We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The first night after MY MARRIAGE was horrible thanks to this hotel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maria Luisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maria Luisa
Ranked #47 of 128 Hotels in Sofia
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The first night after MY MARRIAGE was horrible thanks to this hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

My husband and me, we decided to stay at Maria Luisa hotel for our first night after the wedding party! We payed about 70euro to get a flat with NO VIEW and a bed like a rock!I expected more of a 4stars hotel! THe food was old and cold! Was a new experience for me to sleep in a hotel like that! I've been before to 4 stars but this hotel can't be considered as 4 stars! The room service charges us with 3 leva tips when the bill was only 3 leva!Better choose another hotel!

  • Liked — the location - the center of Sofia
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank poliglotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    33
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
32
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

This hotel is fine for a short overnight stay, our room was small with no natural light and therefore a bit stuffy. The hotel is well located in central Sofia and close to all the shopping and eating places. The breakfast was Buffet style and the staff very pleasant and helpful. There is a nice lobby bar and cafe are near the reception. I would use again but only downside was the room size, although I would say they probably have better rooms available just dont stay in room 203.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size and stuffiness
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountviewbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

This is a fabulous little hotel right on the main road through Sofia city centre, 5 minutes walk south to the shopping and 5 minutes walk westwards to a huge open-air market. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the breakfast was lovely and the only criticism could be thaat the rooms were a little small. That's not to say that it was uncomfortable: I had my best night's sleep in Bulgaria so far here...the pillows and beds were exraordinarily comfortable.
I think it's the friendliness of the staff that makes this place stand out. I would stay here again without question.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

The 4 star hotel occupies a gorgeous building in a good location in Sofia. The staff are rather dismissive and the service was poor.
The rooms are full of period furniture but leaving little practical space to move, plus we overlooked a next door neighbours yard, complete with dog poo, dog and unsightly other materials!! Very SMALL room but adequate for a couple of nights stay.

A 3 star hotel in a 4 star cloak!! 6/10. NOT Bulgarias finest!!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2007

Delighted with the Maria Luiza. Location was great (if you don't have to drive and park), just a short walk from the main square and the Nevskiy Cathedral. Small hotel with a real boutique feel. Room was well appointed and spotless. Staff was largely English-speaking, well-trained and friendly. Restaurant, small but attractive with decent menu and quality. Very extensive breakfast. Nice quiet bar and separate cafe. Good internet facilities for a modest price. Only complaint was the heat in the room, which went from too warm to too hot to sweltering and no way to fix it . . . maybe due to an unseasonably warm winter week. Overall, a very good value especially versus the overpriced and underserviced Sheraton.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingpin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.0 km away
Gloria Palace Hotel
Gloria Palace Hotel
#61 of 128 in Sofia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 km away
Sveta Sofia
Sveta Sofia
#64 of 128 in Sofia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 km away
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#42 of 128 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Niky
Hotel Niky
#20 of 128 in Sofia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.6 km away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#7 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Favorit
Hotel Favorit
#16 of 128 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Luisa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Luisa

Property: Hotel Maria Luisa
Address: 29 Maria Luisa Blvd, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,201 - ₹ 4,836
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maria Luisa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Maria Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Luisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing