We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, poor location for vacationer”
Review of Hotel Roma Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Roma Plaza
Ranked #85 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Atascadero, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Average hotel, poor location for vacationer”
Reviewed 17 April 2009

This is an average hotel. Rooms are small, but clean. TV was extraordinarily small. Elevator was European type-very small. Situated in the middle of Panama City. It is far from the airport and difficult to find for any foreign traveler with a rental vehicle. This is a place where you are totally dependent on taxi service. Pluses are good buffet breakfast included in price and secure parking for vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    50
    44
    19
    32
See reviews for
41
52
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I read several bad reviews about this hotel, but I took the chance and stayed last week, on 2 ocassions, the first room we got was in the middle of the hotel, with no windows, but it was quiet, the AC was either too cold or too hot so we decided to leave it on and after dinner turn it off, that worked. We took one queen bed and the result was a very tiny room. The second room we got we took double beds and had a window that faced the main avenue, the room was bigger but too noisy as the avenue has a lot of traffic. The complementary breakfast was OK, scrambled eggs, sausages, and some time a meat stew. As well cereal, milk, coffee and a sort of different box juices, (apple, pear, orange and Maracuya). Overall this hotel is not as expensive as others we look into and has the basic needs to have a comfortable sleep after a day exploring this city.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patadperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Our room had no window. The air conditioner was extremely noisy and it continued to make a noise also after cutting off the power (I know it seems impossible!). So we could not sleep at all. Moreover the area is ugly and the price is much higher than all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Troy, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

I have some major issues with this place. Our first night was in a room with NO windows, a little creepy, and I would have liked being made aware of this before opening the curtain. They have these wall-mounted roomkey holders that enable the electricity for the AC and lights, also not made aware until I called downstairs. They only provide one key, I guess so you can't leave things on, so we had to do everything and go everywhere together. Their website indicates complimentary airport shuttle service, but we had to pay $21.00 for pickup and they wouldn't even provide dropoff because it was a holiday, so we paid another $20-25.00 for a taxi. They also advertise a rooftop pool. Unfortunately, it faces the slum neighborhood 2 blocks away instead of the downtown high-rises, and they also don't seem to realize that pools require filtration. I could barely see the bottom in the 3-foot deep end. The slum 2-3 blocks away is apparently life-threatening enough that the police escorted fellow guests out of there by car. There were hookers peddling within a block or two of the front door. As for service, it seems that the bare minimum is considered the standard. We had to ask for our towels twice out of four days, even though housekeeping had already done the room, and that took 30-45 minutes. They were warm, so my suspicion is that they don't have enough linen to cycle it throughout the hotel with replacements while they do laundry. The bedside table lamp didn't work, so I had to ask for a bulb. They don't seem to realize that spent dinner trays should not linger on the stairs, a two-day condition that I'm aware of. The bathroom windows did not shut fully, and there was no screen, so we had to keep the door closed or be eaten alive by mosquitoes. And they also have cockroaches. I had to ASK for a room with windows upon our return to the city. On the street side in our second room, I can tell you that Arosemena has traffic pretty much all night. They did OK with wake-up calls, except for when we got them without asking for them. Of the entire staff, the doorman was the most pleasant and most fluent in English. About half of the front desk staff need training in customer service. Other than that, it's a dandy place to send people that you don't ever want to talk to again.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Every day there.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TroyBoyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

My husband and I just spent one night at this hotel and the experience was terrible.
The bathroom and the sheets was dirty, I found a condom package at the head of the bed. The pillows were solid and smelt bad. I just hate it !
Stay away from this hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luciaklem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 km away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#80 of 113 in Panama City
33 reviews
0.1 km away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 113 in Panama City
301 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Marparaiso
Hotel Marparaiso
#75 of 113 in Panama City
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bahia Suites Hotel
Bahia Suites Hotel
#97 of 113 in Panama City
225 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#69 of 113 in Panama City
37 reviews
0.7 km away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#90 of 113 in Panama City
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Plaza

Property: Hotel Roma Plaza
Address: Avenida Justo Arosemena y Calle 33, Panama City 0816, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 113 Hotels in Panama City
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,777 - ₹ 3,165
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Roma Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Roma Plaza is located in the business center of the city, between the most popular shopping area (2 blocks away), and the Bay of Panama. 2 blocks away from the office of the Chamber of Commerce of Panama, airlines, embassies and consulates, banks, public offices, 24-hour clinic, pharmacy, beauty salons and parks. Internet lobby, free wireless, cafeteria, rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Plaza Hotel
Roma Plaza Panama City
Hotel Roma Plaza Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing