We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 night stay visiting in-laws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

This is my second trip to ES. Last time we stayed at the Hilton which is now under a different brand. We decided to stay here based on location and Loyalty program.
Location: easy access right by Zona Rosa ( good part of city)
Safety: good security (necessary in ES unfortunately)
Facilities: adequate but old. Entrance pleasant. Breakfast area open and outside and spacious. Club lounge small with 2 outdoor tables.
Pool: clean but water cold, with a separate 2 foot kids area, limited lounge chairs and towels strangely inside at the gym (close by), with a waterfall at the end of the pool.
Gym: old but good set of weights, a few aerobic machines, filtered water and sauna and showers inside.
Food: only ate breakfast, which had a good selection that had some daily changes but included local pupusas and other local food, omelette station, plenty of fresh fruit and sweets. Good but not overwhelming service.
Club lounge: nice bene if upgraded but only light snacks, limited but tasty local sweets, some fruit and soft drinks with beer and drinks for purchase. Staff were always helpful and attentive and polite.
Housekeeping: always did a great job but took a few tries to get extra towels sorted out.
Parking: free for guests, valet prompt and included.
Spa: next door, with great rates compared to US prices. Wife happy with mani/pedí at $10/15 cost, and $25 for a 45 min massage!

Pluses: we got a good rate, nice benefits for SPG loyalty program, nice staff, very safe feeling, empty fridge in room for storing food/drinks, nice soaps, plush towels.
Negatives: no smiles at checkin/front desk, which detracts from the overall nice and helpful staff, given a room overlooking parking and metal vs pool, older feel of facilities, pool too cold even with the summer heat, gym needs an upgrade.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank doctoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

We chose the Sheraton San Salvador as it was located in the Zona Rosa, which according to our guidebook, was a nice area for tourists to stay in.

We booked a taxi through the hotel from the airport and this was clean and punctual. The cost was US$30.00, which I gather is average for this journey as the airport is far away from the centre of town.

Check-in was easy and the friendliness of the staff continued throughout the stay. The hotel decor in the hallways is, in my opinion, dated, but not objectionable. The bedroom itself was neutrally decorated and I particularly appreciated that the television was in a cupboard, meaning no annoying lights during the night.

The weak point of the room, is the bathroom. This felt very dated and did not suggest a luxurious hotel. The bathtub is made of plastic, as are the loo fittings, and the shower head does not deliver a pleasant stream of water. It has two settings: either a set of thin jets of water, or six heavy streams of water in the middle. It was also very difficult to regulate the temperature.

The room was serviced every day to a high standard and more than enough towels were provided.

We had breakfast in the hotel each day, and this was plentiful and with a nice balance of local and international options. We also had access to the club lounge. This was a lovely oasis of calm and we really enjoyed returning here after a day of sight-seeing for a drink and a snack.

The hotel pool is of a good size and clean. Do note that there is no lifeguard on duty, so children need to be supervised at all times.

We did get the impression that the hotel is aimed at business travellers, rather than leisure travellers, like us. This was not a huge problem, although it would have been useful to have had more information about tourist activities in the reception area.

For example, from the hotel, it is really easy to get:

1) Bus 30-B to the MetroCentro mall (bus stop outside Pizza Hut)

2) Buses 101-B to Santa Tacla, for Bus 103 to El Boquerón (bus stop on Calle La Mascota).

3) Bus 105-A to near the Plan a la Laguna, for the Botanic Gardens (bus stop at the end of Avenida de la Revolución)

4) Bus 42 to the centre of town (bus stop at the end of Avenida de la Revolución)

There is no information about this in the hotel, but it would have been useful to know! Staff members were able to provide us with some information, but it very much depended on who was on reception. Of course, taxis are readily available, but the bus is much more fun!

The area that the hotel is in, the Zona Rosa, is very nice. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Museo de Arte de El Salvador (MARTE) and a short walk from the Anthropology Museum (MUNA). We walked at night to several of the surrounding restaurants and never felt unsafe. For a more informal offering, there is street-food market just outside MARTE.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but I do think that the hotel could do with a bit of updating, and perhaps cater a little more to tourists (rather than businessmen).

Room Tip: Some rooms had balconies, others did not. If you want a balcony, make sure you request one at the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT-says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stay here every year but were here in July/August for a family emergency due to my father-in-laws illness and subsequent death. Everything was done to make us feel comfortable. Our friends in the VIP Lounge, Paul, Romel and Jose Luis gave us their sympathy and helped in every way. Elsy at Check-in assisted in every way and even came to be with us at the funeral.
I would also than Sr Antonio and Sr Sebasian, owner and General Manager for their kindness and generosity.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be noisy when there are weddings or parties but if there's a late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

This hotel does so many things correct in the traditional way. Customer service is brilliant, friendly and very informative.

Rooms are good comfortable and simply laid out. Clean and fairly spacious,featuring a balcony which added to the stay.
My first room was on the lower floor and had a limited view of the pool, I requested a room on a higher floor which was given with no issues. Which was a win, not only was the view better as expected the room was notably more modern than the last. Making the stay all the better.

Room service for cleanliness was great and food options were great,really enjoyed a few options they had available.

Would without recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

This is my 3rd stay here and consistently the staff has been wonderful. Courteous, helpful and eager to offer suggestions from which sites to visit first to shopping locations. They are knowledgeable and professional. BUT for the 3rd time my room request has been completely ignored. Using SPG suite upgrade credits resulted in a 2nd floor room (the hotel has 4 floors) with a view of a metal roof. On this trip I specifically requested a pool view and of course I have a room facing the hotel entrance (the opposite view). The hotel staff said all pool side rooms were booked. As a "Platinum 75" I am used to SPG treatment that generally honors requests like these. But for the 3rd time (twice this year) requests have been ignored even when I spoke with my SPG Platinum Concierge and hotel management. I am inclined to stay at the Intercontinental on my next stay in San Salvador but this friendly staff may get me to come back. By the way, the hotel could use some paint and is showing its age but is clean and generally comfortable AND very safe. The breakfast buffet is standard but usually includes a "breakfast sausage" we dub a mystery meat. Ordering from the menu costs more but has resulted in better choices.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Calvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.5 km away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#2 of 55 in San Salvador
754 reviews
3.6 km away
Real InterContinental San Salvador at Metrocentro Mall
2.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Salvador
#3 of 55 in San Salvador
490 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn San Salvador
Holiday Inn San Salvador
#7 of 55 in San Salvador
239 reviews
0.4 km away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Presidente San Salvador? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Presidente San Salvador

Address: Av. La Revolucion, Col. Sn. Benito, San Salvador, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Salvador
#8 Family Hotel in San Salvador
#10 Business Hotel in San Salvador
Price Range: ₹ 8,962 - ₹ 15,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Presidente San Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador is the premier lodging and conference facility in San Salvador. Situated in the best residential area, San Benito, yet close to the financial and commercial district, where you can also find the main shopping centers and theaters, such as Multiplaza shopping center and Feria Internacional. Comalapa international airport is just 35 minutes away. The hotel is distinguished by its luxurious facilities, ample gardens, and unbeatable service and warmth of its personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Presidente San Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador Hotel San Salvador
Sheraton San Salvador
San Salvador Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing