We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far the best B&B we have ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purple Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purple Gables
Ranked #6 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By far the best B&B we have ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Where do I begin? Lynda is so warm and inviting, the accomodations were wonderful, very spacious and clean, breakfast was delightful! Lynda had crackers and cheese waiting for us upon our arrival- delicious! She really pays attention to every little detail to make your stay special- I must have mentioned that my husband and I were coming for an overnight stay to celebrate my brithday when I spoke with her on the phone. Upon arrival, she presented a cake from a local bakery for my birthday-- SO thoughtful! I would stay here again without a second thought and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is traveling through the Amherst area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We spent the night at Lynda's Purple Gable Inn and had a very relaxing time. The pristine suite in lovely pastel colors is attached to her kitchen. She greeted us in the driveway and had a small platter of cheese and crackers in our room upon arrival. The fridge had some cool water and several bottles of sparkling soda. She offered two excellent suggestions for lunch and dinner and we enjoyed both meals. Her breakfast the next morning was delightful: fresh fruit cups in beautiful green glass cups and herbed eggs with toast and a corn confection. Heated maple syrup and yogurt with granola. She is welcoming and interesting hostess and had great insights into several museums and the process of touring colleges.

Room Tip: There is only one suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgraham200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,611 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Even though we made a last-minute booking, we received the full complement of Lynda’s hospitality – she greeted us in the driveway, she had a plate of cheese and crackers awaiting us, the cheerful suite was spotless and welcoming, and we were treated to one of her fabulous gourmet breakfasts the next morning.

The attractive, colorful suite (we loved the paint choices) is very spacious, with 2 separate sleeping areas, a living area, a breakfast nook, and a roomy bathroom. There’s a huge closet, too, with lots of hangers. Lynda has stocked the small refrigerator with drinks and yogurt, and also provides a variety of teas, cocoa, nuts, candies, and cookies for snacking. There is a TV, DVD player (and a small selection of movies), and wi-fi. The suite is accessed by its own private entrance, and a separate door leads to a sitting area in the pretty backyard garden. The bed is extremely comfortable, and there is no bothersome street noise. The location is perfect – an easy walk into town, with its multitude of restaurants.

Breakfast was plentiful, and excellent. We had our choice of 3 juices; a fresh fruit salad; homemade granola; maple yogurt; custard corn bread with maple syrup (intriguing and delicious); herbed baked eggs; and sourdough toast with homemade spreads. Unlike most B&B’s, Lynda brings the breakfast to the suite, which was cool.

As great as the breakfast was, we enjoyed our conversation with Lynda after breakfast just as much. Lynda has the type of personality that makes you feel as if you’ve known her your whole life – she’s friendly, funny, down-to-earth, and very comfortable to be with. It’s obvious that she really enjoys what she’s doing. She’s happy to give eating and touring suggestions, too – we loved the tea rolls we had at Fresh Side Restaurant, which Lynda recommended when we said we’d like a light dinner.

Purple Gables has everything you could ask for.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank VOYJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

After a treacherous winter journey, we were greeted so warmly by Lynda, the owner and hostess, and immediately comforted with a snack and recommendations for dinner. The apartment is truly lovely and is perfect for parents and a teenager making the college tour. Very comfortable beds and linens, a large and toasty bathroom, light-filled sitting and dining area. And--the best breakfast you could ever imagine! We felt very lucky to have stayed at the Purple Gables and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kinglett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

The Purple Gables was the perfect beginning for our New England vacation this last summer. We flew into Boston and drove to Amherst. Linda, the owner, greeted us at the door, and showed us our suite, which was just what we needed. The suite has its own entry, as well as a door leading to the rear garden area. The bed was very comfortable, and the large bath spotless. There was a small refrigerator with drinks and also snacks for the taking. In the morning Linda prepared a lovely gourmet breakfast, which is served in the in-suite dining / lounge area, and provided some great conversation. The inn is just a short walk into downtown Amherst. We highly recommend this quiet, comfortable, convenient and clean lodging. If you are anywhere near Amherst, make sure you stay at the Purple Gables. Thank you again Linda.

Best Regards,

Margaret & Jay
Tarzana, CA

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travlersfrom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.2 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.7 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Gables? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Gables

Property: Purple Gables
Address: 232 E Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1507
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,112
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, elegant, no-smoking suite in historic home. Walk to town, UMass and Amherst College. Sunny large suite with private porch entrance, dining area, sitting room, queen bed, second private bedroom, garden, patio. Gourmet breakfast served in your suite. Amenities include WIFI, TV, DVD, fridge with snacks, microwave, bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing