maid staff come in and shake out the pillows and sheets. They said they were full and so couldn't move us to another room, but I don't know why they couldn't have hung something from the ceiling to catch the droppings, or otherwise deal with the issue. The amount of termite activity was so great that it could be readily seen again after only an hour. It certainly ruined which would have otherwise been a nice stay.

The bathroom and shower are well appointed and nice. The room looks nice. The breakfast in the courtyard is good. There is a fair amount of street noise.

In summary, staff's nonchalant and apathetic attitude towards a significant problem ruined what could have been a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank mjbphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest.
The Hotel La Catedral Team gives thank you for time to rate our services.

We regret to know that we did not achieve your expectations in your recent visit. We hope to have the opportunity to assist you in the future. We fix the problem in the room for the next guest fill good.

See you soon.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

A lovely small hotel just off the park de central, doesn't do dinner but it is close to lots of restaurants and if your really tired you can get take aways ( I personally prefer to eat out ).
In the evening they fold down your beds and you get a chocolate on your pillow! Your stay comes with 2 breakfasts and my favourite part is that there is lots of soft blankets and sofas, so if your cold you can get comfy!
This is a great stay if your on holiday, as we are traveling, we should be roughing it but... Also som thing that makes it a great stay is that it has a private parking with security, which is good if you have a car because you could be robbed, not saying you will but it's better safe than sorry

I recommend this hotel if your looking for somewhere quaint and quiet where if you step outside there is loads of atmosphere! I give this little hotel a double thumbs up

Stayed: November 2017
Thank berribanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest.
The Hotel La Catedral Team gives thank you for time to rate our services it was a pleasure served you.

Thank you for your comment this help for improve the service, this is this the most importat thing for us you feel like your home.

We hope to see you soon, from here in your house Hotel La Catedral.

See you soon.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Quite charming small room. Updated bathroom with good sized shower. Beautiful woodwork. Courtyard is quiet and meticulously maintained. Take the winding stairs to the rooftop terrace for views of the city and volcanoes. Breakfast was included and included yogurt with fresh fruit and granola to the typical Guatemalan breakfast of eggs, plantains, beans, cheese and toast. 1 block to city center with shops and numerous dining options. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Staff speaks english. Bottle water is gratis.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest.

The Hotel La Catedral Team gives thank you for time to rate our services it was a pleasure served you.

We like to know that we have a very good time with us.

We hope to see you soon, from here in your house Hotel La Cathedral.

See you soon.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Good service, nice courtyard, comfortable beds, helpful staff, English spoken. Great location 2 minutes walk to the central plaza and next door to a car rental office. We were 5 people, stayed 5 nights.

Room Tip: All room have windows on the quiet courtyard.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RamoninAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest.

The Hotel La Catedral Team gives thank you for time to rate our services it was a pleasure served you.

Thank you for your comment this help for improve the service.

We hope to see you soon, from here in your house Hotel La Catedral.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews