We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“fun for pre-school/elem kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake

Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake
Ranked #4 of 30 Tours in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake is a unique, unforgettable experience for your child aboard a pirate ship in the Annapolis Harbor. You will be amazed as we tap into your child's imagination and transform him or her into a pirate, complete with face paint, tattoos, and pirate fashions. Time aboard our ship is filled with non-stop activity, including reading a treasure map, hauling loot aboard, and, of course, defending the ship with our famous water cannons.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun for pre-school/elem kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

great, fun experience for kids. they let kids be kids. High adventure on the beautiful Chesapeake Bay. Very safe. kids loved it. Worth the $$.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank sm1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best kids experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

So much fun for kids and WELL worth the money. The staff are incredible with the kids and really get into their roles. They were also great at engaging all the kids, including the more withdrawn ones. It's all my 3 year old has talked about since going yesterday.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-for-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best family adventure we've done!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were invited on this pirate adventure by our friends who have a 4 year old. We have a 3 year old and 1 year old. We were not sure what to expect and I just thought it was a nice boat ride with pirate characters. WRONG! It was fully loaded interactive adventure for the kids!!! I seriously have never seen anything like this.

First of all, get there early as they suggest. Our 3 and 4 year old friends enjoyed dressing up, getting their faces painted, and getting arm/leg "tattoos". Then, this wonderful guide (they called her goldie locks), who is a kindergarten teacher during the week, worked magic with these kids! She had them all involved in taking over the ship (boarding), finding maps, spraying bad pirates, finding a hidden treasure and even drinking special pirate juice. The kids went through this entire expedience together with goldie locks. The parents just sat back and watched. It was a BLAST!

I would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone with kids from 3-7 years old. There were a lot of 3-5 year olds on our boat...and babies in arms, including our 1 year old. It's still so much fun even if the littlest ones don't participate.

We'll be back...oh, and my son is still acting like a pirate 24 hours later and telling everyone about Pirate Pete and his adventures. SO FUN!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mylestraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for kids and adults!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We did the Pirate cruise yesterday for mother's day. First, mothers were free, which was really nice. All the kids had such a fun time. The staff are really good with the kids and really into their roles. The kids got vests and sashes (which we returned) before the ship set sail. We also bought a bandana and sword ($5 each) from their gift shop. Then we got on the boat and the fun began. The kids were really engaged and especially loved shooting Pirate Pete with the water cannons. As parents it was nice to watch the kids have so much fun, and every once in a while enjoy being out on the water. Tickets are $20 a piece for a 1 hour boat trip. Totally worth it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dctoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What fun for All Ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Although we never got to sail with the crew, we were staying aboard a sailboat to peirs away from the Pirate Adventure and could watch the pirate fun daily. We watched as they helped the children of all ages dress up & put on pirate makeup out on the festive sandy yard in front of their decorated 'pirate house'. They taught them how to yell like a pirate, as well as take orders and be good shipmates. The pirate ship was specially designed to be parent and child friendly. We could see that the company owners really enjoy what they do to help kids have a fun but safe pirate adventure. Did I mention that they are located on beautiful Chesapeake with a view of Annapolis?

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMRHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake also viewed

 

Been to Pirate Adventures on the Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing