We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small authentic real cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Origenes - Spanish Fusion - CLOSED

Origenes - Spanish Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small authentic real cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

When everyone else was closed, they were open on a holiday. Quaint and quiet but flavorful sandwiches and salads. Light and delicious for the discerning budget.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank donedealmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice modern restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had a late dinner here, so we sampled multiple appetizers, but did not order a main course.
The menu was on the pricy side for entrees, mainly $25 to $30+.
We had the anti pasta cold cuts, which I thought was delicious. Three teenagers thought otherwise, but this was their loss. The chickpea salad was outstanding, as was the cheese plate. In addition, we had a chicken stew, exceptional, and he fried cheese appetizer, very good.
I would try this place again for dinner when I return to Panama City.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A place not to miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Found this restaurant w/ TripAdvisor as a place located at walking distance from the Riu Hotel where we stayed. It was a gem. The best meal we had while spending 3 weeks this year in Panama. My wife started with the mushroom soup; mostly mushrooms and subtle seasoning. I split a tuna and salmon tartare which was absolutely delicious. We then had a Zarzuela de Marisco, a blend of seafood in a delicate sauce reminding me of (Armorican sauce we serve in Europe) served with rice. We drank a nice Chilian Chardonnay ($19) with the meal. The expresso at the end was a 10. We had a fantastic dinner, good portions, fine sauces for a relatively reasonable price. We will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBarbary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
248 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“If you don't like this place, try Wendy's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The food here is incredible. Everything on the menu jumps out at you with vibrant flavors and fresh spices and herbs. Listen for their specials and go with them, especially the crab. This place has an inexpensive, but good wine list to go with the fantastic food. If you go to PC, put this place on your list. Service is good,but sometimes disappears - and that isn't always bad. When they notice that you are involved in serious business discussion, they let you be. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philly099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Excelent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

These is a must to visit if you want to taste original Spanish food. The service is impecable and the food remind me my best days when I was living in Spain. The Gazpacho is so full of taste and it goes perfect with the warm panamanian weather.

Also try the Pulpo a la Gallega. It is irresistible.

I go every time I visit Panama. Just love it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walid74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Origenes - Spanish Fusion also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing