We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lesson in History!”
Review of Tavuni Hill Fort

Tavuni Hill Fort
Ranked #13 of 27 things to do in Sigatoka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour this restored ancient fort where you'll learn about pre-colonial Fiji life and enjoy great views from two lookout points.
Caldwell Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Lesson in History!”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Our guide spent a great deal of time with us answering all of our historical and cultural questions. It was very interesting to learn about and some fantastic scenery.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“unforgetable”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The hill fort is a highlight of the Fijian Coral Coast. If you are interested in the culture of Fijian tribes in the early 1800's (not long ago really) its all there. The fort was on a hill and was impenetrable due to its position with the Sigatoka River at the back. Our guide John was a tall Fijian with a deep voice who made it come alive, he was so interesting and gracious. These Hill Fort people were Tongan cannibals, I think the early missionaries were very brave going to these places to spread the love of Jesus and telling the natives how wrong it was to eat one another! Its an eerie experience going there but worth it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank geriontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Learn about history, every-day life, war and cannibalism”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

If you want to learn some history while visiting Fiji, then go to Tavuni Hill Fort and make sure you take up the offer of the free guide. We took the tour with Albert who supplied us with great information and stories from history and today. We really took our time and asked a lot of questions and therefore, got a lot out of it. The tour is FJD12 per person plus a donation, which is really a tip for the guide. We were happy enough to oblige because Albert was a wonderful guide and later helped us find transport back down to Sigatoka after we told our unsafe driver to leave. The fare from Sigatoka should be about FJD5 or 6 each way, plus what ever price you negotiate for the waiting time. You don't need to go on an organised tour, just make your own way there. You could do this tour in less than an hour, but I recommend allowing a bit more time than that so you have a better experience.

The view from the top is amazing and well worth the walk up just for that. You get a great view of Naroro Village, over to the Sigatoka Sand Dunes and across to mountain ranges and farming land. I've added some photos, but they don't really show the beauty of the place.

After the tour we were offered free fresh fruits and water. (There are bathroom facilities available). Make sure you spend some time at the information hut reading the wall charts and chatting with the lovely guides from the village, who are obviously very passionate about their historical site and heritage.

You can also stay at Naroro village in a homestay, so you might want to combine that with a visit to the fort. We tried to book this from home but were told they were booked out for the days we want. Albert told us he has just finished putting on the bathroom and other necessary rooms that he needs for the Homestay. If we go back it is something we would love to do.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryandjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We hired a car in Nadi and drove to the Sigatoka Sand Dunes, Tavuni Hill Fort and Kula Eco Park in one day. This was well worth doing and very easy to get around. The only problem was we missed the sign for the fort so if you are self driving make sure you watch carefully for the turn off. We also didn't have the correct amount of cash so had to go back to Sigatoka - recommend making sure you have enough cash - $12 each for adults.

Anyway even after these setback I was very glad we went. If you do not take the offer of a free guide (we didn't) they give you a little pamphlet that outlines all the important sights. You can see foundations for houses, a couple of burial mounds, ceremonial sites, a killing stone, a pretty amazing fig tree and spectacular views of the Sigatoka river. It is a very interesting insight into the historical side of Fiji.

Helpful?
4 Thank DarwinJo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 4 March 2006

We visited the fort in Feb 2006 and thought it was great. The drive from Sigatoka was not far, but the last part was very steep. There is a sign just over the bridge heading towards Suva.
Once at the top there is a hut and a young girl there took us for a tour to the top telling us about the history of the place.
The view from the top was spectacular, worth the climb which was not to hard. We got some great photos. It cost us $12 each but it was well worth it.
Would recomend it to any one.

Helpful?
11 Thank Jane_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavuni Hill Fort also viewed

 

Been to Tavuni Hill Fort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing