We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good competition for the Best Western for airport access.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Globales Camino Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Globales Camino Real
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good competition for the Best Western for airport access.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We've always stayed at the Best Western before our flight but thought we'd give this spot a try.

On the good side, the rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are clean and the showers have good water pressure (a rarity in Nicaragua) and hot water (also a rarity). The pools is fantastic and they have a separate kids pool. The restaurant food is average and more pricey than the rest of the country, although the prices are comparable to the Best Western. The breakfast buffet is superior, with a lot of choices and great freshness. The Sunday buffet was served pool side which was a nice treat. As far as accommodations go, I'd say this hotel is superior to the Best Western and the price is slightly cheaper. There is a shuttle bus to the airport (takes maybe 5 minutes to get there) that we had no problem with. They were accommodating and scheduled to run every hour although they seemed happy to run us and another gentlemen to the airport off their schedule. The attached casino is a fun way to pass some time.

On the down side, the staff is quite difficult. Particularly, the front desk staff. It almost seemed they were intentionally being aloof and unhelpful. Some how, we wound up in a smoking room. Although having said that, it didn't stink like smoke so we weren't too upset about it. I can only imagine the trouble trying to interact with the front desk to change rooms. The staff in the casino was equally unhelpful and, at times, down right rude. I must say that despite the poor service from other staff, the restaurant staff was fantastic and very attentive.

Over all, I'd recommend this hotel for an airport stop. The staff at the Best Western is far superior, way more helpful and courteous, but the rooms and amenities at the Camino Real are better. Perhaps over time, if we stay there more often we will become more familiar with the staff and it will be better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nica_tinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    262
    51
    22
    9
See reviews for
100
185
56
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is my second review of the Camino Real by the airport.

The staff knows us now and the service is even better than before. It is about my 9th or 10th stay and everyone was great. Breakfast is wonderful full of great fruit and entres. Snacking by the pool try Nicaragua Nachos- now our favorite by the pool snack.

Great location by the airport and since we go to Esteli (to the north) every two days. It is perfect for us. Plus shuttle to airport and car rentals. I suggest you use Dollas in the hotel if you rent a car. The rates are lower than renting at the airport. A lot lower!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem nice but I like the 110-116 area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vxctor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having stayed at the hotel right across from the airport, we tried the Camino Real, which is less than 5 min. away. What a difference. This place has nicer rooms, much better front desk, better restaurant, etc. Will be staying here for now on.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsgdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

It's a classic airport hotel. Comfortable, well connected, good pool, nice restaurant. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes
#11 of 51 in Managua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
9.0 km away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
10.7 km away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
8.6 km away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
9.4 km away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Camino Real

Property: Globales Camino Real
Address: Km 9.5 Carretera Norte, Managua 11052, Nicaragua (Formerly Globales Camino Real)
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Managua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#6 Family Hotel in Managua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Managua
#11 Business Hotel in Managua
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,199 - ₹ 8,835
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Camino Real 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Camino Real Hotel is located only 3 minutes from the airport of Managua and very close to the Casino Pharaohs. Surrounded by the beauty of the area it creates a unique ambience that is the perfect blend of ecology and luxury comfort. The hotel has of 117 rooms of the highest standard combined the excellent service from the highly qualified and trained personnel, guaranteeing you the most pleasant stay. The Globales Camino Real Hotel also has 11 well-equipped halls with a 1,500 person maximum occupancy perfect for conferences, events and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Globales Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing