We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!!! Horrible hotel!!! Look elsewhere for a hotel in Panama!!!”
Review of Hotel El Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Panama
Ranked #51 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My mother and family stayed in this hotel as part of a church group trip. On December 9th, my mother decided to go out to dinner and left her jewelry inside her hotel room and locked the door. She checked out the next day and noticed that the jewelry was stolen from INSIDE her hotel room while the door was locked. (Stolen items included two rings, a necklace, a bracelet and a foot cushion). I called and emailed the hotel to report what had happened. The person who answered the phone said to call back the next day and no one from the hotel ever answered my email. I know that there is likely nothing that can be done but the hotel didn't even bother to acknowledge my email or my concerns. Absolutely unexceptable and horrific customer service. I urge you to beware and don't stay at this hotel. There is a thief that has access to locked rooms likely someone from their own staff. My family and I travel all around the world and never, ever have we experienced something of this nature. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They obviously have no courtesy and don't care about their guests to even answer a concerned email or take a phone call when something isn't right.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 200 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

I spent several nights at the El Panama between June and October 2011.

CONSTRUCTION: ongoing. The lobby area looks great, but there is a lot of work going on all over the place.

ROOMS: initially loved the cabanas, but they were hard to get; we would book one, show up, and there would be none left. We ended up sticking with the newer rooms and they were very nice.

POOL: awesome pool with an awesome pool bar ..... if only the bar would be tended. Service at the pool is hard to come by; the pool bartender is rarely there.

FOOD: the sushi bar is okay. The morning breakfast buffet was fantastic. Did dinner one night out at Miraflores Locks and enjoyed the buffet.

SERVICE: hit or miss.

CASINO: decent.

We saw a lot of families stay at El Panama over those few months; most seemed to be spending time at the pool. I wouldn't personally come back here for vacation. As other reviews have stated, there were fewer working ladies at El Panama than at Veneto.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HereComesTehBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Goods: Big rooms, close to every thing, very nice staff, sushi bar, way less prostitutes compare to Veneto, family hotel, pool is amazing, breakfast is served.

Bads: construction in the building and out, very noisy, i had bites the first night and had to change rooms (i don't know if its bed bugs or small ants but it creep the hell out of me), the rooms are very humid, prices are high.

You could stay there but just ask if the rooms are clear and air out first just incase of bed bugs or insects also humidity, ask for a room not facing the street but the pool, its more quiet. Eat outside the hotel its expensive there.
I always think that from my experience a nice small hotel is alway better than a big noisy one, if you can find a nice Small place like the Victorian hotel or an apartment for short term rent its good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fzenzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My first trip to Panama many, many moons ago found me at the El Panama before departing to the City of David with my Panamanian college roommate and his family. I those days the El Panama was "THE" hotel in the city. The rooms were huge and the service was without peer.

I spent one night there on this past trip and found that the hotel had been remodeled to current expectation levels. Something got lost in the translation as the old El Panama was not to be found. Yes, the pool and adjoining cabana were the same, the room sizes were the same, but, the mosaic fountain that was the center piece of the lobby has gone the way of the dinosaurs.

Room rates were a bit pricier that other similar properties, but, not totally out of whack. Nice staff. If you remember what it was like perhaps the facelift could have been less sever.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawaiiSportsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Our stay at Panama has not gone smoothly, and this was the nail in the coffin. We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel El Panama and after the first night my boyfriend began complaining of bites on his legs. The morning of our departure we found mites ALL over his body, in particular they looked like they had crawled up his leg and beyond… I pulled at least 10 off of him. We have pictures of the bites and bugs to document the incident.
We of course immediately told the hotel manager who at first seemed sympathetic and promised to refund our extra costs and provide a taxi to the airport. However when we checked out an hour later, they would only provide the taxi ($25 to the airport) and refused to refund any costs. These costs included:
1) $22 per night extra person charge (the original reservation apparently was only for 1 person and they charge for even 1 additional person)
2) Extra buffet breakfast (the room included a buffet breakfast BUT only for 1 person and the “extra person” charge does not cover an additional breakfast, so one of us had to pay $18 for buffet breakfast every morning)
We felt nickeled and dimed for every extra service at this “five-star” hotel, but the hotel provided only the most minimal compensation for HAVING BED BUGS in our room. Yes the room looked nice and was spacious and the pool area relaxing. However, way too many negatives: 1) very noisy from busy street traffic and morning bells of church next door through single-pane windows, 2) felt nickeled and dimed by extra charges, and lastly 3) BED BUGS and POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE in response to our complaints. Absolutely do NOT recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank concernedtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 km away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,219 reviews
0.3 km away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#38 of 115 in Panama City
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#22 of 115 in Panama City
2,791 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
1.4 km away
Hotel Las Americas Golden Tower Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Panama? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Panama

Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Panama City
#8 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#33 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: ₹ 4,841 - ₹ 6,561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing