We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rename this place "The Oven"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Managua Backpackers Inn
Chicago
1 review
“Rename this place "The Oven"”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed with a group on two separate nights a week apart. It looks nice, offers free internet and filtered water. At night, though when the attendants leave, they close the doors and the temp goes up. It's impossible to sleep without waking up in sweat drenched sheets. I stayed in a dorm style room with 7 other people and none of us could sleep. They advertise a shower, but the water drips out of the spicket. The pool has a slimy film all over the bottom and looks nothing like the pristine photo on their WEB site. I wouldn't go near that pool. They advertise breakfast but by 10:00 am they were out of coffee and eggs. Many of us also ended up with bumps oll over our bodies but that may be due to other bites and experiences we had. Run, don't walk away from this place.

Room Tip: At a minimu, don't stay at this hostile unless you can get the air conditioned room. If you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    76
    58
    22
    30
See reviews for
4
52
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Nice location, and good with a pool. Unfortunatly I stayed in the other place (they have to locations, just a block from eachother!) but I could have easily walk there, I was just to lacy. Nice garden with hammocks and sofas, tables and chairs. Ok kitchen, but very small frigde with hardly any freezer. Stayed in a privat room, for 20 bucks, and would have happily switched to a dorm-bed with aircon. The fan was not enough.
Nice staff, very helpful. Facilities were clean!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We arrived after booking a private room and after checkin we were sent to the second building around the block. Hot there and had to take our packs up a skinny spiral staircase to a sauna like room. Basic with bunk bed, fan and tv. Bathroom was back downstairs. Fan worked well overnight but it was still so hot in there. Cable tv was great as was the pool but we had to walk back to main bldg for that. Close to mcdonalds and metrocentre which was handy. Ok place but too stuffy ESP for $29 per night

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideTravelbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The worst hostel in history, the owner and staff are unfriendly and unhelpful with a large dash of weirdness, the rooms are stifling dog boxes, they lie about prices and charge u $5 extra to hangout and wait for your 1pm bus. You must pay in american dollars but they give you change in nicaragrian money at their exchange rate. It gets annoying that they take every opportunity they get to take your well earned money. There is minimal ambience there is absolutely nothing this hostel has to offer do not sit on the couch, there is more water pressure from a dog passing wind. plus you will get mugged and the staff wont care nor warn you. Do not save that few extra bucks by staying here!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else do not try and save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzzcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Hi, I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as pleasant as it should have been.
I'd like to take a moment to clarify a few things that are inaccurate/incorrect in your comments about the hostel:
-Re. the $5 to stay after 1pm: Our checkout time is 12 noon, at which time guests not staying that night need to give up their bed/room in order to be cleaned for new guests that are arriving, however, our guests are welcome to stay in the common areas of the hostel until 3pm and are welcome to take advantage of all the facilities we offer. Guests staying past 3pm but who are not staying the night, are required to pay a day use fee of $5 which just covers the cost for the use of the facilities, power, water, etc.. With that fee they are welcome to use the internet, pool, kitchen, etc. but do not have a bed/room and can stay in the hostel until 9pm. After 9pm, its assumed guests will be staying for the night.
-Re. paying in US dollars: Our rates are based in US dollars, which is the standard in the hostel industry in Nicaragua. However, customers are welcome to pay in US dollars or Nicaraguan Cordobas (the local currency), which ever they choose, at the current exchange rate. We can offer change in US dollars when we have sufficient US dollars to offer. Sometimes its difficult to offer change in US dollars when guests are paying with large bills, i.e. $50/$100 bills.
-Re. Nothing to do in the hostel: We try our best to offer as many activities as possible to keep our guests entertained. We offer a swimming pool, 2 shared kitchens, breakfast cafe, free High Speed WIFI internet, book collection, 400+ DVDs, games, cable TV, sightseeing tours, which are the things that guests tell us they like most about the hostel. We feel that we offer a lot, but we are always open to suggestions of more activities to keep guests entertained.
-Re. You will get mugged: We feel that area in and around the hostel is safe, however, guests are warned to be careful when walking at night and when taking taxis off the street (remember: this is a big city). We have signs that say this quite clearly.
Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Managua hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
David, Panama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I'm surprised to see so many bad reviews about this place. We stayed 3 nights and never had a problem with anything. The place was quiet and relaxing. The bathrooms and kitchen were clean. The staff were polite and helpful if we asked. (All info you needed to know was up on the wall so you didn't have to go and ask the staff about every little detail).

Our room was spacious and had features I apreciated. Among them a celing fan and more than one light (whick is nice when one person wants to read while the other wants to sleep). Also, the AC is on from 9pm to 9am, which is a really nice feature to have in Managua!

Room Tip: If getting a private room no 2 in the main building is where we stayed and we were very satisfied wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#48 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#22 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
3.9 km away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.6 km away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#3 of 65 in Managua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 km away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 65 in Managua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Managua Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Managua Backpackers Inn

Property: Managua Backpackers Inn
Address: Colonial Los Robles, 3era etapa, Casa # 56 | Monte de Los Olivos, 1 cuadra al norte (lago), 1 cuadra al oeste y ½ cuadra al norte (lago), Casa #56, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price range (per night): ₹ 648 - ₹ 1,815
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Managua Backpackers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, the owners and staff, have created Managua Backpackers Inn to serve backpackers and budget travelers of all ages as part of our vision to offer a hostel in Managua that provides the services to support the modern traveler . Whether you're just passing through Managua at the start of your trip or if your planning on spending an extended period of time in Managua, we offer the perfect social environment for the modern traveler. We are open 24 hours/365 days and are centrally located in the heart of the new modern downtown Managua. At 'MBI', we pride ourselves on being the best option for travelers in Managua. We offer a variety of room types including private rooms and dormitories to suit any budget along with FREE WIFI and shared computers. The neighborhood surrounding MBI is very clean and secure allowing guests to explore at any time taking normal safety precautions. We are just a short walk, bus or taxi ride from all major national sights, markets, and transportation terminals. In less than 10 minutes you can walk to the MetroCentro Shopping center, cinemas, parks, casinos, supermarkets, Zona Hippos, and over 50 restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. We also offer two shared fully equipped kitchen, large swimming pool, air conditioning, CCTV cameras in public areas, Netflix movies, 7/24 airport shuttle service (must be booked in advance), FREE Pancake breakfast and much much more. We also have 'Happy Hour Everyday' FREE STUFF includes: -Swimming pool -Wireless high-speed internet -Use of shared kitchen -Netflix access -Filtered drinking water -Secure Lockers -Gas BBQ -Book exchange -All Towels and Bed linens -Use of Shared Computer Our reception staff are all local Nicaraguans and are fully bilingual and will be happy to assist you in either English or Spanish. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Managua Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Backpackers Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing