We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better off at a B&B...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beachside
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better off at a B&B...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a wedding and offered a group rate, which really was an incredible deal for two nights in ACK. We have stayed all over the island and heard mixed reviews, so we figured we would give it a chance.
The rooms are very simple, I think some of them are newer than others, our room was mediocre at best, consistent with a Motel 6.
We are fine to stay in a simple room, but the bed was so uncomfortable and did not smell clean, the old comforter I had to take off because I don't know when it was washed, which left a thin sheet to sleep with. I also kept my shoes on when walking on the carpeted floor.
The lobby has an overwhelming stench of mold, so I couldn't even bring myself to have coffee there in the morning.
The location isn't bad, an easy walk to town, but we won't stay here again. We moved to a B&B which was simple, same price range, but clean & spotless & I was much happier.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DNB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write concerning the issues that you had during your stay at the Beachside. I looked into the specifics of your rooms and stay and was very surprised that you did not let any of our staff know that you were having a problem...this is so that we can correct anything at the time., rather than waiting until later. Quite frankly., there has never been an issue regarding a "mold smell' in the lobby...We do wash the lobby floor every morning after continental breakfast has ended and it is possible that the cleaner used in that process was strong enough for our guests to smell during a walk through the lobby., but certainly not a "mold" smell. Our lobby was renovated in 2009 with new furniture, draperies and carpets and until your comments., all of our guests have enjoyed their leisure stays there reading and relaxing. All of our linens were purchased new this year., and are cleaned daily.
I am sorry that you feel that you will not return to the Beachside but please be assured that we take all comments constructively to improve on each and every issue to make our guests happy. I can always be reached through the front desk if you wish to discuss this matter further. Karen Keelan., Owner., The Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    54
    32
    19
    21
See reviews for
62
38
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had stayed here before, but the interior is tired, and a little worn on most rooms, they
had some issues even verifying our reservation but front desk did a nice job and offered us a discount on the room as we had to move once duirng our stay for the last night .

A nice walk to Jetties Beach and Town , and is convenient. We walked to see the Boston Pops on Jetties Beach a very fun experience!

It seemed that most guests had service problems and one person on the front desk was great, the rest were cluless, could not figure out the reservation system

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Your stay on Nantucket and at the Beachside on Pops Weekend at Jetties beach was on one of the best weekends in August!! I apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced due to our mistake on verifying your reservation...certainly., having to move rooms is not an experience that I want for any of our guests due to our mistakes. We are working on refining our reservation system..always a work in progress., but I hope that you will give the Beachside another chance next season. Our location., as you know, is so convenient to walking many places on the island and we want to make each guest's stay as happy as we can. I can always be reached through the Front desk and would be glad to discuss anything with you regarding your stay...just ask!! Thank you for your patronage and I hope to see you again in the future. Karen Keelan., Owner., the Beachside at Nantucket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

So looking forward forward to staying at this place which looks beautiful online, the hotel lobby, pool and building is lovely however our room wasnt, quite old, musty smelling , and the bathtub was GROSS..filthy and didnt drain, no stopper, I had to ask the desk and then remind them again it didnt drain, there were rust on the pipes of the toilet...and the bathroom needs painting to atleast make it look clean...
I was horrified when I went in there..the tub was fixed but still really dirty. the little circles in the tub that help you not to slip need to be replaced in room 246...I felt the room also had been made tidy and not cleaned...this place needs some work for sure...not horrible but the bathroom was gross...breakfast was great, staff very nice....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRHOakland_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
I appreciate your taking the time to voice your concerns and problems that you had during your stay at the Beachside. I looked into the specifics of your concern...the room that you had stayed in is indeed., one of our older rooms scheduled for updating..However., that is no excuse for lack of cleanliness or a bathtub drain that did not work. We are presently working on repairing all of the drains in each room and making each room in full working order. Being on an island presents many "moisture" challenges and thus., rust appears on pipes sooner than later...we have to do a better job in preventing that from happening.
I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the pool and lobby., as well as the beautiful island of Nantucket.and as you see., our staff this year is trying very hard to please our guests. I hope that you will reconsider us for a visit next season and I can always be reached through the front desk to address any of your concerns. I appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again. Karen Keelan., Owner., the Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

my boyfriend and i stayed here the first weekend in August and it was awesome! Its a short walk from downtown and a very close walk to Jetties beach but yet you are out of the bustle of the ferry traffic and of downtown. The pool was very clean with plenty of chairs to layout on and the lobby breakfast was perfect for a quick bite on the go. We had a fantastic trip and will be staying here next year. Also if you are looking for a good bike rental place Cooks Cycles was fantastic. The couple who run it are very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kac61284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
So very happy that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us at the Beachside...you are right., this time of year, it is very busy downtown and a little more difficult to get around...Some of our guests just like to enjoy our beautiful pool or walk down to Jettie's Beach which is right down the street...and avoid the traffic and crowds downtown. Still a beautiful time of year to visit and we hope to see you again!! Karen Keelan., Owner., The Beachside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This place is not the newest or cleanest and it definitely could use a renovation. However, it is nice enough, is reasonably priced, is very walkable to the downtown and has a nice pool. There is a beach and public tennis courts just down the street. It is also very walkable from the Ferry. You're going to spend enough in Nantucket on dining, you don't want to spend it on a room in which you will spend little time. In general, Nantucket is a very special place and the Beachside is a good practical choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HinghamPonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Beachside...You are correct in seeing that our hotel is over thirty five years old...and although we have gone through various renovations at certain times throughout the years., there is always room for improvement, especially being located on an island with tough winters!!! We are so fortunate to be located so close to the center of downtown, as well as just a twelve minute walk to nearby Jettie's Beach... Although the island has the most beautiful beaches., many of our guests prefer to laze away by our pool, which we take great pride in...We do offer various promotional rates this year which are very reasonably priced to benefit our guests. You are so right...Nantucket is a very special place and we are proud to be part of such a wonderful island!!! We hope to see you again at the Beachside....Karen Keelan., Owner., The Beachside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
4.7 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.5 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.9 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
9.9 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachside

Property: The Beachside
Address: 30 N Beach Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,838 - ₹ 40,445
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beachside 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachside Hotel Nantucket
Beachside Hotel Nantucket
Beachside Motel Nantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing