We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit staid, but friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jolly Alon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolly Alon
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Chisinau
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A bit staid, but friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This isn't necessarily a hotel to be in a hurry in - especially at breakfast when coffee comes at a leisurely pace (but individually made in the kitchen, which is nice). Comfortable bed with really nice pillows, quiet, shower (no bathtub) but good high-pressure hot water. Front desk are efficient enough, and very helpful. Lifts are a bit slow - but it's not New York, so don't complain! The colour scheme is old-style brown, but the place is clean and well run and good value for money. The internet worked fine for me, though I heard others had some problems with it.

Room Tip: It may be that some rooms have better wireless service than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwcBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    53
    39
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
8
8
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have been placed in this hotel twice, on work-related visits.

I think it is high in the ranking of former-Soviet country hotels (and I know the ones that are low in that ranking...). It is in a good position to walk to essential places in the centre of Chişinău, but nevertheless the location is quiet. Clean, well-appointed rooms (working out the toilet flush can, however, be complicated) attentive reception staff, good breakfast, excellent internet facilities.

If I am placed there on the next visit I will be entirely content.

Chişinău is a charming place: not beautiful, but gentle hospitable people, and a goo atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushkill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Book for me by business, clean but old room, updated bathroom. Good breakfast included. Nice friendly staff, quiet and good place to rest. Easy to walk and cabs are very cheap. I was here for a week and satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I visited in September 2011 for a few days on a business trip; this is a nice hotel centrally placed and adjacent to a pleasant park. The rooms are fine - clean and comfortable and the food good. Attentive staff and I would have no hesitation going back.

Room Tip: A room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabby2186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

the room was booked by the Gvt of Moldova for us as the recommended hotel. It must've been up to the standard. We were there on a Biz trip. The room was standard 60s style , with the en-suite bath room newly refurbished. The first impression was good, especially the grand entrance. You feel like this would have been the place to be and be seen .. in the 60-70s.
Restaurants serves a good mixture of local dishes and standard European western dishes. My colleague tried out the local food, with the local wine. He said that he had tasted better. I had salmon steak, and I must say it was ok, but not great. It was overpriced but hey, this is considered one of the best hotel.
They dont have diet coke in the hotel, so that was a big NO NO for me. They have a massage room for men only. very respectable. there's a hairdresser and she's very good.
Chisinau is very cheap, so foodwise you can afford to eat out in a good restaurant. location of the hotel is central, there is a park opposite, and we walk thru it returning from the hotel.. very safe. There is an ATM MACHINE , but it does not recognise my UK card. The ATM out the hotel does. I would return though to Chisinau, but maybe not this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chisinau hotels
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Leogrand Hotel
0.1 km away
CODRU Hotel
CODRU Hotel
#11 of 43 in Chisinau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 km away
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#3 of 43 in Chisinau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Flowers Hotel
3.7 km away
Jumbo Hotel
Jumbo Hotel
#9 of 43 in Chisinau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 km away
Nobil Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Alon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Alon

Property: Jolly Alon
Address: Maria Cibotari Street, 37, Chisinau 2012, Moldova
Region: Moldova > Chisinau District > Chisinau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chisinau
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chisinau
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,962 - ₹ 9,602
Hotel Class:4 star — Jolly Alon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolly Alon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Alon Chisinau
Jolly Alon Hotel Chisinau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing