We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Cosy, charming and a quiet place to stay in Antigua"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Las Marias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Las Marias
Ranked #6 of 124 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Cosy, charming and a quiet place to stay in Antigua"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband, son, daughter and granddaughter spend 2 nights at Hostal Las Marias and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very helpful in providing information as to phone #'s to order food and transportqation. We got to order fried chicken and it was delivered to our room (Pollo Campero). Everytime we wanted to go to the central park we asked the person at the desk to call a tuk tuk for us since I can't walk long distances and had no problems traveling back and forth. You felt very secure and safe in this hostal since it has a gated entrance. I have no hesitation in recommending Hostal Las Marias very highly. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and the prices are reasonable!

Room Tip: There is one room with a fireplace and it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guatemalteca983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    62
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
85
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The friendly staff at the hotel add to the charm of this truly wonderful hotel! Just far enough away to hear only birds but close enough to walk to central park in 5 minutes (and a very safe walk as well) I have been traveling as a single female, and felt very comfortable walking to and fro - so much so, I kept returning - 6 nights in all. Hostal Las Marias is a wonderful escape from the noise and cars of La Antigua- all just a short walk away- or a tuk-tuk for 5Q.
** if you travel with you bike, the friendly staff accommodate bike storage and even offered a hose for me to clean my bike after a ride. When I return to La Antigua next year, you will find me staying here! Best night sleep in La Antigua (not to mention, hot coffee early in the morning, just outside your door!)

Room Tip: all the rooms are wonderful- I stayed in 3 of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethany e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My cousin and I spent three days at Hostal Las Marias and loved everything about it. It's a beautiful house (it's basically a mini hacienda) with a gorgeous garden, located inside a gated community. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and the service is the best part. The owner was so attentive and nice, she even helped us secure a reservation at a fancy restaurant where one of our favorite musicians was playing one night. They also offer airport pickup which is great, especially if you want to spend little to no time in Guatemala city.
Oh and did I mention the breakfast was DELICIOUS? The house itself is a few blocks away from the city center but the walk is safe and pleasant.
We hope to return to the lovely city of Antigua in Dec 2012 and we already know we will be staying in Hostal Las Marias.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamburglar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I spent 10 nights at Las Marias while on a trip in Antigua. We got exactly what we were looking for, and were expecting. It's a small hotel in a very quiet private street, with a gated entrance, so we always felt extremely safe, and it was very quiet at all times.
Breakfast was made for us every morning and it was perfect to get the day started.
We would strongly recommend this hotel if you need a good, but cheap place to stay in Antigua, or if you're just quickly stopping over. It's about a 12min walk to the Parque Central, past the bus terminal, which was the only unpleasant part because of the smoke made by all those buses, so the last few days we would just grab a tuk-tuk to make it a faster trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed here twice - and both times it was wonderful. The rooms are lovely, each one is decorated different than the others. It is VERY quiet there. Lovely inner courtyard with comfy benches and couches. The staff is always kind, courteous and polite. Rooms are spotless, beds are really comfortable. Prices very reasonable!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salsatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#40 of 81 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
23.9 km away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#53 of 81 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.8 km away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 81 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Marias? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Marias

Property: Hostal Las Marias
Address: Calle a San Bartolo | Las Jacarandas #7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,495 - ₹ 5,646
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Marias 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Las Marias is a hotel with a mixture of style Colonial folklore of Guatemala and today's comfort facilities. We are located in a quiet area of the city of Antigua, away from city center's noisy movement but a few blocks from the Central Park. Hostal Las Marias is a ten- room family-owned, the rooms are arranged around a garden courtyard and are comfortably furnished with private baths and cable TV. Each room is decorated with carefully selected hand craft details from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Las Marias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing