We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a very fair value”
Review of Bahia Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Suites Hotel
Ranked #97 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Having been many times a year in Panama City in the past few years and tried everything from two to five star hotels here, I (European, mainly traveling to panama on private trips), can finally say that I found a hotel that perfectly suits my needs. The hotel is in a central area, clean, has large and light rooms and comfy beds for a very fair price. Something that is not easy to find in Panama City.

On the outside the hotel looks quite run down as most buildings in the area. However, the hotel seems to have been recently renovated on the inside (I stayed here years before) and now shows a pleasant reception area. The rooms (standard room) are friendly, have a modern touch and are spacious with large windows that let enough daylight in (curtains at night to make the rooms dark). TV works fine, furniture seems new. The bed is very comfy with a white bed sheet and a warm blanket and four (!!!!) large feathery pillows (not the thin and worn down micro plastic pillows you get elsewhere). Blankets are changed and cleaned daily. Air condition is new and works perfect. Bathrooms are ok but spacious with hot water. No fridge or coffee machine in the rooms.

Staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks English.

The hotel is in short walking distance to the Cinta Costera (5min) and from there it's maybe 10min to the famous Mercado de Mariscos. The metro station is 100m from the hotel entrance. Around the hotel there are some basic restaurants (rather for locals and travelers than for tourists but very delicious and at a good bargain) and small supermarkets. There is a restaurant in the hotel on the top floor.
The neighborhood, however, might not be to everyone's gusto. It is a neighborhood that seems rather rough at night and it is advisable taking a taxi at night to arrive at the hotel. During the day I feel perfectly safe to walk around but don't expect to see the nice side of Panama City in this area. However, there is police everywhere and a police station close by.

The restaurant of the hotel is situated on the terrace on the top floor, offering a great view of Panama City and Casco Viejo. There is also a swimming pool. The breakfast served is ok (two buns, butter and Marmelade, a bowl of fruit, eggs, coffee/cacao and orange juice). Given the price it's ok but don't expect much. Dinner however is very good. Great taste, nicely decorated and with a certain extra touch ( I had a Salat with fried calamari that came among others with apple and almonds on top, something very rare in normal priced restaurants in Panama).

ALL IN ALL: Highly recommendable hotel if you look for something basic and central that is well taken care of. Not recommendable if you want to be in a nice area or look for a luxurious room/hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahía Suites P, Director Comercial at Bahia Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear MartiniW2014

Thank you very much for your comment. It is is a pleasure for us to hear such a good comments from our guest. We are glad you liked the experience.

We work in a continuous improving thanks to your oppinion a comments.

We will be glad of hosting you again ever you wish. You are at home.

King regads!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

In wouldn't recommend staying in this hotel if you're here as a tourist. You're far from the city - to be precise, in a very rough area. A lot of prostitution around here. You have to take a taxi anywhere you want to go to stay safe. The staff are very friendly but don't speak any english..I haven't met one staff member that can speak any other language. I would expect the reception to speak english byt they don't. The breakfast is very simple, you don't get a choice. Whatever is served that's what you get, whether you like it or not. The room is very spacious (203). The water in the shower is cold but also very spacious.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank shanellepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahía Suites P, Director Comercial at Bahia Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Sanellepi

Thank you very much for your oppinion. Thanks to them we can improve every day the experiencie we offer to our guest.

Bahia Suites Hotel is located in a new expansion area of the city. It is not in the business cinty center but only 8 mins walking from old town a nd 4 min from Balboa Avenue and Malecom. We expect this area to be like a Soho area in the next year.

About safety, we have agreements with taxis and uber drivers that are totally safe, as the local police and secutity cammera systems. In any case, we also are available for any doubt about safety and over the guest visiting the city keep connected.

It is true that our breackfast was only one and did not be offered with options, that is why we are now working on a semanal breackfast menu printed on table and we also offer the option of toast or sweets if you dont like the menu, this is a work we are working in.

For this year we are also working on capacity course to our staff, it is true that only a few profiles are talking fluent english just now, but it is our work to get 100% Staff.

Thanks for your oppinion, we expect next time you visit Panama City to have the opportunity to show you our new services and improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

When we arrived the staff did not speak any English, but we were able to get in with my basic Spanish. At first she argued that breakfast was not included and when I showed her on my reservation it was, she conceded. The room was OK, but the beds are hard, the closet it tiny with 2 coat hangers, the safe is broken, wall paper is falling off the wall by the bed, sheets were extremely coarse, and there were only 2 bath towels (no hand towels or wash cloths). At first I thought the window must be open due to the noise, but quickly realized that it is just zero soundproofing in a noisy neighborhood, which is not a good formula for sleeping. The air-conditioner keeps the room cool, but blows continuously and you can only have it blowing on you which makes it too cold when it is on and too hot when it is off. We went to "breakfast" in the morning which was a bowl of pineapple, some dinner rolls, a cup of luke warm coffee and some orange drink. If you want anything more they charge you. We had to ask for someone to clean our room as by 3PM, it was still not cleaned. The morning staff did speak fluent English however. The neighborhood seems a bit bad, but no one bothered us walking about. The big upside is that it is only a block from a subway station and 3 blocks from the water, which is very nice. Basically I would not stay again and not recommend the place. I will look for another hotel nearby next time.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Happydevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stayed here for two nights while in Panama and found it to be a decent enough place for that amount of time. We weren't expecting much, and found it fair overall.

Its not really the sort of place if you are looking for a nice holiday hotel for first time visitors to Panama, however if you are passing through the city for a few days and resting up its more than adequate.

Location isn't the best, in terms of after dark however taxis are cheap around town and you would be hard pressed to find another better location in the price range.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ferrari100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in all and found it perfectly acceptable, not expensive for Panama City, clean room, receptionists were varied in service level but if pushed they were all helpful and eventually friendly. One recommended a great local restaurant only 5 mins away. The location was good for us just a short walk to the seafront and midway between old and new areas. We walked to and from the hotel at all hours and found it safe. The room was on the fifth floor with good views and the breakfast of coffee, cereal, fruit and rolls was good and the staff helpful.
We tried the small pool and had sundowners on the roof, much cheaper than the Hard Rock Cafe!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahía Suites P, Director Comercial at Bahia Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Jim F

Thank you very much for your comment. It is is a pleasure for us to hear such a good comments from our guest. We are glad you liked the experience.

We work in a continuous improving thanks to your oppinion a comments.

We will be glad of hosting you again ever you wish. You are at home.

King regads!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 km away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#81 of 116 in Panama City
36 reviews
0.5 km away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#75 of 116 in Panama City
74 reviews
4.3 km away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#89 of 116 in Panama City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#98 of 116 in Panama City
300 reviews
0.9 km away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#83 of 116 in Panama City
146 reviews
2.6 km away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#63 of 116 in Panama City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Suites Hotel

Address: 31 Street | Between Justo Arosamena & Cuba Ave., Panama City 23151, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: ₹ 3,021 - ₹ 5,463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we have gym safes in every room free internet hot water security 24 Hotasa restauirante social area with pool-bar 24 hours laundry indoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Suites Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing