We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monkey Lodge Panama
Ranked #2 of 79 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal retreat”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My partner and I stayed 4 nights at Monkey Lodge in FEbruary, 2012. It was a tranquil and relaxing place, with entertainment furnished by the 3 personality plus monkeys. Sabrina's cooking was delicious simple French food, and she was always gracious about our requests. Fabrice is a rascal who, very agreeably, takes tourists on fabulous tours of the canal, its lakes and islands. If you like tranquility, animals (also several sweet dogs), simple delicious food, and choices of planned tours with a rascal for a guide, stay at Monkey Lodge and be delighted.

Room Tip: There are 3 cottages, very similar in size and all located on the premises with the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    47
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
50
106
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
altoona, pa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife, myself and another couple stayed here for three nights. First of all, Fabrice has a great sense of humor. He is the perfect host. His wife Sabrina is an excellant cook. We all enjoyed her dinners. The grounds are well maintained. The bungalows are somewhat basic but they are adequate. And then there are the monkeys....
We took one of Fabrice's tours to Monkey Island, the canal, kayaking, and the Embera Indians. This outing was one of the highlights of our trip to Panama.

Room Tip: The two bungalows with air conditioning were slightly larger than the other one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Monkey Lodge in February and loved every minute of it. We have travelled throughout central america and this was one of our favourite spots! We origninally only booked 2 nights and decided to stay 4 instead. This Lodge is a secluded oasis, a perfect place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy each others company. There is a nice clean pool, the grounds are beautiful, the monkeys are adorable, the cabins have air-conditioning that works well, and the meals cooked by Sabrina were delicious. We did the Panama canal boating/ kayaking/ village tour which was a great way to see the canal and the beautiful landscape surrounding it. We had planned going into the city via taxi and then seeing the city on our own, but decided to go with Max on the city tour so that we could cover more gound, and it was well worth it. We do not speak french or spanish, and we did not have a problem communicating with the hosts. Sabrina, Fabrice, and Max treated us like old friends and we felt incredibly welcome our entire stay. Some have complained that there is no wifi in the rooms, but if we were in our rooms we were not using the computer! And we never had any problems accessing it by the pool or on the terrace. Because the lodge is secluded it is easiest to eat at the lodge. We had dinner there each night, and each night it was something different and very delicious! Overall our experience was very unique and memorable, and we highly reccomend staying at Moneky Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancouver34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

AVOID!!! This hostel is in the middle of nowhere and absolutely secluded which means that the owners can charge you whatever they want. There is no hot water nor wifi in the rooms despite the price you are paying. There is nowhere else to go for food because it's so secluded and very overpriced. The meat in my first dinner wasn't cooked well and I got sick. They have a pet monkey and my friend got bit and they yelled at her instead of disciplining the pet. The lady was quite rude to us and unhospitable, we felt unwelcome the entire time, blaming us for others who'd left early. They lady claims to only speak french (they are from France) and not understand anything we said in spanish or english even though she spoke well in spanish to the cleaning lady. We shortened our stay ourselves. Seriously, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We're convinced your trip to Panama could not start any better than at Monkey Lodge, only a 20-30 minute (taxi-)drive (lodge can arrange pick up from Tocumen Airport or any other place). Wow, this is such a paradise! This is THE place where you can either chill at the pool, play with monkeys Lilly and Papaya (TOO cute, miss them already) or book one of many interesting tours that the owner Funny-Frenchman-Fabrice arranges. The Panama Canal boat tour including kayak tour through the Canal's astonishing rainforrest scenery should not be missed! Do not expect supermarkets, shops or restaurants nearby, but hey, who needs them as madame Sabrina is more than happy to prepare your breakfast, lunch and dinner. Never had meat this tender and fish so tasty: This 'madame' can cook! Do not hesitate to ask Fabrice for some travel tips, as he knows so much about Panama. We seriously had a great 4 nights stay at Monkey Lodge, those 4 first nights of our visit to Panama felt like we had already been on holiday for weeks and would advice anyone to definitely go there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
7.2 km away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#34 of 114 in Panama City
1,187 reviews
3.9 km away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 114 in Panama City
638 reviews
9.2 km away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Courtyard Panama at Metromall Mall
19.0 km away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#24 of 114 in Panama City
916 reviews
17.1 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Lodge Panama? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Lodge Panama

Property: Monkey Lodge Panama
Address: Carretera Madden | Puente Roque, Panama City 0857, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,563 - ₹ 8,525
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Lodge Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Lodge is an authentic paradise, located at 20 minutes from Panama City Center, and 10 minutes from the Panama Chanel and neighbor to Soberania National Park.Monkey Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast with four cabins with all the amenities and comfort (refrigerators with drinks, safety box, privet bathroom and air condition on three of them). Furthermore, one of our cabins is located inside the monkey habitat, therefore all monkey lovers will be in close contact with these friendly and funny animals.While in Monkey Lodge, if you want it, you could be as close to monkey life as your will ever dream to spend unforgettable moments, knowing each monkey's personality, and their lifestyle.We also have a magnificent rainforest tropical garden, with an unmatched vegetation full of a enormous variety of flowers and birds, all located nearby our beautiful pool where you can rest and refresh all surround of these amazing place.In order to wake up your senses, we serve a delicious food in front of the garden and poolMonkey Lodge is not only a Bed & Breakfast, we are a travel agency and truism operator, therefore we are completely qualified to arrange, guide and make you holiday and tour as an exclusively experience, and warranty you an unforgettable vacation . We offer different travel offers so you can choose the one or ones that match your requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Monkey Lodge Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Lodge Panama Hotel Panama City
Monkey Lodge Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing