We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS + poor customer service = The worst hotel in Panama City” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel el Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel el Parador
Ranked #100 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BED BUGS + poor customer service = The worst hotel in Panama City”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

This place needs to be shutdown.

- the pool: it's small, dirty and poorly constructed. the contractors must have been really lazy w/ mosaics uneven and cracked. the area around the pool was an eyesore with only a few long pool chairs on their dirty tiled ground. flimsy railing to surround the whole area.

- the service: nonexistent. first time i called the front desk i asked for towels since they left us with only one that was till wet and left from the previous occupant. the voice on the other end of the phone sounded agitated and annoyed and blurted something in spanish and hung up without any apologies for their negligence or when i should expect these new clean towels. the second time i called i had to call for the tv remote that was not in the room. i am not sure why it wasn't in the room to begin with but the person on the phone was curt and rude and after saying "one moment" she hung up the phone. then the bell boy barged in with five different remotes to figure out which one it was then left. again minimal conversation and no sense of hospitality.

- the room: the space is tight but manageable. the floors did not look clean at all. the hangers are wire hangers. the wall around the attached AC unit was water damaged. the bathroom had mold and had poor ventilation. the pillows were filled with cheap and lumpy cotton stuffing.

- BED BUGS: i left that place with over 150 bed bug bites. it was disgusting and it looked like i had been eaten alive. you knew they were bed bugs from the way they had bitten multiple times in one spot and later inflamed with a white top and itched like crazy. of course i was furious that next morning and packed all our stuff to check out. when i mentioned it to the front desk one guy gave us a blank stare and asked "you guys are checked out right?" as if it wasn't his problem anymore and this other lady comes around to come up with reasons why it must've been our fault and that it could've been mosquito's or bugs from food... lady - it was bed bugs. from the looks of this place there is no doubt that it would be infested with bed bugs and from the looks of the shape and size and quantity of bites, i'm sure they weren't merely fruit flies of some sort. the whole time i explained to them the predicament, they gave blank stares and tried to blame us and make up excuses. this place is a dump and lacks cleanliness and professionalism, not to mention the walls are thin and you could hear people down the hall in another room.

the only good thing about this place is that there was one petite, young waitress that worked the breakfast shift that worked hard and did her best to accommodate us.

DO NOT EVER STAY HERE.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdf710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    41
    68
    21
    35
See reviews for
38
59
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uppsala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

We had changed our mind after having seen a hotel in the neighbourhood, big mistake. This hotel had a non existing service, personnel at the reception desk did not even say hello, good bye, thanks.. normal forms... This hotel has not understood that their business is: hospitality. If you don´t want to make your Panama city hotel a frustrating experience, I would not go there. The rooms smell humid. You can find much much better in Panama city in the 60-90$ range in Panama city with friendly and well educated personnel. Some additional annecdotes see below:
1) we had given our landry twice to the reception, it came back in the evening with the notice, "oh, the laundry didn't work today", no excuse or suggestion how to solve our dirty laundry problem...
2) Going to Kuna Yala Islands, we had taken all our luggage, big mistake, you're only allowed to take a small back-pack. Our driver was very friendly and said, no problem, I can take your suitcases back to Hotel Parador. When he arrived there, they not only said that they don't keep luggage but in addition made fun of the by the way very smart driver, he was very frustrated by this behavior himself...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knight00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Location and the price was good for our trip. Hotel El Parador is located in the El Congrejo neighborhood of Panama City. It's within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and casinos.

Our room: Very basic, one double bed, US $65 per night, AC, hot water, cable TV, wifi internet. We didn't spend that much time in our room or the hotel. We spend the days and nights site seeing Panama City. Basically the room/hotel was there to sleep in, shower, change clothes, etc. No frills.

Complimentary breakfast consisted of eggs, toast, coffee and juice. We had lunch once in the restaurant. Chicken sandwich was ... okay. Three stars out of five.

Rooftop pool was great and the view is wonderful. Armed guard at the entrance made me feel secure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cesarpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

just came back from panama city july 8--july 12, stayed at the parador $65 per evening with breakfeast of eggs toast and panamanian orange juice---hotel front desk spoke english well--armed security in front at all times, dont be afraid to ask front desk to let you see 2 or three rooms upon check in--before you make your decision. the rooms are basic with no in room safe or iron available resturant on site open from 7am to midnite--with decent food--rooftop pool overlook's panama city---beware this hotel allows guests which is great for the young single man such as my self---so if you have a family you might wanna spend and extra 10 dollors a eveing try the sevilla apt hotel up the block as no guests but those who checked in are allowed. this hotel is is a great location--the huge and popular venneto casino is walking distance every place else in panama city was a 3 to 5 dollor taxi ride away---MEN BE ADVISED!! alway's walk with your passport and NEVERRRRRRRR drink alcohol in the street---it's illiegal---the police will stop you...and try to extort money from you---with threats of jail for the eveing!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moetseandawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

It's not the world's best hotel, but for the price it's fine. A cheapish hotel with a great location. The staff only seem to speak Spanish, so take your phrasebook.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#56 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#55 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 km away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#59 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
La Cresta Inn
La Cresta Inn
#93 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 km away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.9 km away
Tower House Suites
Tower House Suites
#90 of 116 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Parador? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Parador

Property: Hotel el Parador
Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,948 - ₹ 3,799
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Parador 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel el Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Parador Hotel
Hotel El Parador Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing