We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic dishes at Costa Azul”

Restaurante Costa Azul
Ranked #88 of 1,283 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I went to Costa Azul on my first night since it was close to my hotel and enjoyed it very much. Good basic food at reasonable prices. The menu is large in both Spanish and English. They have one page just for all the dishes of corvina (seal bass) so I had the breaded corvina which comes with one side plus a small salad for only $11.50. I also ordered an ice tea but it was very weak and too sweet for me, so they took it back with no charge. Service was very prompt and friendly. It is not a place for fine dining but good basic food and a large menu, even sandwiches. I found myself going there again for lunch and had the Cuban sandwich which was excellent.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2016

The quality of food and service was above par, but a little pricy for your standard Panamanian food. We found the same meal less expensive elsewhere, however this place was nice and clean and had decent service.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank BrianArabsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Full of locals, this was recommended by the cab driver and the concierge at the hotel. Friendly, family cafeteria style restaurant. The Patacones were fresh and soft, one of the specialties was a type of fried chicken, very good. Not a formal dining type restaurant, but certainly clean and good. Very affordable.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Panamanian food, affordably priced, all cooked to order. Not a fancy type, though food quality and taste was very decent. We went there four times, the pork chops were very good. Offers outside sitting. Very good bakery across the street.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank mcland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Old style coffee shop with lots of choices. One of my favorites places for breakfast. A good place for coffee and a paper and friendly family fare. Very popular on weekends especially after church on Sunday.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank sjsubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Costa Azul also viewed

 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing