We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Suva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suva
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The restaurant and reception staff treat u terribly if u look like a local. The door men are very friendly and put a smile on ur face every time u walk through the doors. The cost of Internet is atrocious.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDD2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear TMD2383,

Thank-you for your highlighting your recent experience.

I have taken all your comments on board objectively and see it an opportunity to improve our services offered to our guests. I was glad to hear regarding the friendly door men and your arrival experience on the property, we will continue to focus on this.

My sincere apologies for the impression that you received at both reception & the restaurant. I have highlighted your comments to the team and I can assure you there was no malice intended, they were saddened to hear your recent experience.

Once again thank you for bring your concerns to my attention and allowing me the opportunity to improve my teams services and avoid these type of incidents in the future.

Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    211
    72
    35
    9
See reviews for
74
70
30
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

If you are on work in Suva, then this is the ideal place. located on the main road, walking distance from the main market, restaurants and important government offices. It has very good rooms, food and view. Its also 2 minutes walk from the best Indian restaurant - Maya Dhaba.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SidJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear SidJain,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your comments regarding the hotels location is a +++ and certainly allows our guests to have many options in dining & entertainment whilst in Suva.

We look forward to welcoming back to the Holiday Inn in the very near future.

Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This used to be the Travelodge and is the major hotel in Suva right now altho soon the GPH will be opening maybe ... we had not stayed here under the Holiday Inn management ..the staff were all excellent ... my main comments would be that there is no sundry shop at the hotel and quite a walk to find a tube of toothpaste, a magazine or paperback or a packet of biscuits etc ... this is not good ..... breakfast was good ... the bar very noisy and not much character ... there is no dining room other than the breakfast dining room ..in the travelodge days there was a great evening dining room with fine dining, music for dancing and great maitre d Jonatani ..we miss that part of the hotel that once was ..

Room Tip: we like the ground floor rooms better where you can walk out to the pool ..our favourite room is 126...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaimaanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Vaimaanga,

Thank-you for your feedback & comments on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Suva.

I appreciate the candid review and gives me the opportunity to improve our services. You will be happy to know that we are in the process on improving our dining experience as well as the Bar & Lounge area, these are the two areas you did highlight.

In regards to sundry items, we do have available at the hotel items such as toothpaste, other personal items etc...free of charge to hotel guests - this point you have raised will be addressed as it does need to be clearly communicated to our guests for information- at present it is not so will be addressed.

I have also communicated to the team your comments regarding the excellent staff, this has been well received by them.

Once again I appreciate your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn in the very near future.

Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've recently completed another 2 weeks of business stay in Suva. The Holiday Inn is definitely the best place to currently stay (and I've tried most of the other over the past 10 years). The staff are really friendly, always ready to help, and will go out of their way for you. The food in the restaurant and especially the large breakfast selections are great. I particularly enjoy their outdoor poolside wood-fired pizza oven.
The rooms are large, comfortable, serviceable, but a bit dated. The gym is underwhelming, but at least they have one. Drinks are a bit pricey but thats pretty much everywhere in Fiji. The cocktails are good and worthwhile! Their iced coffees are fab! I usually use the laundry service and have always been happy with that.
The hotel position is excellent for downtown access and has a good view across the harbour. There is no beach here, and neither would you want to swim in the water, but the pool is fine.
This is not a 5 star establishment, and does not pretend to be a competitor to the Sheraton etc in Denarau.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear GastronomicusNZ,

I appreciate your recent feedback regarding the Holiday Inn. I have shared the comments regarding the food and staff experiences with the team and it really gave them a sense of achievement and a real success story.

The property as you mentioned is a solid 4 star property and I am vey pleased that you felt that experience delivery.

Once again thank-you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Suva in the very near future.

Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Location: close to convenience stores, ATM, food court, market place, handicraft center
Lobby area: spacious, clean, bellman at the ready
Front desk: slow service but it is the Fijian way so no worries, nice and smiling clerk
Very efficient and helpfull staff: tour desk, "transfers and taxis", restaurant, bellman
Internet, available with surcharge: BEWARE! Wi-fi is available in the lobby and swimming pool areas only, but inside the rooms, it's landline connection and you CANNOT use the same voucher for both, you'll need to buy one for the wireless and one for in-room
Room: PERFECT bedding, marvelous pillows, comforter, sheets, mattresses....big flat TV screen with lots of great channels, including TV5.....complimentary fresh milk for the coffee.....
Bathroom: nice amenities, large shower with modern plumbing......
Lunch buffet: great choice of very good food (desserts à gogo)
Room service: a little expensive for the size of the dishes, disappointing
Final word: overpriced compared to hotels in same price range elsewhere, but the other hotels in the area are so dreadfull, book this one

Room Tip: We were in room 241, overlooking the hotel nursery ( plants ), with the lagoon on the right, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maramanocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Maramanocent,

thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the team and all was taken on board constructively. Great to hear that you noticed the upgraded beddings in the room.

Since receiving you feedback we have reviewed your areas of concern:

RoomService - we have reviewed our offerings in the menu to ensure it meets our guests expectation.

Internet - we have now upgraded our bandwidth the hotel will shortly be fully wireless both in rooms and public areas. Guests will be able to use this service in both areas.

Once again thank you for taking the time to allow me the opportunity to understand your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming back to the Holiday Inn in the very near future.

Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.2 km away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Apartments-Suva
118.2 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
0.4 km away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 12 in Suva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 km away
Peninsula International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suva? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suva

Property: Holiday Inn Suva
Address: 501 Victoria Parade | G.P.O Box 1357, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,901 - ₹ 13,874
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Suva 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Enjoy fine harbour views and a warm Fijian welcome at Holiday Inn Suva, just steps from the city's key sights. Leave the city bustle behind in the cool, open-plan hotel Lobby at Holiday Inn Suva. You'll relax as you stroll through palm-fringed gardens and cool off in the sparkling freshwater pool. Nausori Airport is 22km away and we have ample complimentary parking. All of our bright, modern Guest rooms have high-speed Internet and a balcony. Holiday Inn Suva is well-located for business, within 5 minutes' walk of major banks, embassies and the EU headquarters. Our 3 flexible meeting rooms, with wireless Internet and harbour views, provide a unique backdrop for events and you can catch up in the 24-hour Business Centre. Work out in our glass-fronted Fitness Centre, facing Victoria Parade and historic Government buildings. Vikatoria's restaurant is a laid-back setting for fresh fish while waterfront Bati ni Wai serves pizza al fresco. Enjoy an icy-cold beer with big-screen sport in Tapa Lounge Bar, or listen to live music and enjoy Suva's sunsets from the pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suva Hotel Suva
Suva Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing