We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Church of St. Clement of Christ”

Church of St. Clement of Ohrid
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 92.14*
and up
Transfer Skopje to Tirana with Half Day Tour of...
Ranked #11 of 73 things to do in Skopje
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 19 January 2018

An architecturally pleasing edifice in the center of Skopje. It blends in well with the surrounding environs despite being on a very busy street intersection.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"unusual design"
in 2 reviews
"biggest chandelier"
in 2 reviews
"holy water"
in 2 reviews
"modern style"
in 2 reviews
"bell tower"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"macedonia square"
in 2 reviews
"icons"
in 8 reviews
"architecture"
in 7 reviews
"orthodox"
in 4 reviews
"priest"
in 2 reviews
"christ"
in 2 reviews
"arches"
in 2 reviews
"grandeur"
in 2 reviews
"city"
in 8 reviews
"saint"
in 2 reviews
"striking"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017

nothing special but if you have more time you can visit this church it is in the center of the skopje

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank nomad4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

This modern church has a very traditional dome ceiling with beautiful fresco paintings. The mix of styles is more like a mashup but the result is quite interesting.

When we visited there was a traditional celebration for Saint Clement Ohridski - a Bulgarian saint - with crowds flocking to kiss the icons on display.

Priest would shower worshipers with holy water for a small consideration ... otherwise no cost for visit.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank NilsRump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

I first saw this church 12 years ago and was very impressed. Now when I return I have the same feeling that I am staring at a space ship. Although it has icons like an ortodox church, I do not feel it like one. It has nothing in common with orthodox, catholic nor muslim way of building churches. And the bell tower is also built in a strange modern style.
When I entered the church the audio sound system was swithched on and a lady was reading some sort of modern christian poem/letter explaining to God how much guilty she was.....no comment
I recommend the visit of this place. I cannot say how you will feel about it. I do not really feel it like a church. Rather a modern interpretation of Star wars in macedonian style.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank 353deyanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This is a very beautiful church inside and outside. Unusual design outside. Holy water fountain close to the entrance.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 29,03,000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of St. Clement of Ohrid also viewed

 
Skopje, Skopje Region
Skopje, Skopje Region
 

Been to Church of St. Clement of Ohrid? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing