We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cirilo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cirilo
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“gorgeous property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property recently. Not only are the grounds gorgeous (a ruined church) but the owner went out of his way to help us find our way around Antigua. He packed us into his SUV and drove us around the city, at night, to get us acquainted with the town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weatherman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
228
30
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon in room 7 and absolutely loved it. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are great, only odd thing was there are no bar fridges in the room, but there is room service, big screen sony TV, open fireplace, very comfortable, couldn't imagine there being better value than this place. One downside was the location, it is right on the edge, but the owners are lovely and more than happy to drop you in the centre if you are heading out, in fact the owners were amazingly helpful in so many ways, they even made us a packed breakfast on our last day because we were leaving so early for the airport.
Definitely worth staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Quiet hotel with attenitive staff
We had room 3 and was next to a outdoor fountain and across from the pool. The room had a queen bed that was comfortable. The TV had over 100 channels and also free wifi internet available thru out the hotel. Our room rate of 122$ w/tax incuded a deluxe breakfast. For Breakfast there was 6 choices and the Guatamalan breakfast that had 2 eggs of your choice black beans and fried plantains coffee juice and a selection of bread was our favorite. The rooms were very clean and had a updated bathroom. The rain shower head was nice along with local soap and shampoo and conditioner. If you need a hairdryer all you need to do is call reception. The room has a safe and was a little complicated to figure out. The first night we had a few loud guests come in and disturb our sleep. The second night the noisy neighbors were gone and we had nothing but quiet.
Location: the hotel is a 15 minute walk to town or a 20 q tuck tuck ride. The hotel is built around a old convent ruin and had many places to sit and relax. The sitting areas were nice and all had a great view of the ruins and flowers also you could see the mountains from the breakfast area.
Hotel in general:
The hotel was small and looked to have around 10 rooms. The worst rooms looked to be next to the reception area and private drive. The hotel was very clean. Resturant is only open for breakfast and we saw no options for eating at the hotel for luch or dinner. No bar in the hotel which was a good thing. Also the rooms do not have a/c but do have a private fire place for your use. The hotel provides a large water per night for your own use to brush your teeth ect..
When we arrived in Guatamala international airport we walked outside and shuttle drivers were available to take you to antigua for 10 $ a person. The shuttle drops you off right at your hotel. For the way back the hotel arranged for us a private shuttle for 35$. The ride took about 1 hour.
We ate at Frida's mexican resturant and it had great nachos and guacmole. We also ate at the Rainbow Cafe and happy hour was from 5-7 with very cheap drink prices. Tretto coffee shop had great coffee and the young man who owns it brews each cup individually with a french press . We felt very safe in town and saw alot of police in the area. Also do not use the atms in town bring cash and you can go to the 3 banks on the square and exchage your money (you need your passport to exchange money) Many people have gotten thier atm numbers stolen at the local atms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grayce_The_Super_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

What an amazing place - a MUST for any traveler looking to spoil themselves a bit. We stayed here on the last 2 nights of our trip, and we're so glad we made the decision to splurge a bit. We couldn't have picked a better place... great food, lovely staff, extraordinary rooms, and Ricardo took such great care of us - he booked us a VERY early shuttle to the airport, and even had a bagged lunch packaged for us because we'd be missing out on the wonderful breakfast by leaving so early. Can't recommend Hotel Cirilo enough... just go. You deserve it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLT154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Just came back from Antigua Guatemala, spent 3 nights at Cirilo hotel. All good opinions about this hotel are true! Very romantic atmosphere,so If you are planning anniversary, Valentine's day or proposal, that's a good place!
- all hotel employees are super kind and helpful
- all rooms are cozy and perfectly designed ( everyone is different!)
- breakfast is very good - from your menu options try Guatemala style with fried banana and local fresh cheese yummy!
Totally recommend! just hope after so many good opinions they don't rise prices.

Room Tip: number 7 is a beautiful suite the nicest room! numbers 3 and 6 are charming ( one bed but they add a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
1.2 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.5 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.4 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#5 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo

Property: Hotel Cirilo
Address: Calle de los Duelos No. 11, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,989 - ₹ 10,466
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the restored ruins of a colonial chapel, our hotel is a refuge of peace in the quietest area of Antigua. Only seven rooms, gardens, terrace, restaurant and solar-heated lap-pool. Complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cirilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing