We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
257
62
11
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
62
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation deck howler monkeys pipeline road radar station great birding harpy eagle eye level eco lodge bird species birding package air force non birders green season spotting scope birding group toed sloths bird guide
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

There is no place like the Canopy Tower. It is amazing -- you are on a birds-eye-level with dozens of species -- and can be annoying -- unless you are also a 'birder', the tromping up and down those metal steps will wake you at an unholy hour. But the food is plentiful and good, the guides are gracious and knowledgeable, and the experience of staying in a hotel converted from a military observation tower is truly unique. One other kind of odd thing: there is no one on duty at the front desk over the weekend. But maybe they've fixed that by now.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank lutheranliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanopyFamily, Guest Relations Manager at Canopy Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for your review and insights from your stay, we are glad to hear you immersed yourself in and enjoyed the whole Canopy Tower experience! The Canopy Tower manager is available Monday to Saturday, from 7 am to 3 pm. During hours when the manager is off-duty, rest assured that the guides are there to help you with any needs you may have. We have staff onsite 24 hours a day. We hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

stayed at Canopy Tower and then Canopy Lodge in panama March 8-15, 2018. Birded like crazy with great, competent,persistent guides! Alex Sanchez/Jorge at the Tower and Danilo Sr. at the Lodge were fantastic!. Lodging is unique and although not luxurious, very comfortable. Lots of fresh food, well cooked also. If you want to bird in a beautiful place with excellent staff/guides then, this is the place for you! Special thanks to Antonilo and Carlos and Fernando also at the Lodge!

Room Tip: lots of stairs at the Tower but best rooms on top-better views.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vivip1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanopyFamily, Guest Relations Manager at Canopy Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we are so happy to hear that you had a great time at the Canopy Tower and Canopy Lodge. We hope to see you again in Panama!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My husband and 14 year old grandson and my two sisters and a friend booked a package tour with the Canopy Tower and Canopy Lodge. We were met at the airport and brought to the Tower first, for three nights. It is a refurbished metal tower, as stated in their website, with no air conditioning. But, that is the only thing different from what one might be used to, and we knew about it beforehand. The windows have screens and a breeze blows most of the time. There are suites, double rooms and single rooms. All are comfortable, with ceiling fans and only the single room must share a bathroom. The stairs are the only way to reach the bedrooms, the dining room and the observation tower. They are steep and long, but, even at our advanced ages, we managed to climb them several times a day. Our luggage was carried to our rooms and from our rooms, on our last day. The guides are very friendly, very, very knowledgeable, and tip-top. We went specifically for birding and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TXLady62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanopyFamily, Guest Relations Manager at Canopy Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for your thoughtful and honest review of the Canopy Tower. Your comments will no doubt assure some of our guests who have concerns about the stairs and the rooms. We are so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us - from the birding to the uniqueness of the Tower and everything in between. We hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

The tower is a spectacular spot for birds. You sleep above the canopy! Knowledgeable guides, good food, friendly service. Simply a magical place to visit. Many memorable slow, feather-filled bird walks - 4 hours to walk 2 km!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Meadowatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanopyFamily, Guest Relations Manager at Canopy Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Canopy Tower and were captured by its magic! We hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The Canopy Tower is a wonderful place to stay. However, buyer beware, if you are not a birder, go somewhere else.
We stayed in the Harpy Eagle suite. It is a good sized room and was comfortable. The rooms are a little spartan. There was no chair in our room, for example. Unlike the Lodge, the Tower does not have grounds so there is less feeling of personal space (something important to me).
All meals are provided and all are cooked from scratch. All are good, although the chicken "lasagne" and one other chicken dish were exceptional. Wine at meals is included.
Days start early. Some days you are in the truck at 6:30. You are back for lunch and go out again at 3.
The guides are exceptionally fine. Between the Lodge and Tower, we met Tino, Carlos, Domi, and Jorge (Jorge is in training). Their ability to spot, whistle/mimic the call note/song is amazing.
We loved the Lodge and the Tower so much we have reservations for the Camp next January.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank I13JAmarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanopyFamily, Guest Relations Manager at Canopy Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you for your honest review of the Canopy Tower, it will no doubt give our future guests an idea of what to expect at our one-of-a-kind lodge. We are so happy that you had a fantastic experience and we look forward to seeing you next year at the Canopy Camp!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews