We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 125
US$ 121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 67
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 122
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 94
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 109
US$ 100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brod(Sofia)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 84
US$ 80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 166
US$ 112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
8
48
34
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
48
34
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distanceroom was cleancoffee machinebalconycitycerealwifiairporttaxi
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The location was good. Just a short walk (~10min) to the main pedestrian street - where you find shops, restaurants, etc and major attractions.
The room was okay, clean bathroom.
Basic breakfast, enough to get you going until lunch time.
The staff (more specifically, one guy) was TERRIBLE. It might be because he is stuck on the night shift or something, but he really knows how to make a guest feel unwelcome. However, on our last day, there were a couple of different staff (one man and one woman) and they were great. The man was the complete opposite of the previous fellow. Super friendly and helpful. So, I am not sure what to say...lol
The bed was not comfortable at all. Usually, I don't comment about beds/pillows as it is a matter of taste. However, this one was bad.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

The hotel exceeded our expectations. To be honest, Sofia is not a beautiful city, so after traversing it by wrong bus and then metro, the ten minute walk from the nearest subway stop didn't lift our hopes much. However, when we found the hotel (which was very easy), we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very small, but quaint. The lobby was warm and cosy, while the staff was helpful enough. Also, speaking English in Bulgaria isn't very efficient, but there were no such problems here. You can pay by card or cash, in euros (or probably dollars or wtv) if you like, so we could get settled quickly after arriving late at night. The room was on the front side on the fourth floor. It was clean and had a small balcony, but was nothing special. Then again, we didn't need anything special; this is a great hotel if you're just staging for exploring Sofia.

The breakfast was mediocre, although filling. It's a simple continental buffet with some cereal, baked eggs and the works. Someone really needs to learn how to properly boil an egg though, they all had a thick grey skin on the egg yolks. However, to compensate, the Missus says the cappuccino was great, and they also offer hot cocoa, ideal for a cold winter day.

Room Tip: Trams pass in front of the building, but if you're a bit higher up (4th floor in our case) that's not too much of a problem.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erik d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Room Tip: Good location, try free Sofia tour if its not chilly, we started that tour but could not finish as it was getting too cold. try food at happy restaurants,The only Room tip i would say if you MUST stay here is ask them specifically if you need two single beds or one king bed.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The taxi from the Central Bus station cost around 6 - 7 leva and we were happy with the situation and the look of the hotel outside. Although technically on a busy road the hotel is set behind a wide area of grass and only trams and a few cars come along the smaller road directly in front of the hotel. First impressions were excellent as everything was spotlessly clean and quite modern including a small lift with a sparkly floor. The checking in process was easy as the staff spoke some English and although the guy on reception seemed quite abrupt he later proved to be friendly and helpful, as did all the staff. The twin room was basic and a little tired but very clean and had everything we needed including a mini bar, good free wifi connection, plenty of coat hangers, hairdryer and some toiletries in the bathroom although there were no tea/coffee making facilities, but then we weren't promised any, and there is a vending machine downstairs. The shower was over the bath so beware if you struggle getting in and standing in a bath and as mentioned in a previous review the water jet from the shower had a mind of it's own but water was hot and plentiful. Clean towels were supplied and changed even when not necessary. The bed was comfortable and heating adjusted within the room so being warm wasn't an issue and my only real complaints would be that the pillow wasn't great and no spare pillows were provided but a folded towel cured that and there are no drawers to speak of but this is common in many hotels now as is the limited space between the bottom of the beds and the desk/dressing table. We slept well as the trams stop running during the early hours of the morning but do resume at about 4.30 - 5 am but the noise wouldn't disturb you unless you were an extremely light sleeper The room had a small Juliette balcony and the views across the city were amazing. Breakfast is supplied from 7.30 am to 10 am downstairs in a modern dining room and is a buffet which is very comprehensive catering for every need and taste. The hotel is situated in the Centrum which means the Sofia Mall is reached easily within 10 minutes in one direction and Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, the city gardens (and Christmas Fayre) and other such places are reached within 15 minutes the other direction and the staff were always ready to book taxis when we needed them. A rather tatty looking Chinese Restaurant is about 4 doors up from the hotel and appearances are deceptive because the food was excellent and the prices extremely good. I would happily stay here again. Our twin room cost 37 euros a night including breakfast which for a city centre is extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper but then you'll miss out on the views.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julesm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Renaissance is a nice 3* hotel in the center of Sofia if you are travelling on budget.I have stayed at hotel Renaissance twice so far.

The hotel has an excellent location in the city center. There is an underground (metro) station on a walking distances. It is also near to the central pedestrian street with a lot of shops and restaurants.

The stuff is nice and friendly. The room was tidy and clean. The bed was not very comfortable. The elevator was quite small. There is a decent breakfast.

I stayed at the hotel for the first time in 2015 and back then there was a night club across the street so it was loud. Soon after that the night club was closed. I stayed in the same hotel in November 2016 and this time there were absolutely no problems with the noise level.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews