We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Inn with great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnacle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barnacle Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Inn with great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We take frequent overnight trips around New England from Boston. One of our favoirtes is going to the Barnacle Inn on Nantucket. The owners, Suzie and Phil are always friendly and helpful. We love the morning breakfast out in the garden/lawn area. It includes a tray filled with homemade baked goodiesand fresh fruit. The Inn reminds me of a favorite Aunts house filled with fresh flower sprigs in all the rooms with natural breezes blowing. Not fancy, but comfortable, a good value and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    20
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
36
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Barnacle Inn, run by Suzie and Phil, is a warm friendly place to stay in Nantucket. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The gardens outside, where you enjoy a delicious breakfast, are relaxing and tranquil. The location on Fair St. is just 1 street away from Main St. yet doesn't have the noise and traffic near by the B & B. The hosts greet you every day and make you feel at home. Each day's breakfast was delicious. You sit in the sun or shade of the garden and read a book or talk with other interesting guests. If you arrive by ferry you have a bit of walk to the Inn but it's a great place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psr707070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here while we were in town for the Nantucket Triathlon. The Inn is very close to downtone, yet is tucked into a side street so you feel like you are in a little oasis. Suzie and Phil are very accomodating and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The gave us some great recommendations for dining.The rooms are very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I felt like it was my home away from home, but better since I had someone to take care of everything I needed. Will definetly stay here the next time I am in Nantucket.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My friend and I are big in to road trips, and always love new destinations. We have been all over, but just had our first trip to Nantucket Island. Taking the Hi-speed ferry in was an incredible experience.. When we arrived at the Barnacle Inn, we knew instantly we were at the perfect place to relax and enjoy our time on nantucket. Our room was well made, and the air conditioner complemented the room very nicely. The front patio at the inn is absolutely gorgeous. The Barnacle Inn also serves a continental breakfast in the mornings, ANYWHERE on the property you would like to eat, so my friend and I had 3 amazing breakfasts out front, and we would plan our day while eating. The innkeepers Suzi and Phil are VERY easy going, down to earth, and provide unconditional hospitality. We had an amazing time on Nantucket and would recommend The Barnacle Inn to anyone who is looking for a comfortable place to stay while on the island. Awesome people, awesome location and an awesome experience!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smeigssss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We look forward to our annual July visit to Nantucket, Island and stay at The Barnacle Inn. Proprietors, Susie & Phil always offer us a warm welcome, we chat about our families and Vermont life. Their care and thoughtfulness extend easily to tidy, comfortable and cheerful rooms with all the necessary amenities for an island vacation. Home-baked cookies are always a no-miss, with fresh coffee, tea or cold water after a day at the beach, shopping or visiting with friends. Always accommodating, before heading for a day on the sand, Susie or Phil will phone a restaurant of our choice for a dinner reservation on our behalf, recommend a particular adventure or call after us, "phone the Inn if you get caught on your bikes in a rain storm!" The Barnacle Inn is our Nantucket home-away-from-home! Thanks for welcoming us home again this July, Susie & Phil. Justin & Emily Wrigley

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.6 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.4 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 km away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Inn

Property: Barnacle Inn
Address: 11 Fair St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,915 - ₹ 39,673
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barnacle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 15 room Inn in the heart of Nantucket. Individual rooms and suites available, ideal for large groups, families and weddings. Continental breakfast included, beach towels and chairs available for all guests and free parking provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Barnacle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing