We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Best Stay at Any Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Elephant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Elephant
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Best Stay at Any Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My experience past and present at the White Elephant was and is honestly my best experience at any fine hotel. This was my third year staying at this fine establishment and I assure any guest who stays at this resort will not be disappointed. The staff treats every guest like family and the word "no" is not it the staffs vocabulary. I will never stay anywhere else on Nantucket

Room Tip: Suites next to Brant Point Grill are fantastic and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Andrew H;

Thank you for your nice posting. I am glad you continue to enjoy the White Elephant!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    56
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
84
209
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the White Elephant. Our room was beautiful and the staff was great! Would definitely recommend for a fabulous stay in Nantucket.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Rebecca B;

Thank you for posting your review! I am glad you had a wonderful time.

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My Fiance and I have stayed at The White Elephant three times over the last few years. It's been great every time. The location is perfect, as it's walking distance (a few blocks) to Nantucket Harbor area where many of the shops/restaurants are located. Our most recent stay May 28--30, 2012 was typically great. We stayed in a ground level room (rm 152), in the "busy" section with a little porch. Room was fantastic, lots of windows, views of the bay, nice porch to sit out on and a really comfortable room. The "busy" section they refer to on the website when making a reservation wasn't any issue for us. The room bordered the courtyard that has the restaurant, but it closes early and doesn't open early, so we didn't even notice.

The hotel and grounds are extremely well maintained. They pay attention to the details. The service is really top notch, very friendly. They actually called my home within 24hrs of making the reservation to see if they could book a tour, make dinner reservations, etc. This is the only hotel we've ever received a call from prior to our arrival. You can arrange for them to meet you at the ferry and shuttle you to the hotel, and they bring you back after your stay. They even kept our bags stored all day (after we checked out) until our evening ferry departed.

The hotel does have a small exercise room with a few treadmills, an elliptical, mats, a bench and some dumbbells. It did the trick. We didn't try the Spa b/c we always run out of time doing things on the island, but the Spa looked nice. The hotel does not have a pool, but there are a lot of nice beaches.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny4Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Johnny4Q;

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad you had such a lovely time and perhaps next time you will have some time for the spa!

Sincerley,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

..as a frequent visitor to Nantucket and the White Elephant, I didn't think their level of friendly customer attentiveness could get any better but it did and I owe them a long overdue Thank you!
It was during Daffodil Festival weekend. On Saturday I had enjoyed the delicious food and libations hosted by the White Elephant at the Sconset Picnic with their antique cars as the backdrop. On Sunday morning, feeling the need to take a long walk, I headed west toward Madaket. And walk I did. I even took the adventurous off road route and after getting somewhat lost in the woods, ended up at the end of the island. I had made it all the way to Madaket. it was about 6-7miles, ...I had a cell phone and $5... I started to walk back and thought.... I am going to call the White Elephant and see if they will send their van to pick me up...I spoke to the woman at the front desk and explained that I had gotten somewhat lost and walked to Madaket. Her response was a deadpan-Why?? but then immediately offered to send the van right out. I told her I would be the woman sitting there rubbing my feet...
While theWhite Elephant typically offers in town shuttle service, this went above and beyond. And what I really appreciated upon being picked up was the spring water and fresh lavender towelettes. WOW!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmadaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear debmadaket;

Thank you for your lovely review! I am glad that we were able to 'rescue' you from Madaket!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerley,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Gorgeous hotel and property. Massage at their spa with a female (I think her name was Kira) was one of the best ones I've had in my life!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
DearW0rldTraveller86;

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed the services of our spa!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bettina Landt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.4 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.5 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.2 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Property: White Elephant
Address: 50 Easton Street, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,730 - ₹ 1,24,662
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing