We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but old stlye rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Ranked #38 of 170 Hotels in Bucharest
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Usually, we like Ibis hotels, but there we have been little bit surprised, because the roomsare still not refurbished and they are still in the ols Ibis Room Syle. but everything else was ok there and especially the Restaurant - with a few good romanian dishes - have been very good. Breakfast very basic, but everything was clean and they did refill the things fast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetflyer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel has quite a good location, the metro station is just a few steps away. The room was much bigger than I got used to in usual Ibis. I missed the tissues but on the other hand its a typical Ibis with good price/value ratio.

Attention! Avoid the taxis parking in front of the hotel!!! The hotel provides shuttle service (8EUR/PAX) to the airport in each hour but due to my eary departure I had to take a taxi. The airport is about 20km far from the hotel and that should have cost abour 30RON. Instead of that I had to pay 140RON. We parked near to the airport and the driver asked for the fare in advance. Just after the he had received the money he took me to the airport. I got out and he drove away quickly before I could look for a policeman. Of course, this is not the failure of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I booked this on our return from the countryside as a place to crash and have a shower before heading onto the airport so didn't actually stay the night. It's just a pretty standard hotel like your Holiday Inn, etc. Double bed was comfy, television had a small selection of channels ample space to throw down a couple of large suitcases and a couple of chairs and small table.

The en-suite was a little grubby - I hate to see tile grouting which is not clean, that around the shower and floor was going black. For forty pounds though you can't go too far wrong.

Location wise it it perfect for the Metro - you walk out the front door and the metro entrance is practically in the hotel car park. Coming from the main train station, just come out the front door, ignore all the taxi's and turn left, crossing one street, passing some flower shops a kebab shop and some empty shops, turn right on the Calea Grivitei (you'll see a Librarie across the road from you) and the hotel is on your right.

One thing we learned is if you book with Bookings.com - the hotel needs to charge you a second time as there is some fault in the system and they don't get their money. We thought thiswas our case until I realised I'd booked with Hotels.com and this was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Stevie_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This Ibis Hotel Chain is akin to a European version of the Marriott chain in the US: cheery, consistent, bland. The front desk can give you maps and point out fun locations, assist you with car rentals, or scratch out directions to the train station. The rooms are clean and well-kept. The restaurant food isn't great, but the prices are reasonable and there are options for a variety of palettes. The bar is open 24 hours if you need a nightcap.

I have no complaints about my stay. It's easy walking distance to the train station (don't try to take a cab; they will assume you have no idea where you are and drive you around at random for a while before asking for 30 Euro - this happened to a friend of mine.) But if you're looking for a more authentic Romania experience, stay something else. This place is charmless beyond measure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaihuiPloiesti
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 km away
Hello Hotel
Hello Hotel
#49 of 170 in Bucharest
450 reviews
1.9 km away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
4.4 km away
Hotel Eos
Hotel Eos
#74 of 170 in Bucharest
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Agentia H Accommodation
Agentia H Accommodation
#100 of 170 in Bucharest
54 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#33 of 170 in Bucharest
131 reviews
3.3 km away
NH Bucharest
NH Bucharest
#17 of 170 in Bucharest
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord

Address: Calea Grivitei 143, Bucharest 010708, Romania
Region: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: ₹ 1,940 - ₹ 4,578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord hotel is located 2 km from the centre and 200 m from the railway station. The hotel has 250 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant, a terrace and a bar open 24 hours for snacks. It also features 6 meeting rooms for organizing seminars and conferences, and private outdoor parking with security guard service. Business travellers will appreciate the WiFi wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bucuresti Gara De Nord Hotel Bucharest
Ibis Hotel Bucharest
Accor Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing