We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Suite, Food, Location, Owner”
Review of Purple Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purple Gables
Ranked #6 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Scarborough, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,675 helpful votes
“Great Suite, Food, Location, Owner”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Even though we made a last-minute booking, we received the full complement of Lynda’s hospitality – she greeted us in the driveway, she had a plate of cheese and crackers awaiting us, the cheerful suite was spotless and welcoming, and we were treated to one of her fabulous gourmet breakfasts the next morning.

The attractive, colorful suite (we loved the paint choices) is very spacious, with 2 separate sleeping areas, a living area, a breakfast nook, and a roomy bathroom. There’s a huge closet, too, with lots of hangers. Lynda has stocked the small refrigerator with drinks and yogurt, and also provides a variety of teas, cocoa, nuts, candies, and cookies for snacking. There is a TV, DVD player (and a small selection of movies), and wi-fi. The suite is accessed by its own private entrance, and a separate door leads to a sitting area in the pretty backyard garden. The bed is extremely comfortable, and there is no bothersome street noise. The location is perfect – an easy walk into town, with its multitude of restaurants.

Breakfast was plentiful, and excellent. We had our choice of 3 juices; a fresh fruit salad; homemade granola; maple yogurt; custard corn bread with maple syrup (intriguing and delicious); herbed baked eggs; and sourdough toast with homemade spreads. Unlike most B&B’s, Lynda brings the breakfast to the suite, which was cool.

As great as the breakfast was, we enjoyed our conversation with Lynda after breakfast just as much. Lynda has the type of personality that makes you feel as if you’ve known her your whole life – she’s friendly, funny, down-to-earth, and very comfortable to be with. It’s obvious that she really enjoys what she’s doing. She’s happy to give eating and touring suggestions, too – we loved the tea rolls we had at Fresh Side Restaurant, which Lynda recommended when we said we’d like a light dinner.

Purple Gables has everything you could ask for.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank VOYJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
14
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

After a treacherous winter journey, we were greeted so warmly by Lynda, the owner and hostess, and immediately comforted with a snack and recommendations for dinner. The apartment is truly lovely and is perfect for parents and a teenager making the college tour. Very comfortable beds and linens, a large and toasty bathroom, light-filled sitting and dining area. And--the best breakfast you could ever imagine! We felt very lucky to have stayed at the Purple Gables and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kinglett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

The Purple Gables was the perfect beginning for our New England vacation this last summer. We flew into Boston and drove to Amherst. Linda, the owner, greeted us at the door, and showed us our suite, which was just what we needed. The suite has its own entry, as well as a door leading to the rear garden area. The bed was very comfortable, and the large bath spotless. There was a small refrigerator with drinks and also snacks for the taking. In the morning Linda prepared a lovely gourmet breakfast, which is served in the in-suite dining / lounge area, and provided some great conversation. The inn is just a short walk into downtown Amherst. We highly recommend this quiet, comfortable, convenient and clean lodging. If you are anywhere near Amherst, make sure you stay at the Purple Gables. Thank you again Linda.

Best Regards,

Margaret & Jay
Tarzana, CA

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travlersfrom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Linda, the owner, does and did everything and more than anyone could expect from an owner. The breakfasts were of gourmet quality and the advice about the town helpful and caring. She is also a very interesting conversationalist and made our Amherst experience a true delight. Don't miss seeing the Eric Carle Museum, a short drive from the B&B.
Make this place your home away from home; because that is how we felt.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The suite at Purple Gables is furnished tastefully and has all the amenities - and more - that one could wish for including a variety of snacks and beverages. The charming, roomy suite has a large bathroom, walk-in closet, separate entrance and access to the back yard. Linda was a most welcoming and helpful hostess and her breakfast was superb. The location within walking distance of downtown Amherst was perfect for us. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiandPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
3.2 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
12.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Gables? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Gables

Property: Purple Gables
Address: 232 E Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1507
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,873
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, elegant, no-smoking suite in historic home. Walk to town, UMass and Amherst College. Sunny large suite with private porch entrance, dining area, sitting room, queen bed, second private bedroom, garden, patio. Gourmet breakfast served in your suite. Amenities include WIFI, TV, DVD, fridge with snacks, microwave, bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing