We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in central location”
Review of Renaissance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance
Ranked #48 of 107 Sofia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Had a good stay at the Renaissance. Value for money it's great. The breakfast is fine and for the money you pay for the room you can't complain. Staff are a little aloof but serve their purpose. Rooms on the front are a little noisy with the trams going past most of the night but you have a balcony to use as compensation. Wifi is fine and location good, 15 min walk to the centre and 10 min walk to the Metro.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The location was good. Just a short walk (~10min) to the main pedestrian street - where you find shops, restaurants, etc and major attractions.
The room was okay, clean bathroom.
Basic breakfast, enough to get you going until lunch time.
The staff (more specifically, one guy) was TERRIBLE. It might be because he is stuck on the night shift or something, but he really knows how to make a guest feel unwelcome. However, on our last day, there were a couple of different staff (one man and one woman) and they were great. The man was the complete opposite of the previous fellow. Super friendly and helpful. So, I am not sure what to say...lol
The bed was not comfortable at all. Usually, I don't comment about beds/pillows as it is a matter of taste. However, this one was bad.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

The hotel exceeded our expectations. To be honest, Sofia is not a beautiful city, so after traversing it by wrong bus and then metro, the ten minute walk from the nearest subway stop didn't lift our hopes much. However, when we found the hotel (which was very easy), we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very small, but quaint. The lobby was warm and cosy, while the staff was helpful enough. Also, speaking English in Bulgaria isn't very efficient, but there were no such problems here. You can pay by card or cash, in euros (or probably dollars or wtv) if you like, so we could get settled quickly after arriving late at night. The room was on the front side on the fourth floor. It was clean and had a small balcony, but was nothing special. Then again, we didn't need anything special; this is a great hotel if you're just staging for exploring Sofia.

The breakfast was mediocre, although filling. It's a simple continental buffet with some cereal, baked eggs and the works. Someone really needs to learn how to properly boil an egg though, they all had a thick grey skin on the egg yolks. However, to compensate, the Missus says the cappuccino was great, and they also offer hot cocoa, ideal for a cold winter day.

Room Tip: Trams pass in front of the building, but if you're a bit higher up (4th floor in our case) that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erik d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Room Tip: Good location, try free Sofia tour if its not chilly, we started that tour but could not finish as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
1  Thank nikbaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The taxi from the Central Bus station cost around 6 - 7 leva and we were happy with the situation and the look of the hotel outside. Although technically on a busy road the hotel is set behind a wide area of grass and only trams and a few cars come along the smaller road directly in front of the hotel. First impressions were excellent as everything was spotlessly clean and quite modern including a small lift with a sparkly floor. The checking in process was easy as the staff spoke some English and although the guy on reception seemed quite abrupt he later proved to be friendly and helpful, as did all the staff. The twin room was basic and a little tired but very clean and had everything we needed including a mini bar, good free wifi connection, plenty of coat hangers, hairdryer and some toiletries in the bathroom although there were no tea/coffee making facilities, but then we weren't promised any, and there is a vending machine downstairs. The shower was over the bath so beware if you struggle getting in and standing in a bath and as mentioned in a previous review the water jet from the shower had a mind of it's own but water was hot and plentiful. Clean towels were supplied and changed even when not necessary. The bed was comfortable and heating adjusted within the room so being warm wasn't an issue and my only real complaints would be that the pillow wasn't great and no spare pillows were provided but a folded towel cured that and there are no drawers to speak of but this is common in many hotels now as is the limited space between the bottom of the beds and the desk/dressing table. We slept well as the trams stop running during the early hours of the morning but do resume at about 4.30 - 5 am but the noise wouldn't disturb you unless you were an extremely light sleeper The room had a small Juliette balcony and the views across the city were amazing. Breakfast is supplied from 7.30 am to 10 am downstairs in a modern dining room and is a buffet which is very comprehensive catering for every need and taste. The hotel is situated in the Centrum which means the Sofia Mall is reached easily within 10 minutes in one direction and Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, the city gardens (and Christmas Fayre) and other such places are reached within 15 minutes the other direction and the staff were always ready to book taxis when we needed them. A rather tatty looking Chinese Restaurant is about 4 doors up from the hotel and appearances are deceptive because the food was excellent and the prices extremely good. I would happily stay here again. Our twin room cost 37 euros a night including breakfast which for a city centre is extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper but then you'll miss out on the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julesm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
Poduyane
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#30 of 135 in Sofia
267 reviews
Hotel Light
#12 of 135 in Sofia
180 reviews
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 135 in Sofia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gloria Palace Hotel
#77 of 135 in Sofia
177 reviews
Serdica
City Avenue Hotel
City Avenue Hotel
#42 of 135 in Sofia
59 reviews
Sveta Sofia
#72 of 135 in Sofia
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance

Address: 2 Vazrazhdane Square, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Sofia
Price Range: ₹ 2,757 - ₹ 3,676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Renaissance 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sofia
Sofia Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing