We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
288 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I love staying at Marriott's residence inn's but to be honest this wasn't my favorite Res. Inn experience. I can understand why people choose to stay here to be near the college or for business but for a vacation I think there are probably better options. There really isn't anything to do or see in or around Auburn and Lewiston. We stayed here because we wanted to stay in a quiet hotel away from the city. Well this location is anything but quiet. It is located very close to a very busy road and from early morning until 10pm you hear constant traffic noise and many many loud motorcycles with LOUD mufflers. I am not kidding. If you don't like continual loud motorcycles then stay elsewhere. It was not to be believed. The only good thing was that usually by 11pm the traffic died down. The hotel was fairly quiet at night except for one saturday night. A very loud group was partying in their car in the parking lot right under my window for 1 hour. I had to call the front desk. The management did take care of the problem within 10 minutes. The hotel was clean and the housekeeping staff was pretty good. Some of the staff is not very friendly. One man was pretty nasty to my husband at breakfast twice. The breakfast isn't as good as other res. inn's that I have been to. No fresh fruit, limited cereal selection. Nacho night looked pretty skimpy too. A wilted salad with a few nachos and cheese. There is a tiny mall across the street which looked empty. There is a wal-mart and a kohl's right down the road and many restaurants which include a steakhouse, ruby tuesday, fridays and buffalo wild wings. There is also a place called Heidi's brooklyn deli. I would recommend this place. They make fresh sandwiches, salads, and wraps to order. They have breakfast and great desserts. If you stay here and you want to see beautiful places in Maine you have to drive pretty far. There is a nice Lake which is close by so if you are coming here to use the lake I guess you would be happy. I chose this hotel because of the great reviews on trip advisor. Sorry to say that I can't give it more than an average rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank napagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    70
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
110
45
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Booked this room at a super rate through Priceline and was worried it would live up to "discount" quality......I was so wrong! Beautiful accommodations, wonderful lobby area, nice pool and whirlpool - I could go on and on. Nicest Residence Inn I have ever stayed in and overall I couldn't be more impressed with the value!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nursemomtothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here over Presidents Weekend and Thanksgiving last year. This past stay was our 5th time at his property. Always an awesome stay. Top notch management, spotless and great breakfast to start your day. This is the cream of the crop of Marriott franchises!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadySith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a relatively new hotel and the rooms and facilities are very nice. There is a good sized indoor pool, whirpool, a tennis court and basketball hoop combo, a patio area, a BBQ etc. There is a wonderful breakfast buffet included in the room price. There were hot and cold options and a good variety. You could choose healthy options including hard boiled eggs, yogourt, hot and cold cereals, fruit, etc. They also had waffles, french toast, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, red potatoes etc. On Sunday they had biscuits and grits. The biscuits were great. All the rooms are suites. We had a full-sized fridge and microwave, two burners, dishwasher, toaster, 12-cup coffee maker, dishes, glasses, pots, cutting board, utensils etc.... all equipped and better than most we have been at. The staff are friendly. We asked for directions from the front desk and people were pleasant. The instructions were not 100% crisp though.... it is easier for them as locals to know where they are going and some of the instructions were not enough to help us see we would be getting to a fork in the road or a choice that needed to be made quickly on the highway etc. The hotel is in a good location....within walking distance of a nice super Wal-Mart... so if you wanted to get produce, meat, fish etc to use the kitchen in your suite, it is easy to do. Across the street are a few restaurants such as Ruby Tuesdays... so you do not need to move your car if you want to eat in a restaurant. One thing we noticed that was sad was the hotel was not full, and the restaurants and stores in the area were pretty empty (with the exception of Wal-Mart which was always busy). Times must be tough in this area. If you want to try a finer restaurant, Fish Bones in the Bates Mills complex was very nice. Ruby Tuesdays across from the hotel was offering 25% off the meal coupons.... we suggested they bring them to the hotel so that people checking in would know from the start they could get a discount. On the whole, I would recommend this hotel. If you are bringing a child to Bates college etc... this is a good location.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and far from the elevators... right near the stairwell... and we loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cohenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinecrest, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

On the first night of a three night college tour of Maine, we arrived at midnight after driving in from Logan Airport, Boston. Tired, a bit cranky and not looking forward to an early morning wake up call to begin the college tour, we were greeted by Patrick at the front desk who could not have been nicer or more accommodating upon our late night arrival. I asked to confirm the AAA rate and then he inquired about the nature of our business in the L-A area. I said we were visiting Bates College and then he said he could give us the Bates rate which was substantially less than the AAA rate. What a terrific way to start a hotel stay! When making the reservation online I included a note that we would be arriving late and would like the sofa bed already made up and ready for our daughter to sleep. When we saw that this request was met and that there were extra feather pillows as requested, I decided that I would have to write a TripAdvisor review. I was impressed--someone actually read and complied with the "special requests" on the reservation! Additionally, the suite was so clean I would swear that we were the first guests to stay in it. Finally, when we went down for breakfast in the morning, my husband even commented that he had never seen the variety of breakfast items, both hot and cold, available at a "breakfast included" hotel. The staff person was busy keeping every item fresh and replenished. Unfortunately our plans only included one night at this hotel. I wish we had planned to stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randibrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
6.3 km away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.3 km away
Center Street Value Inn
16.7 km away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Address: 670 Turner Street, Auburn, ME 04210
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,628 - ₹ 15,320
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn, in Auburn, ME, is a 100-suite hotel offering all-suite accommodations ranging from studios to 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom suites. Our Auburn extended-stay hotel's specialty is hosting business and leisure travelers for long-term stays, but we are perfect for short visits to Auburn. All stays include complimentary breakfast buffet courtesy of our Gate House. Also, we invite you to enjoy a complimentary dinner available on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. Our indoor pool area is open daily from 6am to 11pm. An outdoor barbecue and fire pit are also available. Meeting space on the property if perfect if you're thinking of having a meeting or a social gathering. Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn is surrounded by local shopping and restaurants... many within walking distance. When you're considering a stay in the Lewiston/Auburn area... think of Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing