We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic design, beautiful rooms, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Panams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Panams
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Chic design, beautiful rooms, helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed at The Panams Hotel Boutique for two nights. I knew right from walking in the front doors that it was my kind of place. The design of the lobby is fantastic, with a great eye for detail and a very cool vibe. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and made me feel welcome right away. My room was amazing - very spacious, very clean and offering all of the amenities (flat screen tv, safe, ac). The bathroom alone was worth the price. Finding a spa bathroom in Central America at a midrange hotel is a treat. The rain shower head, L'Occitaine products and plush towels were a luxurious treat after a day of walking and sight seeing. There was also a big jacuzzi tub in the corner of the room. The beds were delightful (best sleep that I had in Panama), and the sheets and pillows high quality. The safe was also big enough for money and documents as well as a laptop or iPad, which gave me added peace of mind. Breakfasts were included and were what you would expect - fresh juice, coffee/tea, toast, jams and eggs. It was convenient and filling. The location was also great. Set on a busy street, you do hear some traffic noise, but I think that's pretty common in Panama City. I was able to walk about 10 minutes to the main street and cross one of the bridges that took me to the Cinta Costera, which was perfect to take a nice, long coastal walk to either the "concrete jungle" (malls, condos, Trump Building) or to Casco Viejo. If you are taking cabs (especially at night), ask the front desk staff to write down the directions for you in Spanish. Some cab drivers aren't familiar with the location yet.
The only thing that was somewhat challenging was WiFi quality. I couldn't really get good signal in my room, so if I wanted to connect, I had to go downstairs to the lobby. It was a minor inconvenience, and it gave me the chance to enjoy the design and vibe of the lobby.
I really felt like The Panams was this special treasure that I stumbled upon in a city with lots of big, expensive hotels. At The Panams, you get high-end hotel quality at a midrange price, in a beautifully-appointed environment with a funky vibe. It's definitely worth the stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the standard rooms, which was very large. It would be great for someone travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank axylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    50
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
108
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We planned on 3 nights but were so happy with our experience here we added an additional 2 nights to our stay. This is a small hotel with great rooms, they are large and done with great style. The bathroom is also large and very well done. Can't say enough about the staff, they were wonderful, always taking the time to go over maps they gave us on the local attractions. Breakfast was included in the room price and the selection of food was really plentiful and everything tasted great. No doubt that on our next stay in the city we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guatemala_Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's style is very elegant and the rooms are beautiful. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They take all the time to help you and to give you tips for the city. For example, on our last day we had to leave at 4:30AM to the airport. It was no problem for them to prepare us some breakfast which we could take before we left. Also, the coffee and wine which you can take anytime for free is very nice. This gives the hotel a personal touch.

There are some smaller aspects which just make this hotel not a 5 star experience. Firstly, the directions. As said by other reviewers, taxi drivers do not know to find it. They really need to do something about is, because our taxi driver from the airport was driving around the neighborhood for half an hour. The detailed map of the area which you get once checked in, helps the taxi drivers; maybe they should provide this to every booker! Other things are the fact that some receptionists speak no English at all, that they have only one telephone line (the taxi driver tried to call the hotel, but the line was busy all the time), that they provide a bath in the room but no shower or bath gel, that the room was not properly cleaned (there were long dark hairs in the bed), etc.

Overall, though, certainly to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouter188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great hotel, it has all the amenities and more. Love the boutique style you can tell the owners have put money and time into making the space as well as the feel of the place.
Nothing bad to say except noise from the street, however NO where i quiet in panama unless you are 30 stories up.
Would stay here and reccomend this hotel, so much better than MANY in Panama!

Room Tip: Top Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Button_WestCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This wonderful little boutique hotel was a layover on our way to the Isle de Contadora after our flight to Panama, City. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and had a GREAT shower. We left early in the morning to catch a flight and wasn't able to experience breakfast. Really enjoyed the coffee and wine in the lobby!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsFromSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.4 km away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#32 of 116 in Panama City
406 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel DeVille
Hotel DeVille
#64 of 116 in Panama City
298 reviews
0.8 km away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#66 of 116 in Panama City
296 reviews
0.7 km away
InterContinental Miramar Panama
InterContinental Miramar Panama
#43 of 116 in Panama City
653 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panams? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panams

Property: The Panams
Address: Calle 42, Num 22 - Bellavista | Between Vía España Avenue and Justo Arosemena Avenue, Panama City 0833, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Boutique Hotel, bars and restaurants nearby, airport shuttle services, massage services in the room, personal shopper, assist to tourist activities, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your The Panams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Panams Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing