We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teamo Hostel-Papeete, Tahiti”
Review of Teamo Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Papeete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teamo Hostel
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Teamo Hostel-Papeete, Tahiti”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you do not want to spend a lot of money, this is definitely the best deal. My friend and I stayed in the women's dorm. The dorm apparently has 2 permanent residents, one of which has insomnia and Is up and down (it seems) all night long. She also turns the light on in your face.

The staff is helpful, although English is somewhat limited at times and will do whatever they can to help you. The owners' daughter is very fluent in English. I am from Fla. so roaches would not bother me and I did not see any. I will be back to Teamo with my next visit.

Room Tip: The individual rooms are not very expensive and would be best for a couple or family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyfocruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    5
    7
    8
See reviews for
1
15
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Not too friendly place and the room is very small for that price you expect definitely better conditions.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Papeete hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

It is probably indeed the cheapest place to stay in Papeete. But it is also the dirtiest and with the most unfriendly staff!
First: The dorm was stinking when I got there. The staff member said it was probably from some rotten food lying somewhere behind the fridge. I thought: "well I can live with that." and went to take a shower.

Second: As I got back from the shower and start to unpack my things, I see a cockroach crawling next to my pilow. I scream and then see another one walking around the room, and another one walking on the wall.... The other guests said they had gotten used to it already!!! I went to the reception to complain about the roaches, but they said that there was nothing they could do about it, and if it was a problem to me, I was free to go...

Of course I left. And they charged me 6 euros for the shower.

I will never stay in that place again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brinschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We really had very little interest in Papeete, after having spent time in the Marquesas and Tuamotus, but had to overnight here twice for flight connections. Teamo Hostel turned out to be an excellent choice, in terms of cost, convenience, and quiet. It is an easy walk to the public market and waterfront, and the owners are amiable and helpful. They will help with airport pickup/delivery, at a rate comparable to the taxis. They also have a secured luggage storage, which made it easy to do an overnight to Moorea on the ferry, unencumbered by bags.

Room Tip: The best room, if available, is #12 upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oregon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
3.2 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
266 reviews
6.0 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.6 km away
Tahiti Airport Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
Mahana Lodge Hostel & Bacpacker
3.8 km away
Hotel Sarah Nui
Hotel Sarah Nui
#4 of 7 in Papeete
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teamo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teamo Hostel

Property: Teamo Hostel
Address: 8 Rue du Pont Neuf, Papeete 98714, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Papeete
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,580 - ₹ 6,450
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teamo Guesthouse is located in the very centre of Papeete, the capital of Tahiti. This cosy colonial styled house (150 years old) was built within a natural and tropical environment. The 3 dormitories and the 5 private rooms provide a friendly, quiet and comfortable atmosphere.Because it is situated in the heart of Papeete, Teamo Guesthouse is an ideal location from where you can organise your trips around Tahiti and the other French Polynesian islands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teamo Hostel Tahiti/Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing