We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contempo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Contempo
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Hotel Contempo is really a hidden gem. Tucked away in an up-scale residential neighborhood, this ultra modern hotel is truly a luxury experience. We stayed for one night at the end of a trip to remote parts of Nicaragua and so appreciated all of the conveniences of home. The rooms were exceptionally comfortable, the restaurant offered a great menu and the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    45
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
34
72
16
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charleston sc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Hotel Contempo is a true gem. It is situated in a residential neighborhood outside of Managua. The hotel is small, 18 rooms, but more are being built as well as a full service spa. The common ares of the hotel have the feel a of lovely comfortable home. The service at Contempo is magnificent. The hotel is spotless. My room was large with a seating area separate from the sleeping area. It also had a seating area outside that had the feel of sitting in a small garden. Beds are comfortable with quality linens. Some rooms have jacuzzis.
The front desk was quick (and patient) helping me address the small snafus that come with travel to a foreign country. The piece de resistance: the restaurant is one of the best in Managau and quite reasonable. Once again, service was flawless. Have matt, the concierge take you on a tour of the city as well as other outlying areas.
Certainly one of the best hotels I have ever had the joy of staying.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 18 are great, but I am sure that all are charming. All are decorated differently. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwiden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Dont be swayed by the rutted road which takes you here off the main highway. This is a lovely modern hotel across the street from a gated community with mega mansions.. We arrived on New Years Eve to a big party but with the air conditioner and the fan, our room was surprisingly quiet. It seems like each of the rooms has a theme, ours is #3- Volcan (volcano), as evidenced by a volcanic rock wall and hewn stone sink. The shower is a glassed in chamber (beam me up) which sits in front of the stone wall and below a skylight. The hotel also has a van and they will drive you to any spots in town. We went to La Galleria on NYE which was a great spot to people watch, dance to live music and imbibe the national rum, Flor de Cana. If you have time, take a dip in the hotel's lovely lap pool. Our breakfast here was the best in Nicaragua- eggs Benedict and the typical Nica breakfast, lovely presentation, fresh and delicious. Juices are made fresh, fruit is first puréed in a blender then strained.
The owner of the hotel was kind enough to also arrange our transfer to the Aqua Wellness Resort near Playa Gigante in the hotel's new and comfortable Toyota Hillux at a very fair and competive rate. It definitely is worth using the hotel's vehicles for peace of mind. In Granada, we had a private guide and dealt with 2 flat tires in one day! (based on hearsay, this is not an uncommon experience)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithrelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Came for the New Years party with each ticket costing $100--a princely sum for Managua. Decided to see if there were rooms available so we wouldn't have to drive home after a long night of drinking. Front desk clerk began informing us that if we bought a ticket for the party...so I told him we had 2. He said, well in that case the room would be $25.00 US. We snatched it up. In the morning, we get hit with a $122.00 bill for the room and a few breakfast items. Long story short, they refused to honor the rate we were given PRIOR to reserving or checking in. While I love Nicaragua, the lack of honoring the customer is rampant here. It is obvious that for all of Contempo's modern looks, their policies and lack of customer service is as crappy as it is elsewhere in this country.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank termnalvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa & Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We booked this hotel online in the morning and arrived in the afternoon. First impression...we loved the modern & minimal decor in the lobby and the restaurant and it did not end there. We stayed in room #2 "Pino"....again, beautiful, modern, and clean. With only 18-rooms there is such attention to detail. The linens are new, plenty of towels, soaker tub is great, bath products are a better quality, and free wi-fi and free bottled water in the rooms. Excellent!

The pool is a small lap pool in a small but clean and modern garden, great for a morning swim and tan.

Breakfast is included and can be ordered off the menu, lots of choice. We also had lunch from the bistro menu and dinner in the restaurant...dinner was fantastic, french inspired cuisine, lots of excellent choices.

Although we found everything quite nice the best part about this hotel is the staff and the attention & service they provide. Everyone is very friendly and approachable and wants to ensure you are having a great time. From arranging our shuttle to the airport to arranging massages they are excellent. If you do have a chance, we highly recommend having a massage by Francisco. The icing on the cake so to speak was when we ordered a dessert to be brought to the room as it was my boyfriends birthday. They arrived with a beautiful plate with "Felicidades" written in chocolate on the plate, the dessert, and a lite candle. It is this attention to detail that you do not always get in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 610chtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
7.3 km away
InterContinental Real Managua at Metrocentro Mall
7.0 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#3 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#11 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
9.3 km away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#5 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
46.3 km away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contempo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contempo

Property: Hotel Contempo
Address: Carretera a Masaya KM 11 | 400 metros al Oeste, Residencial Las Praderas, Managua 14293, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Managua
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,208 - ₹ 11,868
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contempo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Contempo is a luxury boutique design hotel unique in Managua, Nicaragua. It's the perfect place to enjoy a cosmopolitan experience with style, intimacy and a distinctive warm service. Our 24 stylish rooms, all with different designs inspired by Nicaraguan themes, boast distinctive elegance and the feel of a private residence, intimate and comfortable. The acclaimed Restaurante Azul located inside Contempo offers a unique culinary and visual experience that inspires your senses. Our chef uses organic local ingredients to bring out the best flavors in our dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Contempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing