We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall but not WOW !”
Review of Kuchmeister

Kuchmeister
Ranked #4 of 730 Restaurants in Minsk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Kuchmistr serves an excellent selection of Belarusian / Lithuanian dishes most of which date back to the times of glory of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, both of its brave gentry and hard-working peasants, not forgetting about local Jewish and Tartar culinary traditions. Our last meal here saw five of us tucking into a range of treats, of which none failed to impress entirely. The surroundings are swish, the service is friendly and there’s a strict no-smoking policy which plenty of visitors will no doubt enjoy in a city where smoking in public is practically enforced. Don’t forget to have a glass of vodka flavoured with horseradish while you’re waiting - or try our fantastic tasting set of 6 self-made liquors and 3 soft drinks.
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

I arrived in Minsk mid week and decided to go to the closest, recommended restaurant.
I ordered Salyanka - a traditional sour soup. Excellent and recommended. I added Pirazhki - stuffed pie, it was a bit dry. In addition I had Grandpa’s Salad. Which I throughly enjoyed. Service was good, WiFi worked.

Thank Aviram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Екатерина К, Управляющий at Kuchmeister, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Many thanks indeed. Glad you were satisfied with your choice, even though these dishes are rarely reviewed by our guests here. We wish you a good stay in Belarus and only pleasant impressions. Yours, Kuchmeister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018

got this place recommended by locals and decided to visit it for lunch. The service was super slow, food was ok. Lunch menu was very cheap. We ordered from the main menu as well and was pretty satisfied.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveW5334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Екатерина К, Управляющий at Kuchmeister, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We apologize that you've been kept waiting for a while. But this is due to the fact that all our food is prepared "from under the knife", as we say, - without any preliminary preparations, exclusively from fresh products. We hope you will still have a chance to evaluate our slow food approach more positively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Stopped here just for a beer but the waiter recommended a platter of traditional local drinks (12 byn). It included 3 juices and 6 different liquors. Also 3 small fingersnacks. The drinks were all very interesting and tasty. None of them was left behind. I can truly recommend them all.

The service was friendly and the restaurant clean. We didn´t eat so I can´t say anything about the food.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank JJRLFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Екатерина К, Управляющий at Kuchmeister, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Many thanks indeed. Yes, our drinks tasting set is an absolute bestseller, but we hope that one nice day you'll have a chance to taste our food, too. And we wish you a nice and plesant stay in Belarus and lots of pleasant impressions. Yours. Kuchmeister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We came for dinner to this restaurant. They serve local dishes. On the menu you will find some nice background information/ history about the different kind of dishes.

We where helped by a gentleman who adviced us very good. He recommended us the Georgian red wine, which was nice of taste. The lamb dumblings have a good structure and taste.

Next day we came back for lunch to try the Mayers Secret. It’s a stew topped with a layer of pastry. Great of taste, reallly worth to try!

Thank DiederikW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Екатерина К, Управляющий at Kuchmeister, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much, Sir. Indeed, we are proud bot of our Tartar lamb dumplings and Old Mayor's Secret beef-and-vegetable stew; but also with all other our dishes which, we hope, you'll still have a chance to try. Have a good stay in Belarus and please be sure to come back one nice day! Yours sincerely, Kuchmeister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Today our family had a lunch in this restaurant and we all really loved it. The Belorussian dishes are yammy and authentic, prices are reasonable, waters are very friendly and professional. I decided to celebrate my birthday with friends here. Great place and highlu recommended to visit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mikhail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Екатерина К, Управляющий at Kuchmeister, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Many thanks indeed! and happy birthday! we are happy to show you the true Belarusian hospitality and wish you only good and exciting impressions everywhere in Belarus. Yours, K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuchmeister also viewed

 

Been to Kuchmeister? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing