We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only HI I've been this disappointed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only HI I've been this disappointed in...”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

While in my hometown (of all places), we had to stay at a hotel so naturally we chose a Holiday Inn. It's our first choice when traveling. This hotel was horrible. It was not updated and the customer service was horrible. After the front desk staff finished visiting with the 10 or so friends who were hanging around, eating cookies, and smoking, she checked us in. The beds were not of usual HI quality, half the parking lot was roped off which made us have to carry our bags a great distance in the rain (another hotel guest didn't have access to any handicapped spaces so we helped him as well), the interior was not clean....it was a mess. This is a fairly new structure I believe, so I was a little surprised at its condition. I was going to speak to a manager upon our departure but no-one was available. We will NEVER stay at this Holiday Inn again; but we have had at least a hundred GOOD stays at Holiday Inns nationwide, so it still remains our favorite chain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanni30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    26
    14
    18
See reviews for
25
21
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I'm a Marriott customer by and large, but HI has really cleaned up nice over the last few years. So I use the chain as my fallback property when my primary chain isn't available.

Lots of parking, pool too.

Nice clean rooms.

Free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Front desk person was not a bit friendly, most places I stay I'm immediately welcomed as a platnum or elite member of there chain. I was not acknowledged as such a member. The rate I was given was not affected after asking about a AAA or ARRP discount. The rate I thought was about $30 to $40 more than I expected to pay considering the location and the town. There was also going to be a guest reception in the lounge. The reception consisted of bud light poured from a rubber maid pitcher and a few soft drinks and some pretzels in a bowl on the tables. Again not what I expected or experienced in past stays with HIE. The final straw that broke the camel's back was the roache I killed in the bathroom-see picture. I would avoid this hotel until further notice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digger-ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

After a visit to Rosedown Plantation (great) north of Baton Rouge we chose Alexandria as a one night stop on our turn north from our southern tour. I saw a billboard for this HIE took the exit and frontage road and located without a problem. Priority Club check in was a breeze. The room met our expectations clean, spacious etc. The only restaurant options without getting back on the freeway (not convenient) were three on the frontage road. On a Sunday night only one was open and was mediocre at best. At breakfast we encountered for the first time in all of the hotels we have stayed a make your own pancakes machine. Of course we had to try it and the results were actually pretty good. Other than that the breakfast options were standard HIE. The room rate at this hotel was the highest of the nine that we stayed at on this trip. About 25% above what we normally see at HIE. Next stop Hot Springs AR.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaandGary062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We had a recent death in our family and we made last min reservations at the HEI Alexandra La. on our way to Fl. Because I have stayed at this hotel in the recent past for several days, I decided to book the Holiday Inn Express again. We booked a non-smoking two bed room for Jan 26 late arrival. When we checked in we were told all they had was a smoking king room. I wish they would have disclosed this when I made the reservation. My wife is allergic to smoke and she has suffered for three days after departing. Holiday Inn Express is one of the most expensive motels in Alexandra La. and should be more up front with its guest when reservations are made if they can not provide what is requested. I travel a lot on business to Ft. Polk and stay in Alexandra and the last 2 trips at the HIE. In Aug I paid $98.00 + tax and now I paid $139 + tax. I made an attempt to contact Mgt to express my frustration and was told the she was busy and could not take my call… Great customer relations skills.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lddiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
5.2 km away
Comfort Suites Alexandria
Comfort Suites Alexandria
#4 of 24 in Alexandria
334 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Alexandria Downtown
0.3 km away
Best Western Of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria
Candlewood Suites Alexandria
#12 of 24 in Alexandria
42 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
7.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
Address: 2340 N Macarthur Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303-4219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,299 - ₹ 12,595
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria LA Hotel Near Popular Attractions and Businesses You will enjoy a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Alexandria, Louisiana, conveniently located three miles from Alexandria International Airport (AEX). Lodging at our Alexandria Airport hotel puts you in close proximity to local Louisiana attractions and businesses. The whole family will love staying at our Alexandria Holiday Inn Express which is just three miles from the Alexandria Zoo. After visiting more than 600 animals, immerse yourself in the beautiful, local works permanently exhibited at the Alexandria Museum of Art. Those who enjoy the outdoors can spend time, three miles from this Alexandria hotel, at the Kisatchie National Forest. Are you in town on business? Don't settle for just any hotel in Alexandria when you can lodge at our hotel, conveniently located near Rapides Regional Medical Center, Union Tank, St Francis Cabrini Hospital and Proctor & Gamble. Also, our Alexandria Airport hotel offers 650 square feet of meeting space, so you can host on-site meetings. We also provide copying, faxing, and printing services. Our Alexandria Airport hotel cares for you by offering free high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. You can unwind in the Fitness Center or swim in the outdoor pool, and enjoy a good night's rest in our triple-sheeted beds. Call today for our Alexandria hotel's rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing