We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and food”

Avatar Indian Cuisine
Ranked #31 of 1,284 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 19
Description: We are an upscale Indian restaurant serving north Indian CUISINE
Restaurant details
Description: We are an upscale Indian restaurant serving north Indian CUISINE
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

The food was amazing. Indian taste so far away from India. Hospitality and ambiance was wonderful. Kids enjoyed it.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank AnujS676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2016

We frequented this restaurant on a couple of occasions during our visit to Panama City. We especially enjoyed the Avatar Special ($14) and the Aloo Tikki appetizer ($5). This restaurant was within walking distance of the Best Western Zen Hotel where we stayed during our visit. We would definitely eat here again next time we are in Panama City.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This is not only the best Indian restaurant in Panama, I think it is one of the best in the Americas, rivaling those found in NYC and Toronto. The staff is friendly and many speak English. Everything we ate, from the veggie samosas and chicken pakora for starters to the murgh murkhani (a delicious mild blend of tender boneless chicken, clarified butter, tomatoes and cinnamon) and dosa (get the potato version) was prepared perfectly. I had two beer and my companion had 2 wines. The total bill for everything was less than $70 and we ate a lot. Don't miss this experience right on the outskirts of El Congrejo in the Via Argentina. P.S. The prices were incredibly reasonable! Oh wait, I think I already said that. LOL!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Trying to keep it meat free, a friend was craving and recommended Indian food. Avatar was a pleasant surprise!

It is located in Via Argentina, the old neighborhood of El Cangrejo, in the middle of everything.

We ordered chick peas and lentils sides, which I found a bit too spicy, but the potatoes and cauliflower were a winner. Not too crazy about the lentil bread but the naan was outstanding! Last but not least, my favorite was the (green) curry fish.

Yes, I do recommend it.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank LittleRockStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Having arrived in Panama City on a Wednesday afternoon, went looking for lunch. After a couple of blocks found Avatar Indian Cuisine and so glad we did. Butter Chicken very good, excellent Naan, Chat Papri. Great service on the terrace.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avatar Indian Cuisine also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Avatar Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing