We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 114
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 177
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard by Marriott Panama at Metromall Mall(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 94
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Panama at Multiplaza Mall(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$ 125
US$ 120
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Panama(Panama City)
US$ 127
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
US$ 177
US$ 168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Panama(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
US$ 53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Torres de Alba(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Panama City(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
US$ 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
14
18
6
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
18
6
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Due to its nearly ideal location, this could have been a great place to stay, but it wasn't. I stayed there around 10 times, and it just kept slipping. Poorly managed, it just was never right. On arrival, no towels. The internet wifi always struggled, and was frustrating. The equipement was never repaired, and the excuses and lies were constant. It seems to have changed owners, and is now called Alpha something or other. I hope they get this place running right.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel or get a room on the second floor to get poor wifi otherwise you get none
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We got here late at night, (they did set up a shuttle from the airport) and when we got there we found out that our rooms that we had reserved and they had a credit card number for were not available for us. We had requested a 2 bedroom suite so my husband and I and my 3 kids could be together. Well the best they could do for us was 2 separate rooms on the same floor. Then they wanted to charge us about 50% more because 2 separate rooms cost more than the 1 room with the 2 bedroom suite. We thought it was a language barrier issue, until my sister who speaks Spanish fluently tried to work things out and failed. Only after my brother in law who is native Panamanian talked to them would they not charge us extra for an inferior room.

The rooms were not great, only one towel and random amounts of dishes in each room. That would have been fine had we actually gotten the room we requested.

The next morning we checked out and moved to Novotel. We had the same situation 2 rooms on the same floor, but for the same price we were in a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Karalee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I stayed in several different apartments over a period of two months.
Overall the whole looks as though it could urgently do with some renovating work.
The windows don't close properly and allow the water to drip inside. All the bedrooms has a power socket underneath the window for some reason but neither could be used due to humidity problems. All the apartments had humidity in the walls and/or ceiling.
Not all the apartments have windows.
The kitchen is OK but you must request everything from reception as it usually empty. When it's not empty, the dishes are usually dirty and the cleaner didn't bother to clean them before another guest moved in. It has a fridge as well.
The bed linen is stained and pillows don't have a case - unless you request it.
As for the complementary toiletries.... well sometimes you get them, sometimes you don't. You are unlikely to get shampoo but they ocasionally they leave soap and body lotion (assume this is cheaper). The shower has hot water though.
The people from reception were nice but expect people to walk into your "dwellings" unannounced, i.e., the lock doesn't actually lock anything (don't expect an appology either, it won't happen)! Also, the keys used are old, i.e. you can expect several trips up and down to reception due to that reason.
The elevator does not work properly. The door will hold open for 15 seconds after which it will close, regardless of you or anybody being in the middle as it does not have motion sensors.
Apartments on the 3rd floor look a lot worse for wear than those on the 2nd floor.
Cleaning staff regularly leave bags with trash in the small hallway by the elevator. Unfortunately it is also where they put bags with the clean sheets and towels.
On the 3rd floor I saw dozens of cockroaches in one of the apartments. Ended up having to move- only to have the manager walk into my new apartment as he didn't know there was anybody in there - made me laugh as he said he was checking everything was OK for guest coming - and didn't even appologise.
It has 6 parking spaces but all are ON the street, in front of the hotel. Most of the times they are being used by other people so expect to park elsewhere.
Staff are not proactive - probably due to being underpaid- and have no problems discussing how s*** their wages are in front of guest. This resulted in me pointing at a cockroach in the elevator, after having to move due them, only for the member of staff to just leave it there and shrug it off.
People who work in this place don't really care and it shows. Because I stayed on different times and realized people only work here briefly due to poor wages, so don't take much pride in their work.
The main plus is its location. A few metres away from a supermarket open 24h/7 and next to Via Espana with three subway stops to choose from- El Carmen being the closest. Plenty of taxies outside.
Prices have gone through the roof in PTY so having a kitchen is a really good thing that allows you to save some money. There are not many affordable places with a kitchen in central PTY to choose from. Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and this is one of those cases.

Room Tip: Ask for a place with a window on the second floor
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lola_trotamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Panama Studio Apartments is a nice place, not expensive at all. Its in a perfect location, everything is within walking distance- across the street is a Casino, restaurants everywhere- Grocery store is a 5 minute walk- bars and clubs everywhere.The staff was very polite and helpful- they spoke little english but they still managed to meet my needs- the rooms are huge, there is a kitchen, couch, chairs, and a fridge and microwave - its pretty quiet place, and it was perfect place to retreat back to, after you spent the whole day exploring. i would recommend this Hotel to anyone, who loves to save and who loves to walk to different attractions- surely you will save money and would never need a Taxi- i stayed a week and i didn't use the taxi at all. they have airport pickup, but it must be arranged prior to your arrival- the cost is $35 per trip, not per person- so once again, you save money this way- not a 5 star hotel but its a great place to relax

Room Tip: room 208 was excellent- do not get room 419 , there was ants and the window is not fully closed
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank harrydapoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

I recommend this hotel. They come everyday to cleanup and make your bed. It is quiet, so you can get a goodnight sleep. Location is excellent, nice area to subway and buses. The staff at Panama Studio Apartments, were very courteous and helpful to any questions!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonmrt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews